Skip navigation

Blog Exercises: A Few of My Favorite Things

Blog Exercises on Lorelle on WordPress.Like the song says, “Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens…these are a few of my favorite things.”

In this blog exercise, you challenge is to write a “favorite things” post.

We all have favorite things. For a reader, it is one or more books, a series, or an author. For a knitter, it could be yarn or needles, or a favorite pattern that you can never do enough times and be satisfied. For pet lovers, it could be a favorite pet that changed their lives, or a breed they are passionate about. For a stamp or coin collector, it could be a specific item with a personal history for the collector. For photographers, it could be the techniques behind photography or the viewing of beautiful images. For a massage therapist, it could be a type of body oil. For a fan of WordPress, it could be a Theme or Plugin.

What are your favorite things?

Blog Exercise Task from Lorelle on WordPress.Today’s blog exercise is to write a blog post listing and describing your favorite things.

Tell us why these things are special to you. Did they influence or change your life? Do you have a story or experience with these favorite things? Share the story.

By sharing your favorite things you reveal a little more about yourself to your readers.

Remember that blogging is a never-ending process of identifying and building relationships with like-minded individuals, people you want to spend time with and work to develop friendships and business partnerships. Revealing a little more about about your passions connects you with those special people passionate about similar things.

I’ve mentioned some of my favorite things, my hobbies and interests, during these blog exercises and I’ve found new and deeper connections with my readers, even to the point of sharing tatting patterns and tea sources. You never know what will open up that magical door to new connections.

Remember to include a hat tip link back to this post to create a trackback, or leave a properly formed link in the comments so participants can check out your blog exercise task.

You can find more Blog Exercises on . This is a year-long challenge to help you flex your blogging muscles.


Feed on Lorelle on WordPress Subscribe Feedburner iconVia Feedburner Subscribe by Email

Copyright Lorelle VanFossen.

2 Comments

  1. Posted July 9, 2013 at 4:34 am | Permalink

    I’m going to try commenting with my WordPress account – here’s hoping it works this time. 🙂

    Fun post – love it! My blog post is here: “My Happy Place

    • Posted July 9, 2013 at 10:18 am | Permalink

      @Kathy, what a wonderful post. I love how you shared the story going back in time to define your favorite thing as a place. Beautiful! Thank you for setting a perfect example.


8 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] Today on Lorelle on WordPress had a nice blog exercise. […]

  2. […] Today, Lorelle on WordPress encouraged us to share a few of our favourite things: […]

  3. […] Today I’m going to be doing a challenge on this blog post set by Lorelle (my mum’s new blogger friend). […]

  4. […] under: A Few of my Favorite Things blog exercise on Lorelle on […]

  5. […] Blog Exercises: A Few of My Favorite Things […]

  6. […] Blog Exercises: A Few of My Favorite Things […]

  7. […] a lovely response to my blog exercise on naming your favorite things, the author of Tony’s Texts wrote about his favorite things, saying “it made a nice […]

  8. […] a lovely response to my blog exercise on naming your favorite things, the author of Tony’s Texts wrote about his favorite things. In response to my appreciation […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*