Skip navigation

Future Laptops Faster and Less Battery Drain – But Cooler?

The New York Times reports that Intel chips will run faster and use less power, and be even smaller.

The microprocessor chips, which Intel plans to begin making in the second half of this year, are designed for computers but they could also have applications in consumer devices. Their combination of processing power and energy efficiency could make it possible, for example, for cellphones to play video at length – a demanding digital task – with less battery drain.

There’s something I want to know.

Will they run cooler?

Yes, I would love longer battery times and lighter laptops. What I would really love is to not have my legs cooked while blogging from my lap!

I travel a lot and many times find myself wedged into a corner, grabbing free WIFI and blogging from anywhere I can wedge myself into. Because of the work I do, I carry a large and heavy desktop replacement laptop. Trust me, against bare legs, or even through clothing, this thing cooks skin.

I use a cooling pad with double fans to cool my laptop down, adding more weight and bulk to the menagerie of computer gadgets and gizmos I travel with. I swear, the more high tech laptops and computers become, the more computer junk I carry with me. Why do the power plug and transformers have to weight as much as my laptop?

Give me speed, give me longer battery times, make my laptop lose weight, let me carry less computer tech junk, but most importantly, cool this sucker down. Make blogging with a laptop easier.

What technological improvements would you recommend for blogging from your laptop?


Site Search Tags: , , , , , ,
Copyright Lorelle VanFossen, member of the 9Rules Network Feed on Lorelle on WordPress Subscribe

Member of the 9Rules Blogging Network

8 Comments

  1. Posted April 5, 2007 at 8:20 am | Permalink

    Sounds like you’re using the wrong laptop, which is it?

    P.S. Something wrong with your site?

  2. Posted April 5, 2007 at 8:24 am | Permalink

    Thanks for noticing. I’m naked today. 😉

    See Lorelle is Naked.

    As for which laptop, pick one. The last four I’ve had have run too hot. I always get the top or just under the very top of the line laptop. This one is a Gateway Desktop Replacement laptop, so the size and power alone generates a lot of heat. It’s not instant burn like the top of your stove but heat that sticks and turns skin red with time. I have spent too many of the last 12 years in high temperature and humidity weather conditions and a hot laptop has never been fun – in the AC or out.

  3. Posted April 5, 2007 at 8:26 am | Permalink

    I find that if I do not want to leave my laptop in the car while shopping, it seems to weight half as much once I take all the extra stuff out of the case. Having a desktop replacement does have a disadvantage.
    My wife thinks it is too hot use on my lap. I tell her it’s not that hot.

  4. Posted April 5, 2007 at 9:38 am | Permalink

    Well there’s your issue Lorelle, you’re using a DTR (desktop replacement)! Most modern laptops run pretty cool and quiet, with much improved battery life and without compromising performance. Feel free to e-mail me about this, I would be happy to offer more detailed advice, but a few tips:

    *When a travel weight is listed for a laptop, this usually includes the weight of the AC adapter and if possible, without the optical drive
    *If mobility is your key concern and you won’t play any games, get integrated graphics. This means the Intel graphics, NVIDIA Go 6100 series, or ATI Radeon Xpress 1100 or 1200 series. These increase battery life and reduce heat output.
    *For mobile CPU’s, Intel Core Duo or Core 2 Duo is the way to go. Core 2 has better performance and is most common now. AMD’s Turion 64 X2 is okay, but doesn’t offer as good battery life.
    *Larger display = more power draw
    *Some companies offer different wattage power adapters. For instance, a 65W and 90W adapter. The 90W would be used on systems with discrete graphics chips and would charge faster, but the 65W is smaller & lighter usually. Consider this in your purchase

    I hope that helps – again, feel free to e-mail me.

  5. Posted April 5, 2007 at 9:53 am | Permalink

    It will probably run cooler. All the heat energy comes from the battery in the first place, so an engineer trying to save power will target heat dissipation first.

    The solution for laptop blogging could be to (drastically) throttle the processor clock while you are editing or reading plain text in non-cpu-intensive software (e.g. notepad) and disable all non-vital peripherals. I imagine such semi-hibernation could be done under Linux. Then you wake the system only when you need to post over WiFi and surf the web some. I personally do not need much speed — but I could use more battery time and fewer thigh kelvins.

  6. Posted April 6, 2007 at 3:30 am | Permalink

    My laptop kills me with the heat it produces too and it’s well quite heavy to be called a laptop in any case.You need wrestler legs to use these things these days..

    Mine’s a Toshiba Satellite and I’ve seen that whatever models you get from Toshiba,all of them are ridiculously heavy and have hideous battery backup.I don’t use many gadgets though,just an Optical Mouse because I can’t seem to get used to the regular touchpad.

    I’ve seen HP laptops and those are pretty pretty light.But then,they’re mini-sized as well.The screen is difficult to figure out and the heat factor persists.There’s a certain funny something I’ve seen in some laptops.They have the cooling fan’s at the bottom which means they technically throw out all the hot air right onto the lap and burn it.I think they should be on the side or maybe the backside.The laptops are so small and overcrowded anyway these days.The best joke I’ve heard about laptop’s was from my friend who said his Sony Vaio has 15 USB-ports.I kind of believed that for 20 seconds.How dumb of me.

    Anyway,I have no clue if the perfect laptop exists..something which can have features..and also be cool.

  7. Posted April 17, 2007 at 6:28 pm | Permalink

    As an Electrical Engineer I know this: as chips get faster, the silicon etched transistors get smaller to fit more on the chip. The smaller the transistors, the less resistance it possesses, therefore the less resistance the less power delivered to each transistor, and each etched wire on the chip. Less power delivered is less heat generated. Therefore as the new chips come out, yes they will be more powerful, and yes they will run cooler!

  8. Posted April 21, 2007 at 10:59 am | Permalink

    Lorelle, bring a pillow! That’s what I use between my legs and my laptop! Maybe you can consider a inflatable pillow? 😉

    Recently I saw this erm… THING at Ikea specially for laptops. Its like a pillow fitted with a platform on one side.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*