Skip navigation

Woopra Pre-Approved Invites Selling on Ebay

Woopra DashboardSomeone is selling Woopra invites on ebay.

Announced recently at WordCamp Dallas, this new web analytics program called was the talk of the conference. Word spread like wildfire as it was by major tech blogs and everyone wanted access. Unfortunately, since the program is still in development, while sign ups were overwhelming, approvals were slow as new servers were brought online and some sense of control is needed through the trail stages of the program’s development. The number of people eagerly awaiting approval is shrinking, but new people are signing up daily – but it’s first come, first serve, and Woopra could cut off the invitations at any time during the development stage due to technical issues.

Woopra geo map of visitors live to your blogA pre-approved invite by-passes all that and gets the user right in the door of this fascinating web statistics program. I’ve been using it since WordCamp Dallas and it is better than television! I love watching people come and go and explore my site live, but more importantly, I, the non-statistics watcher, am fascinated with the ability to look beyond the score card of the numbers and really get a clear picture of who is using my blog and why. I’d love to have this same feature on , but currently WordPress.com members are unable to add Javascript, thus can’t use Woopra. Maybe soon, if enough people ask.

I can talk for days about how amazing this new statistics program is, but I’ll let others share their enthusiasm:

And yes, this reminds me of the selling of invites to WordPress.com on ebay, which was exciting and did change the world, and honestly, I think Woopra will change how we blog, and how we communicate on the web…so this is every exciting and if I hadn’t gotten my pre-approved invite at WordCamp Dallas…that invite on ebay might look really good.

Would you buy a pre-approved Woopra invite?


Site Search Tags: , , , , , , ,

Feed on Lorelle on WordPress Subscribe Feedburner iconVia Feedburner Subscribe by Email Visit
Copyright Lorelle VanFossen, the author of Blogging Tips, What Bloggers Won't Tell You About Blogging.

7 Comments

  1. Posted May 1, 2008 at 10:41 am | Permalink

    Of course, Woopra lies to you on the front page of their website and makes it sound like they’re up and running, and then after you register, give them personal information, etc., then they ask for your invitation code.

    Not exactly trust-inspiring for a company that is, by definition, going to be collecting very detailed information about my users if I decide to use their service.

  2. Posted May 1, 2008 at 11:06 am | Permalink

    I have been part of the ‘mass approvals’ and it is a great experience to use Woopra. Nice interface and the real time stats are too cool.

  3. Posted May 1, 2008 at 11:48 am | Permalink

    @ Brian Carnell:

    Interesting. Thousands are using this, so it is up and running, and it says it is “beta” on the front page, though maybe the words could be changed to make it clear that Woopra is in beta and there are some limitations on access. Thanks for pointing that out.

  4. Posted May 1, 2008 at 12:14 pm | Permalink

    People interested in web analytics open APIs, plugin architecture, give Piwik a try: piwik is an open source (GPL license) web analytics software, aiming to be an alternative at Google Analytics

    http://piwik.org

  5. jboettcher
    Posted May 1, 2008 at 3:53 pm | Permalink

    I just got approved the other day for my blog. As soon as I saw the power of Woopra I went and applied for some of my other sites as well. If I knew I was looking at another month or two before approval on those, then yes, I would consider buying a pre-approval on eBay.

    http://jonathanboettcher.com/woopra-the-chuck-norris-of-site-analytics/

  6. jboettcher
    Posted May 1, 2008 at 3:55 pm | Permalink

    Oh – and a question for those of you more familiar with Woopra than I – is there a script I can put on my site that allows my visitors to initiate a chat with me, via Woopra? I’ve tried it a few times but I must say, if I were on a blog and a chat bar popped up all of a sudden I might find that a bit creepy. LOL.

  7. Posted May 1, 2008 at 4:38 pm | Permalink

    @ jboettcher:

    No, not yet. Though there are official Woopra badges that you can use to warn people. Woopra is working on adding features that tell users when you are online, notify you they want to chat, and cleaning up the whole chat interface. That was a new test feature and still needs a lot of work.

    I asked the same question. 😀


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*