Skip navigation

Blog Exercises: What If You Knew You Could Not Fail

Blog Exercises on Lorelle on WordPress.I helped a writer set up her first blog today, encouraging her to share her stories as part of the process moving towards becoming a published author.

We talked about how a site will help her, not just with marketing, promotion, and community building, but also by rethinking how she writes, what she writes, and how she presents her ideas and stories. If you wish to improve your writing, there are few things you can do beyond learning to blog that will push your writing skills out of their comfort zone.

After we’d gone over some basics and I’d give her some assignments to prepare for the next time we meet, she said, “Now what?”

“What what? You’re done.”

“I’m not done. I’m scared about what will happen next.”

“What do you mean by ‘next?'”

“I don’t want anyone to see it.”

“Until you have content on it, that’s a good idea.”

“I don’t want anyone to comment.”

“If no one sees it, there will be no one to comment. Don’t worry about that for a month or so.”

“What if an agent finds it?”

“If an agent finds your site and wants to represent you, cross that bridge then. Not now.”

“What if a publisher finds it?”

“Again, cross that bridge later.”

“What if someone reads it?”

“Let’s hope they enjoy it. They probably will. You write wonderfully.”

“What if it fails? What if I freak out?”

“Relax. Why anticipate failure before you start?”

“That’s just how I am.”

It was at this point I realized that her concerns were more than simple fears about the complexity and responsibilities of running a website. Her fear of what happens next and what-ifs is deep seated, part of her modus operandi, which brings me to your next blog exercise.

Blog Exercise Task from Lorelle on WordPress.What would you do if you knew you could not fail? That is today’s blog exercise.

It is easy to find excuses to not do, accomplish, or take the next step forward in your journey. Sometimes we put so much energy into finding excuses not to, we never do.

Today, it’s time to do. Period.

Blog about it, or just write it down in your journal. Process it out. If you knew there was no way to fail, no road blocks, nothing to get in your way, what would it look like.

There are so many things that get in our way to make us stop blogging or at least procrastinate and slow down our blogging to the point of anxiety when you approach your computer.

Life, family, work, blogger’s block, health,time…these are typical excuses that get in our way. Others are fears associated with blogging such as fear of comments, comment spam, readers, someone finding and linking to one of our posts…I could go on for months listing all the ways blogging can generate fear in someone but why bother. We know that any excuse is a good excuse, so what would your site look like if all the excuses were gone?

  1. Begin by identifying the fears and excuses you use to hinder your blogging efforts.
  2. Once identified, rate them as to the level of fear and anxiety you have over each one. Some will be higher than others.
  3. List all the ways you get past your fears, targeting each one at a time. Some will be easy as acknowledging them is most of the battle.
  4. Identify your what-ifs. These are fears but they are often disguised as practical what if questions.
  5. Answer each of your what-ifs. Be realistic. If you get found by another blogger and they write about you, this does not mean that a television crew is on their way to your place to start on a documentary about you.
  6. Identify your “what next” issues. Like the what ifs, these are the moments you anticipate happening when in reality, like the television show, may take months or years to come to fruition.
  7. Answer each of these realistically. These may come to pass but what is the likelihood and when?
  8. Go through your master plan for your site and incorporate the lessons learned from this exercise. Create a prevention plan.
  9. Re-examine your goals. How do these fears and what-ifs get in the way? Maybe your goals are too vague, undefined, and open to excuses. Tighten them up and make them concrete – literally.

The world is yours, and so is your blog. What would your site look like if you stopped wasting energy on all the fears and blogged as if there was no way to fail?

I’m really looking forward to your answers on this one!

Remember to include a hat tip link back to this post to create a trackback, or leave a properly formed link in the comments so participants can check out your blog exercise task.

You can find more Blog Exercises on . This is a year-long challenge to help you flex your blogging muscles.


Feed on Lorelle on WordPress Subscribe Feedburner iconVia Feedburner Subscribe by Email

Copyright Lorelle VanFossen.

4 Comments

  1. Posted June 26, 2013 at 9:59 am | Permalink

    Before I started my blog I did more or less the same thing. I got worried and afraid. I started to write down and figure out why I felt that way. Eventually, half way through my reasons, I said eehhh…screw it and made my first blog post.

    I haven’t ever regretted it.

    • Posted June 26, 2013 at 10:09 am | Permalink

      Good for you.

      What was it about your reasons that made you flip things around? Some insights might help others.

      Everyone’s fear is their own, but there is commonality. It’s always surprising to me to encounter someone who admits they have the same fears as me, too fat, too old, too short, too whatever. Like many, I feel alone with my fear when in fact I represent the majority of people in the world. By sharing our fears, often our inner most feelings and fears, we find out we aren’t so special after all – so to speak. LOL!

      Thanks!

      • Posted June 26, 2013 at 10:44 am | Permalink

        I don’t think anything in particular. I looked at all my reasons not to and they all seemed like excuses. My stubbornness kicked in, because I don’t like anyone intimidating me, myself included.

        My fears were mostly about personal failure. What if I don’t keep up with my blog? What if my editing skills aren’t enough? What if I don’t promote? What if I can think of anything to say? Those sort of fears.

      • Posted June 26, 2013 at 7:47 pm | Permalink

        Oh, I adore you. I love your statement that you don’t like anyone intimidating you, including yourself. Brilliant that one!

        Excellent list of fears. We all go through those. I’ve been doing this for over twenty years and I still think these things regularly. If they last more than an hour or so, I use them as hints that I’m off balance and fight to get back on track.

        Brilliant! You are a great example. Thanks.


5 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] “Blog Exercises: What If You Knew You Could Not Fail” I set up the blog exercise challenge to get you thinking of all the things that get in your […]

  2. […] Blog Exercises: What If You Knew You Could Not Fail […]

  3. […] Blog Exercises: What If You Knew You Could Not Fail […]

  4. […] There are many things that distract us as we go through work and life, especially when it comes to maintaining your site. There are things that distract, but there are also people who distract, sucking away your time as well as your energy and enthusiasm. At the same WordPress meeting, a fellow WordPress fan admitted that they were crushed when they got the response “you suck” in their overwhelmingly positive reviews. When all your energy goes into one naysayer, you lose focus and courage, letting self-doubt become a distraction. Don’t forget that we also talked about what your blog would be like if you knew you could not fail. […]

  5. […] Blog Exercises: What If You Knew You Could Not Fail […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*