Skip navigation

Blog Challenge: Who is Writing Your Blog?

The LifeWriter’s Digest offered “Who is Writing Your Memoirs”, which inspired this next blogging challenge.

The same internal debate occurs as you writing your memoirs. You have many parts vying for authorship of your memoir, each insisting on setting the tone and theme of your story. Which part is going to prevail-are you going to let prevail? Will it be the hero? (“I survived against great odds!”) Or, the martyr? (“Life was really hard, and I just did my best!”) Or, perhaps it’s the saint? (“I just did the whole thing because I loved my family so much!”) Or, the slugger, the fighter of city hall? (“Nobody was going to tell me I couldn’t get my way!”)

Obviously, the martyr part will give a different slant to your story than will the hero part and perhaps the martyr might even choose completely different stories to write about than the hero. Which part you allow to be the narrative voice of your story will shape the message (theme) you ultimately make-and it’s completely up to you to decide! What is important is that you be conscious of choosing the narrative voice (the “who is telling this story”) that will most contribute to your story.

This week’s Blogging Challenge invites you to volunteer “who” is writing your blog.

Think about your blogging and writing style. Do you have a “personality”, a character or persona you take on when you blog? Is that character representative of your writing voice and style?

Are you blogging as the hero, standing upright and proud to share your opinion about your beliefs or political position? Or are you the educator, instructing others patiently on how to do what you teach? Or are you the anarchist, blogging wildly and freely without much focus, gathering tidbits from whatever you find, hoping someone finds value from your cluttered collection?

Are you blogging as a representative of your race, culture, sex, or sexual preference? Do you feel like you are representing a group as you blog or an individual? Or are you the nerd or geek, the techno-wiz who dazzles the blogosphere with techno-babble on your techno-topic?

Or is your blogging personality much more subtle? Are you a woman blogging anonymously, keeping your sex out of the blogosphere? Consciously or unconsciously? Are you blogging completely anonymously because you fear reprisals for your blogging positions and opinions?

Who and what is your online blogging persona? Is it different from who you really are in life? How? I’ve been asking “who the hell are you” for a while now. Here’s your chance to tell us. Who are you, the blogger, when you blog?

That’s the challenge. Share with us who you are when you blog, and be sure to include a link in the comment form to your blog so we can check out who you “really” are.

This is just one of a series of ongoing . So far, you’ve been challenged to to Tell Us a Story, Top 10 Keywords for Your Blog (which will play a very important role in an upcoming challenge, hint, hint!), Blog About What You Know, and Who Is Linking To You?. These Blogging Challenges come out about once a week to help jazz up your summer blogging schedule. Many of you will be participating in the coming soon, so use these as a warm-up.

Related Articles


Site Search Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Copyright Lorelle VanFossen, member of the 9Rules Network

Member of the 9Rules Blogging Network

5 Comments

  1. Posted July 22, 2006 at 6:16 am | Permalink

    I’m half tempted to use some as the actual topic themselves. I am still stuck at “Tell Us A Story”. I don’t have to do them in chronological order right? I can skip one and one back to them when I actually figure out what to write about it right?

  2. Posted July 22, 2006 at 6:17 am | Permalink

    Use them for the Blogathon I mean. They are good topics themselves.

  3. Posted July 22, 2006 at 6:31 am | Permalink

    You can do whatever you want, Edrei. For you, anything. 😉

  4. Posted July 22, 2006 at 8:36 am | Permalink

    Great question, Lorelle! This is the first of your challenges that I felt like I could easily answer. I’m a teacher at heart, and my writing/blogging is one manifestation of that. I’m also a teacher by profession, and it’s difficult for me not to teach. However, my blog posts aren’t really “how-to’s”–that’s not how I teach my university students or people in church classes, either. Instead, I like to present ideas building from my own experiences and encourage my readers to find a way to relate the ideas to themselves. I look forward to getting more readers and more comments so that I can engage in dialogue with my blog the way I use dialogue in the classroom. I’ll add here that one technique I’ve learned from you, Lorelle, is to finish with a question that invites the reader to comment and respond to the post.

  5. Posted July 26, 2006 at 10:21 pm | Permalink

    A wonderful question, and provoking, since I think there is an identity shift going on. When I started a year or so ago, I was writing to myself to remember information and then occasionally, I was writing prose poems to play with ideas. At that point I was going through an artistic phase in many elements of my work.

    I think that I am shifting to a teacher. Working inductively, I’m trying to lead people to think about why questions: “why do I do that?” “why is that so important?”


15 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] Lorelle on WordPress, in her compelling blogging challenge, encourages us to give more details on who we are when blogging: Who and what is your online blogging persona? Is it different from who you really are in life? How? Ive been asking who the hell are you for a while now. Heres your chance to tell us. Who are you, the blogger, when you blog? […]

  2. […] No, this blog is only a glimpse into part of my life but not the person that defines this blog as a character. You can however read through every single one of my posts and while having a rudimentary understanding of human psychology dissect and come to a conclusion about who write this blog. But since I’m positive many of you have better things to do than to waste time with such nonsense, I might as well do Lorelle’s Blogging Challenge on who is writing your blog and tell every single one of you. […]

  3. […] I have to say, I’ve become a real fan of Lorelle’s blogging challenges. They make you think (when they aren’t making you do research!) This week’s challenge is a topic that I’ve been grappling with for a couple of weeks now. […]

  4. […] Who is Writing Your Blog […]

  5. […] Well, this might be a little late but I’ve decided after creating a rather brief about page to take on Lorelle’s blog challenge “Who is Writing Your Blog?“. I write for several blogs which in basic means that I take on several roles during my week of blogging. We have the proffesional role, “I’m here to inform and educate”. And the very personal role, “I just write down some rants for my friends to read”. […]

  6. […] Who is Writing Your Blog […]

  7. […] Who is Writing Your Blog […]

  8. […] Who is Writing Your Blog […]

  9. […] Who is Writing Your Blog […]

  10. […] Blog Challenge: Who is Writing Your Blog? […]

  11. […] on WordPress, in her compelling blogging challenge, encourages us to give more details on who we are when blogging: Who and what is your online […]

  12. […] November 3, 2008 by Lilian The next challenge on Lorelle’s list, or at least the next one that I think I’ve got a reasonable chance of being able to do, is to try and explain who is writing your blog. […]

  13. […] Lorelle’s blogging challenges. They make you think (when they aren’t making you do research!) This week’s challenge is a topic that I’ve been grappling with for a couple of weeks […]

  14. […] Blog Challenge: Who is Writing Your Blog? […]

  15. […] Blog Challenge: Who is Writing Your Blog? […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*