Skip navigation

The Thinking Blogger Award

Thinking Blogger AwardA few weeks ago, I was in the middle of an article about the new meme, The Thinking Blogger Awards, when I was unsuspectingly nominated by Dana of huffenglish.com. The article became Are You a Thinking Blogger? for the Blog Herald. In it, I thoroughly examined and evaluated the definition of a thinking blogger.

…You know this person is living, and writing, their passion.

Most importantly, this kind of thinking blogger makes me want to tell someone about what I just read. Not later. NOW. And, without a doubt, they make me want to write about what I just read. I can’t help myself. I have to share the passion!

It’s almost a religious experience.

These are bloggers who don’t just make me think, they make me blog. They make me be a better blogger, and a better person, through my blog. Through their passionate blogging, they make me think beyond me, to changing the world around me as I blog.

Platinum Thinking Blogger AwardBy the end of the article, I admitted I didn’t consider myself qualified to accept the honor because I’m no Tolstoy or Thoreau. I just do my little bit to blog about blogging and WordPress.

For that article, and I guess my humbleness, I was honored with the first ever Platinum Thinking Blogger Award. Go figure.

While I still feel bewildered with the honor, it’s the responsibility of the Thinking Blogger recipient to nominate 5 other Thinking Bloggers. I didn’t forget, I just needed to think about it. 😉

I don’t do this lightly. There are many I would nominate and hold up to the light because they are truly outstanding, but I needed to prune this down to my definition of “thinking blogger”. Later, I may offer my whole list of those I consider thinking bloggers beyond the five below, but these are ones that made the final cut to the five, those whose words stay with me for days after reading their blogs.

I nominate these people because I truly believe they think before they blog. They check their facts and reason out their words, making conscious decisions along the blogging path. Theirs is not a light-hearted venture into blogging. They mean what they say and you know it, from the moment you read the first few words.

I nominate the following as my recommendations for truly thinking bloggers:

You do not have to accept the award, or nominate your own five thinking bloggers. I just wanted to honor you as the ones I turn to for inspiration and example of truly well thought out blogging. You five are among those I consider truly unique “thinking” bloggers.

Thank you for raising the blogging bar. I work harder just to stay near your feet on the ladder of excellent blog writing.


Site Search Tags: , , , , ,
Copyright Lorelle VanFossen, member of the 9Rules Network Feed on Lorelle on WordPress Subscribe   Subscribe by Email

Member of the 9Rules Blogging Network

10 Comments

  1. Posted April 11, 2007 at 11:39 am | Permalink

    Probably one of the few real oxymorons:
    Humility is a true sign of greatness.

  2. Posted April 11, 2007 at 1:27 pm | Permalink

    Wow, what an honor.

    I’m not sure what to say … 😉

    Cheers
    t @ dji

  3. Posted April 11, 2007 at 9:01 pm | Permalink

    Damn! You nominated me just the day I publish my most self-deprecating post ever. I hope not everybody will hate me 😉
    I am really deeply honored. Thank you so much Lorelle.

  4. Posted April 11, 2007 at 10:19 pm | Permalink

    The irony of this is that I have been posting no brainer posts for the past few days. I’m honoured that you’d consider my blog as a blog that makes you think and gives rise to inspiration.

    Thank you Lorelle. I learnt from the best and you’re one of them. 🙂

  5. Posted April 12, 2007 at 1:04 am | Permalink

    Wow! Like they every on the Internet is upside down — like your ladder. 🙂
    Thank you. How can I be looking up if you’re at the bottom?
    Liz

  6. Posted April 14, 2007 at 1:51 am | Permalink

    I have been a little too caught up in things to respond prior to this.

    I am honestly humbled and honoured to accept.

    I actually took probably a week deciding what to write about this when I was first nominated, probably because if your are nominated as a “Thinking Blogger” you should think about who you nominate as one.

    Lorelle you did actually get short listed. Whenever I have a problem with WordPress, I don’t even attempt to search the codex any more, I just search your blog, as you are more likely to have a complete answer.
    The problem is that very fact means you write a blog that “makes me think less” because it is such an amazing resource.

    So I went for a mixed bag

    1. Someone who adds new angles to my business ideas
    2. Someone down-to-earth who gives me a different perspective
    3. Someone who helps me with ideas on community blogging
    4. Someone I count as a blogging friend who often puts me in my place by disagreeing with me
    5. Someone who I have been known to disagree with

    Here is who I chose a week or so back
    http://andybeard.eu/2007/04/do-i-make-you-think.html

  7. Posted April 28, 2007 at 4:38 pm | Permalink

    new blogger is no fun
    new blogger=no freedom
    http://newbloggernofun.blogspot.com/

  8. Posted June 24, 2007 at 8:23 pm | Permalink

    Hi Lorelle, Congrats on your achievement! I just found your site and it’s one I’ll definitely be reading via RSS feed. I’m reading your Google Patent review article and it’s quite a good read. A bit different from other articles I’ve read about it. I like the way you write, it’s easy to read and factual. Have a look at my blog if you like – all original content – some of it a bit “one-off” maybe. 🙂 Vern

  9. Posted August 11, 2008 at 3:28 am | Permalink

    Is there a way to submit my wordpress blog to any web awards? TY.

  10. Posted August 11, 2008 at 10:52 am | Permalink

    @ americz:

    See Winning Blog and Website Awards and Contests for tips.


9 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] am humbled and honoured to have been nominated twice and by people I have such a great deal of respect […]

  2. […] couple of days ago Lorelle gave me the honour of nominating me for the Thinking Blogger Award, that RT Cunningham had previously nominated me […]

  3. […] count me out. I did my one meme response and I’m done. While I appreciate the honor, I’ll watch the fun from the sidelines for a […]

  4. […] been said, but for those handful of loyal readers (such as yourself on this blog), the fact that you say it makes you think deserves at least some recognition by others to otherwise raise the bar from […]

  5. […] have been flattered with three awards recently: the thinking blogger award (by Emily and Lorelle) and Liz’s […]

  6. […] The Thinking Blogger Award […]

  7. […] the Thinking Blogger Award, which led to Are You A Thinking Blogger? on the Blog Herald and my own thinking bloggers list. It seems that the Blog Herald article continues to make people really think, especially about the […]

  8. […] El concurso tiene sus propias reglas que transcribo más abajo y que deben acompañar al premio (la traducción que algún día me reprocharán es sólo mi responsabilidad) pero además me gustó cómo se definió el concepto de Thinking Blogger en este blog. […]

  9. […] The Thinking Blogger Award […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*