Skip navigation

Blog Exercises: Awesome by Association

Blog Exercises on Lorelle on WordPress.In “Two WordPress.com Experts and One Series of Blog Work,” Kinna Reads featured myself and my friend, timethief of one cool site (lowercase intentional). I’m honored and grateful, but more importantly, I’m awesome by association.

My friend, timethief, started blogging in 2005. When she switched to WordPress.com, her life changed as did mine and hundreds of thousands of WordPress.com bloggers.

This beautiful, passionate, and energetic person learned how to use WordPress by helping others on the WordPress.com Forums and blogging the answers. In addition to thousands of answers offered for free on the support forum, her articles such as “Writing a Blog Post,” “7 Basic Blogging Dos and Don’ts,” “Tips for Organized Blogging,” “Blogging: Focus on Content Creation,” “Multi-Author WordPress.com Blogs,” “6 Easy Ways to Feature Older Content,” and “Tips for Avoiding Blogger Burnout” serve as guideposts and references for bloggers on WordPress and other publishing platforms.

Her personal development and self-improvement blog, this time – this space, is a haven for those wishing to live a simpler life focused on health, personal well-being, and mindful practices, and meet like-minded people supporting each other. She publishes inspirational articles on yoga, meditations, affirmations, and spiritual practices. A recent article, “Five Ways to Make a Difference Where you Live,” offers advice in how to make the world a better place by making a difference close to home in easy-to-do ways.

When Kinna featured timethief in her post, my reputation rose by association. Her great blogs and publishing expertise lifts my credit rating up for readers, search engines (SEO), and in my spirit. Because of her, I’m a better blogger. Because of Kinna’s article, I’m a better person and blogger by association with my long-time friend.

I blog about blogging and WordPress, as does timethief. While our articles are very similar, we present the material in very different ways. There are many times when she does a better job on a subject than I do, so I’ll recommend her article over my own words. She does the same for me. We’re our own private fan club.

Blog Exercise Task from Lorelle on WordPress.Your blog exercise today is to blog about two or more bloggers related by subject matter and reputation, praising them by association. Lift them up as Kinna did with timethief and myself.

These may be your competitors or bloggers you enjoy reading. They must have some commonality in their blogging subject matter.

In the above example, timethief and I have known each other for a long time. Your combination may be an introduction. The trackbacks generated by linking to specific posts on their site (not just the front page of their site) could result in a long-delayed meeting and new connections with you as the networker.

Recommend each blogger’s work and describe what makes them distinctive and special in your eyes. Your article is a letter of recommendation. Make it a good one for each person featured.

Remember to include a hat tip link back to this post to create a trackback, or leave a properly formed link in the comments so participants can check out your blog exercise task.

UPDATE: I’m currently working on converting the first six months of these blog exercises to a draft ebook for release in July. Stay tuned for more updates on this and to get a free copy.

You can find more Blog Exercises on . This is a year-long challenge to help you flex your blogging muscles.


Feed on Lorelle on WordPress Subscribe Feedburner iconVia Feedburner Subscribe by Email

Copyright Lorelle VanFossen.

8 Comments

  1. Posted June 12, 2013 at 7:10 am | Permalink

    Great to connect w/you. There is so much to learn about writing good content, to get noticed, to get followers, to promote business , to get new clients and followers…… It is all overwhelming for me, as I am in developing stages to promote American Made products that I represent as a mfg. rep. My website is currently under construction, and I do not know when it will be done. I would love to learn more about Blogging, I am creative but writing is not my xpertise. I would like to find someone to handle blogs – writing for me and do not know what professional bloggers charge. How did blogging change yur life? Thank you for reply.

    • Posted June 12, 2013 at 3:41 pm | Permalink

      Search around this site for the answer to that question. It bleeds with reasons and justifications for me to keep going after over twenty years of blogging.

      Welcome to WordPress.com and the world of blogging. I do hope you will take advantage of these blog exercises to learn more about how to blog and how to connect with others online. It’s a highly social web world we live in and the opportunities are great, but overwhelming.

      I’m always around to help. Just ask! We’re friendly here.

      Thanks!

    • Posted June 12, 2013 at 5:47 pm | Permalink

      Ah, one more thing. Bloggers like names. You might wish to change your profile to make your name represent a human being not a spammy sales name. I changed it to something vague, as is my rule, but I’d love to change it to reflect you as a lovely person. 😀 See this blog exercise on bylines and profile names and this one on how not to comment on comments, a facetious study on the proper way to comment and behave in the social web. It’s invaluable to get it right early in your blogging career to avoid being stomped down by those less kind.

      Welcome to your first lessons. 😀

  2. Posted June 12, 2013 at 9:15 am | Permalink

    Dear Lorelle,
    It was wonderful to wake up and discover this expression of appreciation for both my blogging tips blog and my personal blog.

    When I first began to blog at WordPress.com I found so much practical information in your posts that got me off to a strong start. When I surfaced from studying the ins and outs of blogging I recognized that your posts reveal what a positively focused person you are. Throughout my blogging years your posts have helped me grow as a blogger and as a human being. I credit my progress to your role modeling.

    Thank you so much for being you and for sharing your knowledge and wisdom so freely in both of your blogs. I appreciate you and treasure your friendship.

    • Posted June 12, 2013 at 3:39 pm | Permalink

      See, what a great admiration society we have! LOL! Same back at you, friend! I dream of the day when I can get up to your little island oasis and give you that hung you so richly deserve. I’ve been stockpiling them for you. 😀

  3. Posted June 12, 2013 at 9:19 am | Permalink

    All true. What a resource.

  4. Posted June 15, 2013 at 10:46 am | Permalink

    I am too pleased with myself! To have inspired this exercise is just awesome. Coincidentally, I need to redo my blogroll and I’d been thinking of a series of posts featuring the blogs and sites that I follow. This exercise is well suited to that. Thank you, again.

    • Posted June 15, 2013 at 1:10 pm | Permalink

      Thank you! Blogrolls are old fashioned. Blogging about each person and site, and possibly featuring them on a “Links” or “Recommended” Page with explanations and recommendations, is the preferred choice, so good for you!

      Thank you again for inspiring this exercise. You are wonderful!


5 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] working on several blog exercises lately on making things personal, setting an example for others, how being linked together with others raises your integrity and reputation, and showing your sincerity in the blogging process. There has […]

  2. […] Blog Exercises: Awesome by Association […]

  3. […] own work, and how to write about others using proper citation within copyright laws, and how to group people together complemented by association and reputation, and how to become a fan blogger, passionate about your subject […]

  4. […] Blog Exercises: Awesome by Association […]

  5. […] Blog Exercises: Awesome by Association […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*