Skip navigation

Will You Be Blogging in the July 28 Blogathon 2007?

The annual Blogathon will be July 28, 2007. Are you ready? Will you be blogging in this amazing international event where bloggers around the world will be publishing blog posts every 30 minutes for 24 hours to raise money for their favorite charities?

My involvement last year led to How Not to Blog in a Blogathon Blog, a praise for those who participated and some tips on how to blog in a Blogathon to make the event more enjoyable for everyone, especially for the blogger and reader.

This year, I’ve written Blogathon Tips – Blogathon July 28 for the to help you prepare and present your Blogathon event best on your blog this year.

In the article, I offer a list of tips for content ideas to help you plan and structure your Blogathon event.

Remember, participation in the Blogathon benefits you and your blog by:

  • Raising money for a good cause.
  • Allows you to network with other participating bloggers.
  • Increases your blog’s exposure to a larger audience.
  • Increases your exposure to a lot of new blogs and bloggers.
  • Gives you a chance to blog for 24 hours on whatever subject you want.
  • Provides learning opportunities for advanced planning, structure, content building, and community building on your blog.
  • Increases your blog’s visibility.
  • Increases your blog’s identity.
  • Associates your blog with a good cause.
  • Tests your blogging and physical stamina.

Are you blogging in the Blogathon this year? Signed up? Ready to go? Got your plan in action?

Related Articles

Member of the 9Rules Blogging Network


Site Search Tags: , , , , , , , ,
Feed on Lorelle on WordPress Subscribe Feedburner iconVia Feedburner Subscribe by Email

Copyright Lorelle VanFossen, member of the 9Rules Network, and author of Blogging Tips, What Bloggers Won't Tell You About Blogging.

12 Comments

  1. Posted June 20, 2007 at 2:31 pm | Permalink

    Ironically enough, the day of the blogathon is just before the day of the San Francisco Marathon. Why am I thinking a few bloggers are driving a point across to people….

  2. Posted June 20, 2007 at 3:12 pm | Permalink

    Somehow, I don’t think the two are connected in any way. 😀 Especially as the Blogathon is an international event.

  3. Posted June 20, 2007 at 3:43 pm | Permalink

    I am intrigued. This is the first time hearing about a blogathon. If I can find a charity that is worth 24 hours of straight blogging, I’ll commit to participating. You provide a lot of useful information and I’ll be saving this post while I search for the perfect charity.

    Be well and enjoy the day.

  4. Posted June 20, 2007 at 5:53 pm | Permalink

    For the 3rd year in the row. Of course I’ll be joining this one. How could I miss out on it? Thanks for supporting the Blogathon last year though and we look forward to that support this year. 🙂

    I can only hope I can think up of something equal or better than what I did the previous years. It always becomes gibberish towards the end. Technically I’ve always been awake for 36 hours rather than 24 because of the time difference.

  5. Posted June 20, 2007 at 8:49 pm | Permalink

    They aren’t accepting signups yet. The rumor on the Blogathon forums is July 1st will be the day that signups can happen.

  6. Posted June 21, 2007 at 3:37 am | Permalink

    I may well take part this year; my Mum’s just got over breast cancer for the second time, so this would be a nice way to raise funds for the charity. Nice for us geeks to be able to do something nice for a change!

  7. Posted June 21, 2007 at 6:56 am | Permalink

    I’ve found a worthy charity and now it’s all go. I’ll be gleaning your wisdom on this matter and researching for the posts.
    Thanks for sharing this

  8. Posted June 21, 2007 at 8:05 pm | Permalink

    still contemplating but I love to. 🙂

  9. Posted June 24, 2007 at 4:49 am | Permalink

    sounds like fun and I know the perfect charity I want to donate towards.

  10. Posted June 25, 2007 at 4:57 am | Permalink

    Yes, I will! This will be my second time, and my first time hosting it. We participated in a team of five last year, and this year there will only be two of us (so far), and we will also be promoting the same Malaysian charity, Eden Handicap Service Centre, because well, charity begins at home! 🙂

  11. Posted July 8, 2007 at 4:09 am | Permalink

    I have just this second signed up for this years Blogathon, I’m something of a Blogathon virgin but I’ve got a theme and got my plan down. No caffeine until past the 20th hour and don’t just sit at the computer doing nothing!

  12. silly
    Posted April 22, 2009 at 7:32 am | Permalink

    I definitely plan to blog there. Can’t wait.


8 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] Läs mer hos Lorell on WordPress […]

  2. […] BTW), has a lot of information about this event. Here’s a link to one of her posts about it: https://lorelle.wordpress.com/2007/06/20/will-you-be-blogging-in-the-july-28-blogathon-2007/ (She also wrote the BlogHerald […]

  3. […] pendant 24 heures non stop si ce n’est pas plus et j’ai battu mon record personnel j’ai aussi beaucoup appris sur l’évènement qui ne se fas encore la blogosphère […]

  4. […] day and generating money for charity. Here’s how it works. Of course there are some tangible benefits as well. The next Blogathon is July 28, 2007. Watch this […]

  5. […] as a guest blogger at Darren Rowse’s Problogger. She has introduced me to the concept of a charity blogathon that I will be participating in on July 28th. She offers straight forward, no nonsense advice gleaned through her actual web slogging. She gives […]

  6. […] Will You Be Blogging in the July 28 Blogathon 2007? […]

  7. […] Will You Be Blogging in the July 28 Blogathon 2007? […]

  8. […] Will You Be Blogging in the July 28 Blogathon 2007? and on the Blog Herald with Blogathon Tips: Blogathon 2007 July 28 continue to attract a lot of attention as people start to think about this fundraising and blogging event. It’s 30 days away, folks. Get busy now if you are going to participate. […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*