Skip navigation

Weekly Digest: Recovering from WordCamp, Lots of Interviews, CNet Calls, Two Months of Guest Bloggers, and Too Much More

Well, after writing about how to create this Weekly Digest Post here, and announcing that the next issue would be skipped, returning after , I didn’t anticipate being so from civilization on my way up the California and Oregon coast. Without Internet or cell phone access! ARGH!

So we’re back on schedule with my weekly digest posts, which I know you’ve missed, right? I’ve got a lot to share with you about the last two weeks in Lorelle’s world, so hang on.

This is the from . To subscribe to the category of , you can subscribe by the RSS - Lorelle on WordPress Weekly Digest Category FeedWeekly Digest feed or by email with the Weekly Digest Email Subscription to stay up to date on what is happening in Lorelle’s world of WordPress and blogging.

Exciting Lorelle on WordPress News

WordPress.com 2 year anniversary partyCelebrating Blogging and WordPress: In Two Months of Celebrating Blogging and WordPress, I announced that to celebrate the two year anniversary of Lorelle on WordPress and WordPress.com, I’m going to open up the doors of this blog to guest bloggers from all over the world. Some you will know, and others you will be introduced to for the first time. All are bloggers I’ve become enamored of, bloggers who speak the truth, even if it hurts, and are of the highest integrity in their person as well as their blogging.

August will be all about blogging about blogging, with the occasional WordPress news thrown in. September will be non-stop WordPress Tips.

I’ll have more information on all of them, but so far, we have:

This is going to be so much fun. I hope you have fun at my two-month long anniversary party!

WordPress 2007 was a Hit! was a resounding success and a frustrating professional experience. My presentation, Kicking Ass Content Connections, was well received and I met the most wonderful folks, even those I already call friends. And it was a lot of fun.

One bit of fun continues with participant, Dr. David Klein of BodyABCs, who came ready with a great networking idea of creating caricatures of other attendees and speakers. The artist, Orie Roberts of La Jolla, California, worked from digital images and the participant’s description of themselves or what they wanted to be. You have to see mine. It’s fabulous. The photograph of me is on So Are You Ready to See Lorelle. Click the picture to see the fabulous caricature at And the Winner of the First WordPress Oscars is…. It’s a hoot. Very well done.

Much thanks to all who helped me search for a place to park my motor home when I lost my original parking location. I found a great spot to store it, only $6 a day, close to town and the conference and where I was staying. Perfect.

On the downside of WordCamp was the fact that sponsored over 400 of my books, one for each attendee. I was so excited to be able to give away my books to fellow WordPress fans, but unfortunately, UPS and the printer screwed things up and they weren’t delivered in time for the weekend event.

But don’t despair. The Blogging Tips Book is on it’s way via mail to all attendees. You should have received an email from Automattic requesting your mailing address by now. Please reply immediately so those addresses can be complied into a mailing list for dispersal of the books. Thanks to SplashPress and the printer for making this happen. And thanks for your patience.

And thanks to all at WordCamp, WordPress, and Automattic for making my experience a wonderfully fun and positive adventure.

Kind Words: In Dimblog, the author shared my interview with Daily Blog Tips with readers and added:

She has truly busted the blogger myth, according to which you need a good domain name and a own hosting account for your blog if you want to succeed.

I hope you find that interview useful and interesting. To tell you the truth, I have learned a lot from Lorelle too. When I posted the first or second time on my blog, I included a link to one of her articles and she commented my post with thanks and wishes for success. Since then I’ve been a regular reader of her blog.

Never forget the power of the link to change a life with a link.

Among the other kind words I’ve heard lately comes from J.T. Dabbagian who says on Twitter: “Lorelle VanFossen has become my biggest source…which actually may be a bit of a problem….”

This had me worried so I sent an email for clarification. It seems that being so dependent upon me as a resource, J.T. felt that too much Lorelle on his blog was just a little too much Lorelle. 😀 Cute.

I can’t count the numerous kind words I heard at WordCamp and in the reviews afterwards. Thank you to all for your wonderful thoughts and kind words. It means a lot to someone who spends so much of her time alone with her computer, just blogging her thing.

Blogging Tips: What Bloggers Won’t Tell You About Blogging

Blogging Tips - book cover, copyright Lorelle VanFossenI’m thrilled that the WordCamp attendees will be getting their copies of Blogging Tips: What Bloggers Won’t Tell You About Blogging soon. And much thanks to for sponsoring the free books for everyone, and to the printer, Michael Bushilla of MGB Printing, for taking the heat and getting the books delivered.

The reviews have been coming in fast, so fast, I can barely keep up. I’ll be updating the official page for Blogging Tips in the next few days with all the new reviews and kind words.

To order your own copy of the limited first printed edition with a reduced introductory price, order from SplashPress or the new Blog Herald Bookstore. For more information on the book, see the original announcement and a recent update with reviews and other information, as well as the Blogging Tips Book official page. Coming soon will be an ebook version and an audio version. Stay tuned!

Interviews, Features, and Guest Blogging

This is too exciting. I spent time with one of my icons, at WordCamp, and now I’ve been written about by C-Net News, one of my favorite websites and resources for many years.

In Please don’t steal this Web content (also covered on on ZDNet News), author Elinor Mills writes about the evils of sploggers and scrapers stealing your blog content and making money from ads with it. We had a good time discussing content theft and how to track down sploggers and scapers, but I never thought I’d be the lead story in the report. Wow!

Thank you, Elinor, for spreading the word about copyright and the web and how to protect your content. I applaud you and othes who help with the fight against content theft. We have to educate the world that if it’s on the Internet, it’s not free, and always assume everything is copyrighted on the web. Ask first. You might get a yes.

PreviewCast Podcast co-host, Douglas Bell, interviewed myself and several others at WordCamp, discussing WordCamp, WordPress, barbeque, and more.

Also, Rose DesRochers of Today’s Woman Writing Community interviewed me recently for Blogger Talk in “Interview with Lorelle VanFossen, that Woman on WordPress”, a title I love. It was a fun interview and hopefully I was entertaining. She asked some really good questions that had me thinking a while before responding.

I was also honored recently when she requested a reprint of an article of mine and featured it on Bloggers Talk, called “Blogging Tips: Please, Define Expert”, a reprint of a post I did a while ago that questions the over-usage of “expert” when bloggers define who they are. I think we need to seriously think about how we label ourselves and others when it comes to expertise. Make the word “expert” really mean “expert”.

When it comes to experts, I’d have to say that Rose DesRochers is one of them. She founded the popular Today’s Woman Writing Community and works hard for women’s rights, especially on the web, as well as the rights of writers. She continues to set the highest standard in writing and blogging and I’m very honored to be one of her adoring fans. Thanks, Rose!

Jan of Circular Communication did a fabulous interview with and I and we didn’t have to participate. I like those kind of interviews – no work! And Blogging Relationships – a Virtual Interview With Liz Strauss and Lorelle turned out to be a wonderful “interview”. Kind of a guest blogging and interview combined.

Other recent interviews and features include:

Lorelle on WordPress Scrapped and Violated: Some wonderful blogging friends and fans have been alerting me to copyright violations and feed scrapers (splogs) of this blog. THANK YOU. If you find Lorelle On WordPress is being scrapped or the content stolen, please let me know.

What’s Happening with Lorelle on WordPress

With two weeks backlog, there are a lot of published posts to tell you about. If you haven’t been paying attention, you might have missed out on these gems from recently:

Most Popular Articles on Lorelle on WordPress

The article in C-Net News on copyright violations has once again brought the popular article, What Do You Do When Someone Steals Your Content, into the spotlight.

What we can’t figure out, though, is why Writing a Blog and Engaging Readers by Greg Balanko-Dickson is suddenly so popular. It shot up the ranks and brought in a lot of traffic from StumbleUpon and other blogs but Greg and I haven’t found out why. It’s a fabulous post, and makes some very good points, but it’s odd to suddenly spike. Ah, the mysteries of web traffic.

I knew that the response to the official statement that WordPress will no longer permit sponsored WordPress Themes in the official Theme Viewer would be big a couple weeks ago, I had no idea how big. So many are writing about it, I can barely keep up. Two posts of note come from the two volunteers who maintain the WordPress Theme viewer, Mandarin Musing and Headsetoptions.

The most popular posts on Lorelle on WordPress these past few weeks were:

Linking To and From Lorelle on WordPress

The incoming links in reference to WordCamp and the C-Net article on copyright violations has been overwhelming.

One of the most delightful incoming links came from Letters Home to You who offers some great blogging resources in this unique way:

I still have so much to learn about blogging, so I decided one day to go beyond my daily fix at Lorelle on WordPress to see what others could teach me.

Boy, did I learn a lot.

Too cute!

Here are just a few of the sites linking to and from Lorelle on WordPress:

Blasts From the Past

My Tech Talk offered “How to Blog Resources” for those just starting to blog, and included among the great recommendations a link to my article, “Learning About Blogging and How to Blog“. I wrote it in 2005, so I thought I’d take a look.

Ick. It looked like 2005. So I cleaned it up and that processed turned into an article on revitalizing your past post techniques coming next week on the .

I’ve got to dig into some of my old posts and give them a spit and polish. Until I do, here are some not so cleaned up blasts from the past on my blog:

Blog Herald Columns

I’m so thrilled with the popularity of Tips for Writing Good WordPress Tips which I published on the this week. I was very nervous about publishing that article. I’ve been working on it for over six months. I’m thrilled it has been so well received.

I have also been writing a lot of posts in series on the Blog Herald, with many of them dealing with blog comments and conversations. I’ve tried to group them in this list together so you can easily track the series.

Lorelle’s Linkworthy Links


This is the of .
RSS - Lorelle on WordPress Weekly Digest Category Feed Subscribe to Lorelle on WordPress Weekly Digest Weekly Digest Email Subscription
Feed on Lorelle on WordPress Subscribe to Lorelle on WordPress Feedburner iconVia Feedburner Email Subscription
Copyright Protected and Reserved – If you are reading this post outside of your feed reader or Lorelle on WordPress, the usage of this content is a violation of copyright and the DMCA. Please report it immediately so action can be taken against them. If you are using this content illegally, and you know who you are, consider this a cease and desist order.
is a member of , , the 9Rules Network, and author of Blogging Tips, What Bloggers Won’t Tell You About Blogging.

3 Comments

  1. Posted August 12, 2007 at 4:07 pm | Permalink

    I have not received an email from automatic yet asking me to confirm my mail address. Who do I contact at Automatic to get them the info they need. I already ordered a copy of your book for a friend, but I can’t wait to read it myself.

  2. Posted August 12, 2007 at 6:07 pm | Permalink

    I’m looking into this. I’ll let you know. Thanks for letting me know!

  3. Posted August 16, 2009 at 2:46 pm | Permalink

    Today’s Woman will no longer be a writing community. I just launched Today’s Writing and your interview moved. 🙂


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*