Skip navigation

One Year Anniversary Review: WordPress For Beginners

One of the first things I did as a documentation volunteer for WordPress was to help create the popular on the . I believe it is critically important that users get hands-on, step-by-step basic instructions for using the most elementary aspects of WordPress. After all, WordPress is easy-to-use and is proud of it. So why not help make it even easier to use with simple, easy-to-read instructions?

I called upon other WordPress volunteers to help me write the most basic instructions on “how to” on a variety of methods of using WordPress. We helped WordPress users learn how to change their header art, customize the look and layout of their sidebar, create a post meta data section, find their WordPress Theme styles, and create custom archive, category, search, and author template files. If they didn’t know what template files were, we even had instructions to help them understand how template files work in a WordPress Theme.

My work with the WordPress Codex continues, and I’ve expanded upon a lot of basics here over the past year. Along with general news and information about WordPress and WordPress.com, I’ve written instructions on what to do with your new WordPress.com blog to help users learn how to make their first post and set up categories, explained the differences between the various WordPress versions, shared what I needed to learn about using WordPress, talked about comments and comment spam, and even offered instructions on how not to comment on comments.

To help people new to WordPress learn how to use the , the online manual for WordPress users, I also wrote a A Guide to the WordPress Codex.

Since there is rarely a question that comes up from beginners that hasn’t been asked and answered before, I highly recommend that you search first before jumping in on the forums to ask. A lot of work has gone into answering most questions about using WordPress, and you will find some good, well-written, step-by-step instructions if you just search first.

Here is a list of articles from this blog and around WordPress to help you get started if you are just beginning to use WordPress for the first time.

From the most basic instructions to the more complicated, I’ve worked hard to help beginners understand how to use WordPress. I’m always looking for new ways to help beginners understand how WordPress works and why. If you have any suggestions, please let me know.

Also, if you have any how to articles you would like to be included in the WordPress Codex to help WordPress users, please let me know so we can expand the Codex.

Here are some highlights of the many articles I’ve written on this blog to help beginning WordPress and WordPress.com users.

WordPress and WordPress.com For Beginners


Site Search Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Copyright Lorelle VanFossen, member of the 9Rules Network

Member of the 9Rules Blogging Network

One Comment

  1. Posted August 25, 2006 at 6:17 pm | Permalink

    This was one of the first blogs I visited when I got blogging fever. It helped me tremendously in the technical aspects of setting up and using WordPress. My blog was only made in July 06 so I still find myself visiting here when I need a question answered or to find out how to do something.

    Thanks


5 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] Lorelle’s One Year Anniversary Review. Tons and tons of links into the Codex. Some good advice and some direct links for common situations. […]

  2. […] Lorelle at WordPress celebrates by remembering when she told us how to get started. Happy Anniversary! […]

  3. […] WordPress For Beginners […]

  4. […] One Year Anniversary Review: WordPress For Beginners […]

  5. […] One Year Anniversary Review: WordPress For Beginners […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*