Skip navigation

Blogging Resources: Business and Professional Resources and References for Bloggers and Writers

Blog Resources by Lorelle on WordPressAs part of my ongoing series on blog resources, so far I’ve covered Blogging Resources and Sources to Help You Blog, Blog Resources for English Language and Blog Writing, and Blog Resources: Researching the Research, Finding the Facts, and Seeking Supporting Evidence. Today, I’m offering the resources I use for business and professional sources of information to help me blog and write.

Blogging is writing and while the debate over whether or not a blogger can be considered a journalist and accorded the same rights, a blogger is a writer and self-publisher, thus covered by many of the laws and guides in place for writers.

There are a ton of resources for writers and the business of writing. I’ve included just the tip of the iceberg of sites that have helped my writing and blogging business.

Business Help and Resources

Business of Blogging graphic copyright Lorelle VanFossenWhether blogger, writer, podcaster, or vblogger, if your business is on the web, it is still a business. The following are some online business resources I use and reference in my articles.

Online Tools and Resources for Online Workers

I’ve found a variety of online tools and resources to help the online worker over the years, including articles that list tons of resources to help you track down the tool that works for you. Not every online tool will work for you, so test them out to see which one is the right one for your needs. These are some of the articles I’ve bookmarked and keep returning to for inspiration and the online tools needed for blogging today.

Writer’s Business Help

photo of working on keyboardAs a professional writer, I have to know what the laws, rules, regulations, taxes, and business stuff associated with writing are. Here are some of my resources:

Bloggers and Blogs on Blogging and Blogging as a Business

bloggers on business graphic copyright Lorelle VanFossenWhen I started , few were “blogging on blogging” and now, it’s a huge industry of bloggers.

I track a lot of blogs that cover the business of blogging, but recommend few as many are scattered all over the place with content, in it for the money and not the expertise, and often offer out-dated or “black hat” suggestions, so I stick to the sites which offer consistent content over years, not months, as my serious online resources.

Here are a few of the blogs on blogging and related subjects I track in my feed reader so I can keep up with the news and business of blogging.

Lorelle’s Blogging References and Resources

Over the years, I’ve created my own lists of blogging references and resouces that help me blog. I refer to these often in the articles I write, so I like having them all collected together for easy reference.

Blog Resources Article Series


Site Search Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Feed on Lorelle on WordPress Subscribe Feedburner iconVia Feedburner Subscribe by Email Visit
Copyright Lorelle VanFossen, the author of Blogging Tips, What Bloggers Won't Tell You About Blogging.

6 Comments

  1. Posted March 20, 2008 at 8:42 am | Permalink

    Thanks, Lorelle — This information is invaluable and I’m sure took a lot of time to research. I’m starting up another Website and will refer to your post often for these links.

  2. Posted March 22, 2008 at 4:35 pm | Permalink

    Thanks, Lorelle! This is a great list and I look forward to the additions that you mentioned on my blog.

  3. Posted March 23, 2008 at 7:18 am | Permalink

    Another awesome list of resources to add to my Google Notebook!
    Thanks Lorelle.

  4. Consi
    Posted March 23, 2008 at 10:40 pm | Permalink

    I started reading the Free Articulator for great material on writing, and the arts in general.

  5. Posted March 29, 2008 at 11:13 pm | Permalink

    Lorelle –
    This is a great resource! Thanks for sharing.

    ~ Annie

  6. Daniel Miller
    Posted January 19, 2009 at 10:42 pm | Permalink

    Lorelle,
    That’s a great list. Really, thanks for putting that together and sharing.


7 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] Van Fossen, over at Lorelle on WordPress has compiled quite an impressive list of resources for bloggers.  (It seems like the more I learn about hanging out in the blogosphere, the more it is I have to […]

  2. […] Blogging Resources: Business and Professional Resources and References for Bloggers and Writers […]

  3. […] Blogging Resources: Business and Professional Resources and References for Bloggers and Writers […]

  4. […] Blogging Resources: Business and Professional Resources and References for Bloggers and Writers « L… […]

  5. […] Blogging Resources: Business and Professional Resources and References for Bloggers and Writers […]

  6. […] Blogging Resources: Business and Professional Resources and References for Bloggers and Writers is the latest installment in my series on blog resources, the resources I use to help me blog better and faster. […]

  7. […] Blogging Resources: Business and Professional Resources and References for Bloggers and Writers […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*