Skip navigation

Liz Strauss: The Secret to Writing a Successful and Outstanding Blog Ebook

When and said she had 60,317 comments on her blog, the audience was staggered. Even was impressed. Everyone was impressed and wanted to know her secret.

Now you can get the secret behind online community building from Liz Strauss. After several years of research and writing, Liz just announced her new ebook, . Based upon the lessons she learned turning her own blog, , Liz reveals the keys to turning her blog into one of the most successful and social blogs on the web.

The 68-page ebook offers the things you need to know to move from offline-writing-think to online conversation with clear and concise language and tips. Divided into two main sections, “Can You Hear the Internet?” and “Can the Internet Hear You?”, Liz brings her wit and vast experience from years of work in the print and online publishing worlds to help you rethink how you blog and how you write on your blog to encourage the conversation, turning readers into community.

The opening paragraph of the book reminds us that the world is no longer just your neighborhood or office.

A conversation is going on. It’s happening on blogs, via podcasts, and in interactive videos. People are building trust and forging bonds with colleagues and friends. Online friends of (likemind) meet for coffee and conversation all over the world. These relationships cut across traditional rules and business hierarchies. The ease and authenticity of those relationships are radically changing the way business works – right now.

Are you listening? Do you see how business is changing?

I’ve written a lot about Liz Strauss and have been privlieged to be a part of her annual , an incredible educational and sharing experience for bloggers to learn more about how blogging works, and how blogs can work for you. I’m also one of those honored with her weekly (Successful and Outstanding Blogger), an award that recognizes the phenomenal and creative work bloggers do. She guest blogs on many blogs and was a long time writer on the Blog Herald. As a friend and a fan, there are few people so giving and trustworthy as Liz, but more importantly, there are few business professionals in the world who understand what blogs really mean and how they are changing the world around us.

Packed within this ebook are a ton of well-written tips, inspirational ideas, and checklists to help you improve your blog writing, write to attract an interactive audience, how to build online relationships that convert into business and income. She also includes a wide range of community building tips that recognize the importance of trust, credibility, and transparency required for sincere blogging businesses.

The book concentrates on online writing techniques, emphasized in the second half of the book using a immediate actionable ideas in “6+1 Traits of Effective Writing.” The book also includes her “Classic Blog Review Checklist to Publish a Blog Magnet” and “Know the Secret to Writing a Successful and Outstanding Blog” popular articles.

While I will be talking more about this incredible book for bloggers and businesses, and could rattle on for days about how it changed my blog writing and thinking, even after all these years of blogging, Liz sums up her book this way:

This book is about how blogs — video, audio, and text — start conversations, establish expertise, create communities, and turn visitors into customers, partners, and fiercely loyal fans.

That’s the kind of traffic conversion you want. Trust me, it’s worth it. I will be changing how I blog based upon this book. Go get now.

WordPress Community Exclusive: , on behalf of , sponsored the recent Successful and Outstanding Bloggers Conference (SOBCon) in Chicago, and Liz is a popular speaker at many events, including WordCamps, so she is offering a special excerpt of her book for the WordPress Community as a way of saying thank you for their long time support and encouragement. Subscribe to the free Successful Blog Community Newsletter and you will receive an email to download the free ebook, “The Insider’s Guide to Conversation Online,” a 9-page booklet that includes more information on her new book and the compete chapter of “Writing Voice – The Sound of Your Brand.” This chapter includes a checklist to inspire readers and engage them in the business of your blog.

Related Articles About Liz Strauss


Site Search Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Feed on Lorelle on WordPress Subscribe Feedburner iconVia Feedburner Subscribe by Email Visit
Copyright Lorelle VanFossen, the author of Blogging Tips, What Bloggers Won't Tell You About Blogging.

9 Comments

  1. Posted June 23, 2008 at 3:32 pm | Permalink

    Hi Lorelle, OK, I purchased this book by Liz and am starting to go through it, the lingering question for me in this post is how will reading this book “be changing how [you] I blog based upon this book”?

    I am curious.

  2. Posted June 23, 2008 at 3:43 pm | Permalink

    @ Greg Balanko-Dickson:

    I’m excited you got this book! I found it inspiring as it is simple, to the point, and discusses the differences many people have when going from traditional writing forms to online writing. And trust me, I’ll be writing more about this book’s influences soon.

    It’s a great book for giving to your clients, Greg, introducing them to blog writing and community building.

  3. Posted June 23, 2008 at 4:25 pm | Permalink

    @ Lorelle

    I have a long, long way to go to building community. I suck at it.

    Liz says in the book, “Don’t instruct or lecture.” [looking sheepish] hit me right between the eyes.

    Already this book has given me lots to think about.

    She says, Rather than be the “sage on the stage,” be the “guide alongside.”

    I enjoyed writing the business books. I started writing daily online in 1998 but did not start blogging until 2005. My passion for writing has grown cold.

    There I said it.

    To be fair, this has been an issue for me for a few years. It really came to a head when my mother was ill this year and I basically took 5 months off to care for her and aid in her recovery. BTW, she is doing well now.

    I have discovered that since selling my web development business in 2003 my outlet for creativity disappeared. The books filled that need in a big way. Yet I suppressed acknowledging my need for a creative outlet.

    Yet as I sit here writing, what better way to express my creativity than in a business?

    I am embarking on a new journey, an experiment, and in the process reinvent myself and my business.

    Maybe I will call it a Vlook. Part book, blog, and video – in which I incorporate video/audio. I have also been experimenting with building my own business software.

    I am not exactly sure how I will incorporate blogging, other than to share my journey on this new road. I guess I could certainly do that, would anyone be interested?

  4. Posted June 23, 2008 at 6:23 pm | Permalink

    What I recall about Liz Strauss is being sniped by her on another blog. She doesn’t let her snide show on her own turf. I guess that is one secret.

    Haven’t been back.

    (signed) Not an SOB

    Greg,

    Your comment reminded me of a ‘Blogging Basics 101‘ post yesterday – about keeping an editorial calendar. This might be considered an ongoing, short term business plan. The author of the blog feels the editorial calendar helped keep things in perspective, reduced stress, and freed creativity for the actual posts. It permits planning sequences, completing associated topics, etc.

    Luck!

  5. Posted June 23, 2008 at 8:12 pm | Permalink

    @ BradK

    A editorial/blogging calendar might just have to be the way I go.

  6. Posted June 24, 2008 at 8:55 am | Permalink

    Hi Greg!
    Thanks for pointing out what made an impression. Someone famous said, “Writing is easy, just open a vein.” (wish I could cite the person.)

    I’m sorry to hear about your mom. I think you could be onto something with the video . . . don’t write if you don’t feel it. You’re too good at what do to have that kind of drain.

  7. Posted June 24, 2008 at 9:02 am | Permalink

    Hey, Brad,
    I remember conversations with you. You’re a man with strong opinions, and I respect you for them. I don’t necessarily agree. I looked for the incident that you mentioned. Can’t find it, but that doesn’t mean it wasn’t real.

    I get ticked and bitchy like everyone else. My husband and son would both attest to that.

    The problem is when it happens and I don’t know. . . . I’m sorry. I apologize now.

  8. Posted June 24, 2008 at 9:41 pm | Permalink

    @ Greg Balanko-Dickson:

    You have always been such an inspiration to me and your work stands so strong. My thoughts have been with you during this long family ordeal, and now it is time for you to do some healing. I’m so glad this book came along to kick your creativity in the butt. It certainly has kicked mine.

    You’ve summed up beautifully some of my initial thoughts as I read the book. It’s so simple, but powerful and it sits in my head, bubbling, so it will be some time before I can formulate exactly the impact it will have on my blog. But the earth is moving beneath my creative butt, too, thanks to Liz.

    Just let me know how I can help!

  9. Posted June 24, 2008 at 10:40 pm | Permalink

    @ Liz, appreciate the affirmation and I am looking for the sweet spot, the combination. I will experiment and let you know how it goes.

    @ Lorelle, I have frankly felt a bit lost and out of sync, which I guess is normal considering how much time I took off. I am following my nose [intuition] and have faith that I can learn my way through to where I want to go. I will be in touch and appreciate your thoughtful and kind words.


8 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] took a minute to add to the conversation! The secret to writing a successful and outstanding blog Liz Strauss: The Secret to Writing a Successful and Outstanding Blog Ebook « Lorelle on WordPress 3 Steps to Overcoming Corporate Blog Denial Tags: Liz-Strauss, […]

  2. […] I don’t know Liz, I just happened to stumble across her blog from a subscription I have on Lorell on WordPress.  And I don’t know Lorell either!  Lorell has some pretty interesting blog posts on the use […]

  3. […] Lorelle’s Review of Liz Strauss’ book […]

  4. […] Lorelle’s Review of Liz Strauss’ book […]

  5. […] Guide to the Conversation That’s Changing How Business Works, is a life changing book on blogging and social networking for me and a lot of other bloggers and companies working on the web trying to get our heads around […]

  6. […] Liz Strauss: The Secret to Writing a Successful and Outstanding Blog Ebook […]

  7. […] Liz Strauss: The Secret to Writing a Successful and Outstanding Blog Ebook […]

  8. […] Liz Strauss: The Secret to Writing a Successful and Outstanding Blog Ebook […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*