Skip navigation

Do You Ever Think About What You Write About?

Do you ever think about what you write about?

Okay, so Lorelle is getting a little philosophical. But honestly, do you ever think about what you write and blog about?

Sometimes I catch myself finding anything and everything that might appeal to my audience, checking in with myself to see if this is in line with the purpose of this blog, then posting away. I grope around through hundreds of resources, looking here and there and everywhere to add content to my blog. But do I ever stop and think about what I’m writing? Do you?

I was going through doing some clean up work when I stumbled across my recent post listing articles I’m proud of writing and it stopped me in my tracks. These are good! Really good. So much so, I even offered an invitation to others to brag about their favorite writings. A lot of work went into them. A lot of research. A lot of time. Hey, it’s good material, but was there a lot of thought?

Thinking About What You Write About

Besides the typical categories of post styles, the link lists, blockquoters, and original content providers, how much do bloggers really think about what they are blogging about?

How long do they think about it? Do you find a story at the top of or and like it so much you slap a blockquote and link referral on your blog for your readers and consider it done? Or do you spend time mulling over the topic at hand and debate about how you can add to the conversation?

I make it a policy to write my opinion about what I recommend to others to read, when appropriate. But how much time and energy do I really put into voicing my opinion when under the gun to make sure that you all have something to read every day? How much time do I spend just hunting for hunting sake, just to fill up a blank space? How much time do I spend really thinking up quality information to share with you?

I think it’s important to really think about what we write about. I think it’s important to give it weight and value. Respect. That’s the word I’m looking for. I think it’s important to give what we write respect, and the respect it deserves.

Blogging isn’t just about linking to what everyone else is linking to. It isn’t just about finding the latest and hottest topic at hand and posting what other people have to say about it.

Blogging is about expression. It is about having a voice. That’s why these are called “Blogs” not “websites”. That is the purest essence of the definition and distinction between the two.

The Challenge: Think About What You Write and Tell Us What You Are Thinking

So I challenge all of you to think about what you write about in your blogs. Take a moment to check in with yourself, your real self, the one with the attitude, opinions, expertise, and experience. The one who graduated from high school, got a part time job, worked through college, got married, had babies, made decisions about lifestyles and careers, dealt with parents growing up and parents aging, paid bills, got fired, got hired, quit, gave up, kicked habits, started new ones, fell in love, fell out of love, held the hand of a dying friend or gave a eulogy, bought a car, bought a house, sold a car, sold a house, got sick and got well, and the one who decided to take up blogging for some insane, political, creative, or money making reason. That’s the one I want to hear from when you blog.

I want to know what YOU have to say about the issue you are bringing forth. I want you to think about why you are writing about this, why it caught your attention, why you think we need to know about it, and what you have to think and say about it.

So the challenge is: I want you to think about what you write and tell us what you are thinking about.

Digg Digg | Del.icio.us Del.icio.us | Blinklist BlinkList | Furl Furl
Spurl Spurl | Reddit | Add to Simpy Simpy | Add to RawSugar RawSugar


Site Search Tags: , , , , , , ,
Copyright Lorelle VanFossen

6 Comments

  1. Posted February 13, 2006 at 6:34 am | Permalink

    Well to be honest I really like to think that I am thinking about a post before posting it but…
    There can be several reasons for a post:
    Giving it to the people.
    Just for the joy of it.
    For my own reference.
    Cause, hey I felt like it.
    I do understand why you ask. Sometimes you may wonder why in heavens name is this on the net? But then I think it’s their space so let them. If, on the other hand, the goal is merely bringing content that serves the visitors then it maybe right to say, “think about it” before posting it. I guess blogging can be a way of life. Every daily thought can be an inspiration for writing a post. And that’s basically the way I do it. An exception maybe for posts about coding and/or WordPress itself can be made in my case. I’d like to think that an effort should be made to the originality of it. Another very important thing about this subject is accuracy, there can be no faults in it. It must be readable for everyone visiting the blog.

    Those are my thoughts.

  2. Posted February 13, 2006 at 7:22 am | Permalink

    Isn’t that the same as, telling the reason why you blog? I mean…if blogging goes long the same lines as our reason to blog, then our content would follow along the same lines as well right?

  3. Posted February 13, 2006 at 9:29 am | Permalink

    Good question, Edrei, but it’s different. The reason you blog is different from putting some thought into what you are blogging about.

    So many people just post links and blockquotes, but I don’t understand why they like these sites or articles. I want to know your opinion. I want to know your thoughts. Knowing your purpose in blogging is fine, but I want to know why this particular point caught your attention and how it supports your purpose for blogging. This requires thought. So I ask: Are you thinking about what you blog about before you blog?

  4. Posted February 14, 2006 at 5:36 am | Permalink

    Yes, there is definitely a thought. I have realised after reading this that there are 3 reasons that attract me to a point/subject:
    – Like you said, its mostly because I want to suggest things to people and give my opinion on it.
    – Sometimes I come across stuff which is so inline with my thinking, king of vindication of my way of thinking 🙂
    – When I get confused or have a dilemma or stalemate.

  5. Posted March 6, 2006 at 4:16 pm | Permalink

    The main purpose of my site “http://ustommymc.net” not “http://ustommymc.wordpress.com” is to keep my family and friends informed about me.

    I’m a US Marine and am constantly deployed to the middle east. I also just recently moved to San Diego which means I won’t be seeing my family in NYC that often, at least for the next three years.

    The stuff that I put on my blog is for them to stay aware of whats going on with me. I write about my deployments, “some” of my personal life, my travels and my hobbies. This way when I do visit, after anywhere from a month to even a year, we can move forward and only play minimal catch-up with my life.

    Its nice to see people from all over the country and world visit my site but I don’t cater to them. I have made some blogger friends that I’ve never met in person but again my blog is for my family.

  6. Dorcas
    Posted August 5, 2006 at 6:01 am | Permalink

    I really enjoyed your post, Lorelle. I was just looking at my livejournal and all its content (private, public, friendslocked) and felt it was so inane. Blogging is about expression – I’ll keep that in mind. Thanks. (:


11 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] Do You Ever Think About What You Write About? […]

  2. […] Do You Ever Think About What You Write About? […]

  3. […] Do You Ever Think About What You Write About? […]

  4. […] Do You Ever Think About What You Write About? […]

  5. […] Do You Ever Think About What You Write About? […]

  6. […] Do You Ever Think About What You Write About? […]

  7. […] Do You Ever Think About What You Write About? […]

  8. […] Do You Ever Think About What You Write About? […]

  9. […] Do You Ever Think About What You Write About? […]

  10. […] Do You Ever Think About What You Write About? […]

  11. […] Do You Ever Think About What You Write About? […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*