Skip navigation

Who is Making Blogging Bucks and How?

Articles about blogging tipsDarren Rowse of Problogger points to an article by Roj Dash on personal branding and the chart Dash created which shows the various sources of income top bloggers reply upon.

For example, it shows that Steve Pavlina and Darren Rowse rely upon income directly from their blog ads and workshops, while Seth Goodin and Steve Rubel rely mostly upon income from consulting, books/ebooks, workshops, and speaking gigs.

There is a lot of indirect income which can be generated from a blog outside of blog ads, though many put most of their focus on direct advertising.

Which “bubbles” earn money for your blog? Are ads the only source of income from your blog or do you use it to sell your products and services or promote your consulting, workshops, books, and other income generating sources?

Member of the 9Rules Blogging Network


Site Search Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
Copyright Lorelle VanFossen, member of the 9Rules Network
Feed on Lorelle on WordPress Subscribe Feedburner iconVia Feedburner Subscribe by Email

4 Comments

  1. Posted May 18, 2007 at 11:08 am | Permalink

    I am not earning anything on my blog yet and don’t plan to for quite a while. As a newbie to blogging there are plenty of other things to deal with, thank you 🙂

    However, being an avid reader and appreciator of your work do I wonder how you make a living. You are, I believe, the only one of my favorite bloggers who doesn’t feature any advertising on your blog.

    So how are you making a living if you don’t mind me asking? Please understand that I am neither nosy nor critical, just curious and particularly so because I admire what you do and not least how you do it.

  2. Posted May 18, 2007 at 11:45 am | Permalink

    All I know is that it takes dedication, hardwork and a targeted niche to get your views across and accepted by other bloggers on the web. This is very difficult and it is especially hard to customize your messages for your audience through this path. If you perfect this, than multiple forms of capital will be on your plate.

  3. Posted May 18, 2007 at 12:35 pm | Permalink

    Please not ads. If I see ads on a blog, I go out as soon as I came in. Especially those ads I have to scroll past when I want to read more.
    Ads are visual spam. If you have a good book to sell (like the one on the left here), or you can do freelance work for me/my company, or any other interesting concept that involves a voluntary move from me once your blog convinces me of the quality of your work, I may give you some money. But ads? no thanks.
    (Sorry Lorelle — ’twas not aimed at you, but I had to speak up somewhow).

  4. mysterymika101
    Posted May 22, 2007 at 10:54 am | Permalink

    this is an entirely new world for me and I have split my day into sections to make time to blog and research blogging. I really appreciate your sharing attitude. thank you so much.


3 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] Who is Making Blogging Bucks and How? […]

  2. […] Who is Making Blogging Bucks and How? […]

  3. […] Who is Making Blogging Bucks and How? […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*