Skip navigation

What Kind of Cat Are You?

By Tony D. Clark of Success from the Nest

Cat blogging. Some find the term to be derogatory. I’m not sure to whom — the cats or the bloggers.

Though I am a dog person myself, I have come to realize that we are all cat bloggers in our own way. So with apologies to Mr. Billy Jonas [1], I ask…

What Kind Of Cat (Blogger) Are You…?

Wrd Prs LOLcatHouse CAT – Your average, “blogging about my life” blogger. May seem boring, but some people’s lives are strangely entertaining.

CAT-alyst – Blogs for change.

CAT-astrophe – Writes one of those god-awful blogs that you can’t believe anyone actually reads. I’m sure you’ve run across a few. Usually has more ads than content.

Copy CAT – The scraper and the splogger, who gets all of their content from other hard working bloggers. May not know what they’re doing is wrong.

CAT Burglar – Same as above, but most definitely DOES know what they’re doing is wrong.

Alley CAT – One who is teetering on the brink of becoming one of the two above. Hangs out is some poorly chosen back alley’s of the intertubez.

CAT-acomb – Has created a deep and winding archive that can cause one to get lost while exploring. Some interesting things may be found during the excursion.

CAT-apult – Constantly launching their blog to the next level. Sometimes stratospheric shots, sometimes short range hits.

CAT-echism – Religious blogger.

Scaredy-CAT – Afraid of offending anyone or saying anything that anyone would disagree with. In trying to please everyone, doesn’t please anyone.

CAT-aract – Writes so well that they cloud your own viewpoint. Tends to have raving fans, whether or not what they write actually has any clarity.

CAT scan – Posts aren’t really worth reading all the way through.

CAT-tle – Doesn’t have their own opinion about anything, and just follows what the crowd or the blogging cowboys say.

CAT-amaran – Currently riding a big wave of success.

Okay, That’s A Good Starting Point…

I’m sure I’ve missed some, or maybe misidentified a few. But the great thing about guest posting on a blog about blogging for bloggers is that bloggers get this stuff. They see the hilarity and absurdity in it, but play along — because sometimes it’s just nice to be silly.

Blogging a great medium. It can be a powerful tool, a source of income, and way to express your deepest inner creativity. It can also be seemingly pointless — in a good way. In this day and age, we need more silly, pointless fun.

So now it’s up to you. How do you CAT-egorize yourself?

[1] – It’s important to note that as a parent, I am required by law to know the words of various children’s songs, and must listen to said songs a minimum of 100 times a day. Therefore, in order to preserve my sanity, I have tried to select artists who not only do not make me want to jab a skewer into my ear, but that I find myself listening to, even when the kids aren’t around. I highly recommend Billy Jonas if you are in a similar situation.


Tony D. Clark starts and runs businesses, designs stuff, draws funny pictures, and writes about success and the home-based entrepreneur at Success from the Nest.

11 Comments

  1. Posted August 28, 2007 at 10:12 am | Permalink

    Funny. I’d like to think I’m a cat-alyist who blogs with cat-aracts (with clarity of course) and leaves a unique and interesting cat-acomb behind me.

    And hopefully one day I’ll get to ride that cat-amaran.

    How about the cat-aclysimic blogger who takes cat-alyst posts to the extreme.

  2. Posted August 28, 2007 at 10:22 am | Permalink

    I would CATegorize this post as a CATastrophe. Only because I’m an avid dog lover. Otherwise, it was pretty creative.

  3. Posted August 28, 2007 at 10:36 am | Permalink

    @Steven – Nice mashup 🙂

    @Carl – Thanks. I’m a dog lover, too (I have 3 and counting, plus I’m allergic to cats), but there are fewer dog-bloggers. Besides, I couldn’t get the “Cat” song out of my head…

  4. Posted August 28, 2007 at 10:47 am | Permalink

    Tony, this is brilliant! Thanks. I’d have to say that right now, I’m a CAT-amaran with guest bloggers like you!

  5. Posted August 28, 2007 at 12:19 pm | Permalink

    I feel like this was written for me, even though I am sure it was not.

  6. Posted August 28, 2007 at 8:13 pm | Permalink

    I mean this is the nicest way I know how . . . “when will lorelle be posting again?” The feed at Google always reads Lorelle whether it’s a guest or not. Some have been good but I’m just curious. Forgive me if I missed the memo.

  7. Posted August 28, 2007 at 10:34 pm | Permalink

    This is the memo, in case you missed the announcement of a two month party celebrating two years of WordPress.com and Lorelle on WordPress with so many of my wonderful blogging buddies.

    I’m here. I’ve not gone anywhere. But thanks for noticing that I wasn’t visibly around.

  8. Posted August 29, 2007 at 4:47 am | Permalink

    Great post, Tony. A keeper for sure.

    I’m a converted dog guy so I think the cat analogies are brilliant. I had no idea there were so many!

  9. Posted August 29, 2007 at 6:08 am | Permalink

    As a dedicated non-reader of cat blogs, even I had to laugh at this.

  10. Posted August 30, 2007 at 9:40 pm | Permalink

    As a cat, I must have nine lives since I’ve had a hard time starting a blog and sticking with it. Maybe I need to be lashed with a cat o’ nine tales?

  11. Posted May 14, 2008 at 6:05 pm | Permalink

    Great post. It’s really funny 🙂


12 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] What Kind of Cat Are You? « Lorelle on WordPress […]

  2. […] But as a guest blogger on Lorelle on WordPress shows: there are cat blogs, and then there are cat blogs. […]

  3. […] Guest blogger at Lorelle on WordPress, Tony D. Clark explores several cat-egories of bloggers in What Kind of Cat Are You? […]

  4. […] What Kind of Cat Are You? Um…I think he missed my CAT-egory. I would say I am a CAT-alog: Invites readers to browse my pages and choose whatever fits them best. […]

  5. […] compared to Cats? Well, that is one way to classify the Blogsphere. Lorelle has this list of bloggers and their cat types House CAT – Your average, “blogging about my life” blogger. May seem boring, but some […]

  6. […] from Lorelle via letters ~ […]

  7. […] August 31st, 2007 at 4:12 am (Blogging) (Tagged: Blogging, writing) Guest blogger at Lorelle on WordPress, Tony D. Clark explores several cat-egories of bloggers in What Kind of Cat Are You? […]

  8. […] so, this guest post by Tony Clark over at Lorelle on WordPress should bring a smile to your face on a Monday […]

  9. […] What Kind of Cat […]

  10. […] What Kind of Cat […]

  11. […] What Kind of Cat […]

  12. […] What Kind of Cat […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*