Skip navigation

A New Kind of 404 Page Not Found Result

I love good 404 Page Not Found error pages. These are the web pages you encounter when you have landed on a bad link or wrong address. Really good 404 pages can be helpful to locate the information you want, with links to your site map and categories, but the best are the ones that amuse as well as entertain, such as the one I highlighted in The Beauty of a Good 404 Page Not Found Page.

Did you know that there are websites dedicated to collecting 404 Page Not Found error pages? They either link to them or provide screen shots of them. They are wonderful. Here is a list of Page 404 collections:

One of my favorites that continues to amuse me is a 404 Page Not Found Error page that uses JavaScript to amuse you while you debate where you went wrong along the URL track. You can find it on this 404 Error Page from something called “Softlab” with a Greece extension. It begins with a one-sided conversation:

Hate to tell you this, but that page ain’t here.
Seriously. It’s not.
404 baby. 40-freakin’-4.
I even tried multi,
which is much more than I do for most folks.
Most times, I just zap up a blank page
and give the old 404 rap,
But you, you’re special, baby.
And, if I could, I’d run off right now
and find the page you wanted.
Or, even better, run off with you
and screw the stupid page.

Have you found any amusing 404 Page Not Found Errors that entertain beyond just help the visitor track down what they are looking for?


Site Search Tags: , , , , , , ,

Feed on Lorelle on WordPress Subscribe Feedburner iconVia Feedburner Subscribe by Email Visit
Copyright Lorelle VanFossen, the author of Blogging Tips, What Bloggers Won't Tell You About Blogging.

6 Comments

  1. Posted March 24, 2006 at 7:00 am | Permalink

    I loved the 404 page not found from softlab!!! It is great 🙂
    I guess mine needs a make over!!! http://panamagourmet.hypermart.net/pages/404errorpage.html
    It is actually the 404 from my business website and I have a link to my blog—-It refers lots of people! I guess there are many people searching for 404 pages, or maybe they just need to type slower 🙂

  2. Posted March 24, 2006 at 7:47 am | Permalink

    I love the graphic, Melissa. It sticks with the theme and look of the site, it’s fun, and playful. I bet it gets people laughing.

    The graphic is great, but 25% (minimum) of the folks using the web are disabled in some way. They’d stumble on your page and see nothing. And I mean nothing. You need to have the graphic feature an ALT descriptive tag, and have some more text on there to help those who either have graphics turned off (there are still a lot of them – I’m still surprised by it) or disabled to get the clue that they are on a 404 page. Why spoil a fabulous 404 graphic without the text to go with it?

    Also, as a side note, the keywords listed “invisibly” in your page after the HTML end tag may disqualify or penalize you with search engines. Good content wins over hidden games all the time. Them search engine folks is a widdle bit smarter then us folks. 😉 Been there, lost that.

  3. Posted October 25, 2006 at 9:00 pm | Permalink

    I’m new to blogging, and I want to know why I get a 404 error when I try to visit my own site!! I don’t even know where to go to find out!

  4. Posted October 26, 2006 at 12:13 am | Permalink

    First, thank you for looking here for your answers. I do my best to answer what I can about using WordPress and WordPress.com.

    Second, you can get help from the WordPress.com Forums and the answers to all your questions.

    Third, have you written a post? Write a few posts to test things and see if that clears up the error. The About page works, so try a few posts first.

    If that doesn’t solve things, send a notice to the feedback through the link and ask in the forums. I hope that helps.

  5. Posted March 24, 2007 at 5:41 pm | Permalink

    this is a great post! Thanks, Lorelle =) I love Mikas funny voice, and I guess you have contact with him, so I would love if you told him that I love his music =)

    – Espen

  6. Képfeltöltés
    Posted October 7, 2010 at 11:17 am | Permalink

    I was in fact claiming this lack of information issue when 404, 403..etc pages are shown. In fact I claimed this matter in other post of yours about Technorati’s recent loading home page problems and this article describes perfectly what they should have done in order to keep users informed and happy to come back for more.


5 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] The three biggest complains by Internet users are speed issues, broken links, and slow ads. Let’s tackle the number two complaint: broken links. Few things are more frustrating than tracking down the information you want, and you click the link and get the famous “404 Page Error – Page Not Found”. […]

  2. […] I am a fan of fun 404 Page Error pages. I also like entertaining messages for readers when blogs or websites take a “bad day off”. I’ve created such a page for my main site to put up when things go bork in the code to let people know what is happening. It also acts as a place holder until things get fixed. […]

  3. […] 404 Pages (tags: Website Blog) […]

  4. […] My other favorite is the Softlab 404 Error Page which I reported in A New Kind of 404 Page Not Found Result. […]

  5. […] recently highlighted some amusing 404 Page Not Found Errors, but for most people, the Page Not Found Error isn’t amusing. It’s […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*