Skip navigation

Sort Posts By Category Now Available in WordPress

CELEBRATION! As of today, there is a new sort posts by category in the Manage Posts Administration Panels of blogs. I’ve been pushing and shoving, teasing and begging for this feature for so long, some WordPress developers have grown gray hairs in the process.

WordPress Manage Posts Administration Panel - sort by categories feature

It’s so easy to use. Just click on the the Browse Categories drop down menu and choose your category and click Show Category. The numbers in parentheses are the number of posts you have in each category.

If you are viewing a particular category worth of posts, and you want to search, the search will automatically reset your view so the search searches all posts in all categories, not the posts in that category.

I begged so hard, one of my WordPress heroes, ColdForged, came up with a WordPress Plugin called Enhanced Post View which added the ability to sort posts by category, described in “The Perfect WordPress Dashboard”, and which broke with the update to WordPress 2. I held off upgrading for a long time knowing I would lose that functionality. The Enhanced Post Views WordPress Plugin did allow for searches within a specific category, but you had to reset all the categories back to “all” in order to do an all categories search.

I’d love to see a few more improvements with this, though I’m so thrilled with this new feature, it’s hard to complain much, but that hasn’t stopped me yet. 😉

I’d love to see a conditional tag that checks for the number of authors on a blog and if there is more than one blogger, a “sort posts by author” option be available. I’d also love to see my blogroll categories out of my post categories, or give me an option to include them or not. I understand the intent, I hate the deployment as I now have a long list of categories, most of which I do not use, cluttering up my categories section on my Write Post panel, and now in my “sort posts by category” drop down menu.

But I’m doing the famous Lorelle dance with glee because I got what I wanted! YEAH!


Site Search Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Copyright Lorelle VanFossen, member of the 9Rules Network

Member of the 9Rules Blogging Network

14 Comments

  1. Posted September 8, 2006 at 9:42 am | Permalink

    While not a WordPress.Com plugin (obviously) ManageMe is a highly evolved, 2.0 compatible Enhanced View plugin. I just installed it last week and am amazed at its power.

    http://www.stilglog.com/wordpress-plugins/manage-me/

  2. Posted September 8, 2006 at 9:47 am | Permalink

    So I see some the recent bug hunt fixes have made it to WordPress.com

    This one is just for you relle 🙂

  3. Posted September 8, 2006 at 4:00 pm | Permalink

    Westi: I finally feel the love. 😉 You all are stars!

    Jane: the site for ManageMe is dead. Since the plugin author didn’t upload the plugin to wp-plugins.net, the official WordPress Plugin database and repository, I can’t find it anywhere else. Any other ideas on where to find it or what’s happened to the author?

  4. Posted September 8, 2006 at 9:12 pm | Permalink

    The site works for me. Here’s the link to the official WordPress Plugin Database (i think): http://wp-plugins.net/plugin/manage-me/

    But his newest version is 1.5 which can be downloaded here

  5. Posted September 9, 2006 at 7:40 am | Permalink

    Ah. Manage-me. I was looking for ManageMe in the wp-plugins.net database. I still can’t get access to the site, which is very odd, but I did get the files. Thank you so much.

    I took a look at it and it has great potential. It still lacks some features I think are essential to a functional Administration Panel, but I love the ability to customize the columns. Adding the date modified is incredibly helpful when tracking content that needs changing or updating. Very cool. I’ll poke around it some more. Thanks for letting me know about it.

  6. Posted September 9, 2006 at 11:05 am | Permalink

    Look relle. Another Patch just for you 🙂 -> http://trac.wordpress.org/ticket/3120

  7. Posted September 9, 2006 at 11:21 am | Permalink

    We could also restrict by Author to keep Lorelle happy

    You and my husband agree. The best way is to keep Lorelle happy at all times. The world is a nicer place. 😉

    For those of you trying to figure out what is going on, my request to have a conditional feature added to include sorting posts by author has been done. The WordPress Administration Panels are slowly becoming a better place to visit and explore.

    Maybe I do have a little clout around here. Wow! Thanks, Westi, my hero! And I’ll have more “suggestions” I expect immediate responses to very soon. HA!

  8. Posted September 12, 2006 at 9:26 pm | Permalink

    That’s great. I didn’t even notice this one getting snuck in. There was no news announcement?

  9. Posted October 17, 2006 at 3:58 pm | Permalink

    Ack! I’ve been marginalized! Whatever shall I do?!

    Hey, I didn’t know you were a 9 Rules chickadoo, that’s awesome. Thanks for your constant reminders of past goodness, Lorelle ;).

  10. Posted March 30, 2007 at 5:53 am | Permalink

    http://www.stilglog.com/wordpress-plugins/manage-me/

    this link is death.. can anyone send me a email with this plugin?

    thank you

  11. Posted March 30, 2007 at 11:16 am | Permalink

    The author has gone offline and I can find no forwarding information. You can download the old version from WP-Plugins.net – Manage Me, but I do not believe it will work with the latest versions of WordPress.

    I would recommend another avenue.

  12. Posted July 5, 2007 at 5:29 pm | Permalink

    I MUST second Jane’s recommendation of Manage-Me.

    I’ve been using it for a year and I would be lost without it. Perhaps the introduction of a better posts interface in 2.2 will make life easier, but I doubt it. I run Permalinks with 1,350 authors, but Manage-Me makes it so-so easy to find posts and authors (& categories and so on) for editing. If anyone can suggest a similar plug-in then please let me know.

    The author (Stilglog) seems to have disappeared without trace; only v.12 is on wp-plugins.net and there is nothing on WP.org. There is a so-called v.15, but it is identical in every respect to v.14. I have v.14/.15 and am willing to share it if Loren could suggest a way.

    v.14/.15 works fine in WP 2.2

    Ted

  13. Posted October 22, 2007 at 10:06 pm | Permalink

    Is it possible to order posts last commented first? I’ve had no luck locating a plugin for that… Want to make sure there isn’t one before I’ll have to write one.
    Thanks

  14. Posted October 22, 2007 at 11:37 pm | Permalink

    @vlad:

    There are indeed. You will find them listed in WordPress Plugins for Comments, if memory serves, and through searching the web and WordPress Plugin directories.


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] Sort Posts By Category Now Available in WordPress […]

  2. […] Sort Posts By Category Now Available in WordPress […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*