Skip navigation

Blog Challenge: Changing the World in 30 Seconds

A year ago, I asked my readers to make a list of 30 things they could do in 30 seconds or less to change the world. This week’s is another challenge to write such a list.

Blog a list of 30 things you can do in 30 seconds each to change the world.

There are some rules, however.

First, the definition of “change the world” was frequently challenged. It isn’t up to me to define what will “change the world”. It’s up to you. It’s your world. Define it by whatever parameters arrive in your head to define “change the world”. It can be to “make the world a better place”, change conditions worldwide, make yourself a better person, make others better people, or just make it a little better than you found it in your neck of the woods. Whatever you want. Just let us know what your definition of “change the world” means so we are clear about the intent behind your list.

Second, each of the 30 things on your list must take no more than 30 seconds to accomplish by the average human being. Not 30 seconds for all 30 items. Just 30 seconds for each one.

Solving world hunger or conflict takes just a little longer than 30 seconds. It might take less, if you have the right idea, but as a rule, if no one has yet come up with a 30 second method to solve hunger and war so far, what are the odds you can? Hmm? 😉

Third, think of the items on your list on a global scale. Your blog post may be read by hundreds or millions of people who may be inspired to do one or more of the 30 things on your list in their own 30 seconds. On a global scale, think of what it would mean if 30 people did one of the 30 things on your list at the same time? What if 300 did? Or 3 million? Or 3 billion? What if 3 billion people all leaned over at the same time and picked up a piece of trash off the ground and put it in the garbage? Would that change the world? Maybe if 3 billion people all looked at each other and smiled at the same time, the idea of peace solved in 30 seconds might be closer to reality, wouldn’t it? Make your list doable, but think about how your list may inspire the world to act.

Now, go blog and change the world in 30 seconds or less.

Blogging Challenges and Related Articles


Site Search Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
Copyright Lorelle VanFossen, member of the 9Rules Network

Member of the 9Rules Blogging Network

6 Comments

  1. Posted November 13, 2006 at 4:13 am | Permalink

    Do I have to put up my old list again? Maybe I should with a little tweaks. I need a little break from studying. 🙂

  2. Posted November 13, 2006 at 7:17 am | Permalink

    Thank you for giving me a good opportunity to re-read my Changing the world in half a minute list.

  3. Posted November 21, 2006 at 4:40 pm | Permalink

    Hello, just wanted to let you know I took up your challenge. It’s been really interesting to read other people’s lists and writing my own really made me think. I actually found it quite hard to get to 30, but maybe I just don’t have much imagination! Anyway, thanks for the interesting idea.

  4. Posted November 30, 2006 at 9:29 am | Permalink

    How about making positive comments to others (especially children) about other religions, races, cultures, etc.? What if we all did this for just 30 seconds each day? Or researched a positive fact about others each day and reduced our ignorance while increasing our tolerance. . .
    Just my 2 cents for today.

  5. Posted November 30, 2006 at 4:37 pm | Permalink

    You can add 2 cents or even 50 cents any day with great ideas like that! 😉

  6. Posted August 7, 2007 at 11:46 pm | Permalink

    WOW… this is a great challenge! I plan to change the world by blogging… dunno if it is possible, at least I am trying.


14 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] A year ago Lorelle gave us a list of 30 things that that takes 30 seconds to change the world. Now she’s given us the same challenge with a bit more definition. Given the state in which this blog can be read over that time, I’m going to bring back my old list I made as a response to the last time she held that challenge with a few changes here and there. With that, I give you my updated list of 30 things that take 30 seconds to change the world, yours, mine and everyone else’s. […]

  2. […] Blog Challenge: Changing the World in 30 Seconds […]

  3. […] Update: Lorelle has now included this one in her official blogging challenge. An excellent opportunity for me to re-read my list, and deeply agree with myself that I should read it more often (how about daily?). […]

  4. […] Lorelle asked her readers to make a list of 30 things we could do to change the world. The catch? Each can only take 30 seconds for a single person to do. Here’s my list. […]

  5. […] Nevertheless, we talk about teaching here, which is nothing if not changing the world. So when Lorelle put up the blog challenge to list 30 ways to change the world in 30 seconds (here), I thought I’d do it. Afterall, it’s been an age since it plinked that ordered-list button. […]

  6. […] 30 Things That Take 30 Seconds Each: Which Will You Do To Change The World? Over at Lorelle On WordPress she challenges bloggers to create a list of 30 things that can each be done in only 30 seconds. Imagine if millions or billions of people each did one of these- how would the world be different? In keeping with the theme of personal development, I have put together ways to improve yourself or others and create a better you in 30 seconds or less. Imagine if everyone did just a few of these at once? Here is my list. […]

  7. […] So.. I am going to start with this week’s Blog Challenge – to list 30 things that a normal human being can do in 30 seconds that will change the world. […]

  8. […] Earlier this month, Lorelle put out a challenge to bloggers to list 30 things anyone can do to change the world. The catch? No single action can require more than 30 seconds apiece. […]

  9. INSTANT CHALLENGE! – Change the World!

    I’ve found the perfect way to finish off the year! The idea isn’t mine, but it’s so great that I had to jump in and play. Check it out…
    From Lorelle on WordPress:
    Blog a list of 30 things you can do in 30 seconds each to cha…

  10. […] Lorelle at WordPress posed an intriguing challenge: “Blog a list of 30 things you can do in 30… […]

  11. […] that challenges you to write 30 things that can change the world in 30 seconds. She got it from Lorelle at wordpress….now I’m giving it my […]

  12. […] change your actions, and change your life. As every life changes, you change the world. Over at Lorelle On WordPress she challenges bloggers to create a list of 30 things that can each be done in only 30 seconds. […]

  13. […] Blog Challenge: Changing the World in 30 Seconds […]

  14. […] Blog Challenge: Changing the World in 30 Seconds […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*