Skip navigation

WordPress Upgrade Bug: Are You Sure?

Okay, as soon as I stop laughing, I’ll take this one seriously. Whether I’m laughing or not, you better take this one seriously.

If you jumped and downloaded the latest version of WordPress 2.0.3, there is a bit of a bug. You will have to download it again To fix the problem, you can make the fix manually in the code, or you can use the handy dandy new WordPress Plugin that will fix the problem. The Plugin is the fastest fix and will stop working automatically when the next release comes out.

If you try to download the latest version now, this fix will not be in it. You may want to wait until the next updated version is out, which sounds like it will be very soon.

The bug, according to Mark Jaquith, appears when you are editing comments in the WordPress Administration Panels. When you are finished editing comments, it asks you “Are you sure?” and when you click OKAY, it takes you to the wrong page and screws up your comments by inserting a slash before every quote mark.

The name of this bug, The “Are You Sure” Bug, gives me the giggles.

The first thing I always ask myself when considering an upgrade on anything, not just WordPress, is “Are you sure?” I think about the changes, improvements, and new features, and consider if it is worth it. I always upgrade in the end, but I give myself time to debate about it.

This debate time spent on answering the “are you sure” question benefits me in several ways.

  1. Waiting helps me decide if the upgrade is worth the trouble by taking time to learn more about it.
  2. Waiting to upgrade allows me to schedule the upgrade when it’s convenient to me, and not upgrade in panic mode.
  3. Waiting to upgrade forces me to check with the various WordPress Plugins and tools I use to produce my blog to see how this upgrade will impact them. Usually, it doesn’t, but sometimes it does. I’d rather check first than have things bork during the upgrade because a Plugin isn’t working with the new version.
  4. Waiting to upgrade usually gives the developers time to fix the upgrade and clean up bugs and problems found in the upgrade before I get to it, as today’s example proves.

If you jumped on this WordPress upgrade, trust me, the developers are more furious with themselves than you could ever be. The more complex and sophisticated WordPress becomes, the more little crappy things can slip through. Luckily, they are an amazing team of anal retentive and inventive folks who are determined to produce the best quality product out there. They are willing to have you be pissed off at them by letting you know they screwed up. It’s critically important to the WordPress team that they keep you informed and up-to-date on the good things as well as the bad things. Be thankful they are so loyal to their users.


Site Search Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Copyright Lorelle VanFossen

10 Comments

  1. Posted June 4, 2006 at 11:12 pm | Permalink

    You will have to download it again

    This won’t fix it. Changing a release without changing the version number (i.e. release WordPress 2.0.4) is really bad practice, for several reasons. So this will not be done. Basically, unless you find it 5 minutes after posting it, it’s spilled milk.

    OR you can use the handy dandy new WordPress Plugin that will hopefully fix the problem.

    I’ve gotten nothing but positive feedback, and it has been downloaded over 600 times already! I’ve also updated the plugin twice to fix other “Are you sure?” bugs (stop laughing!) 😀

    Though how long you need to run the Plugin and what will happen if you upgrade to the next version of WordPress with the Plugin still activated…there are a lot of questions and no answers yet, but it’s a quick fix if you don’t want to go through the trouble of upgrading again.

    You’ll need to run the plugin until you upgrade. It’s looking very good that 2.0.4 (rather than just waiting until 2.1) is going to happen. My plugin is hardcoded to only work on version 2.0.3. If you upgrade, it’ll stop doing anything, and you can delete it. If you forget to delete it, nothing bad will happen.

  2. Posted June 4, 2006 at 11:45 pm | Permalink

    Thanks for the clarification, Mark. And for all the hard work, and suffering my giggles. 😉

  3. Posted June 5, 2006 at 5:47 am | Permalink

    I wonder if they are going to fix the other problem I have noticed since the upgrade: when editing existing posts, and then editing the tags and/or title, the line that you were touching inside the post will disappear. True, touching inside the post makes it reappear but it sure is scary. I’ve never had this problem before this last update, I posted about it on the WP Support forum yesterday.

  4. Posted June 5, 2006 at 5:59 am | Permalink

    That’s exactly the reason why I’m still on 1.5 and have 2.0 only on my home test server. First I wait a week or two for wider adoption to see if all bugs were shaken out, than I wait to see if all my plugins and own hacks will work with the new version, and only than I upgrade, or not. When this issue gets resolved I’ll probably take the plunge.

  5. Posted June 5, 2006 at 7:18 am | Permalink

    BillyG: The line disappearing thing has been going on for a very long time. It’s a browser bug. It happens in IE as well as Firefox, from my experience. It happens within the textarea of the Write Post panel. I think it is the Peak-a-boo bug as explained by Positioniseverything.net. It’s there and not there and then there after you scroll down and backup or move within the textarea box. I thought WordPress had fixed it, but it happens frequently in WordPress.com now.

  6. Posted June 6, 2006 at 6:35 am | Permalink

    Hi do you have any problem with the UTW plugin? I notice that you use it. Thanks for your feedback and congrat for the 9rules labels!

  7. Posted June 6, 2006 at 9:34 am | Permalink

    Henri, do you mean any problems with UTW after the upgrade? I haven’t upgraded yet (see reasons above 😉 ). I haven’t had any problems with UTW that I haven’t written about. It works brilliantly on my other site.

  8. Posted June 6, 2006 at 11:53 am | Permalink

    Lorelle, yes after the upgrade (maybe you have a test blog in 2.03;)) Me, I upgrade wp to 2.03 and now UTW seem to be critical (errors during the writing of the tag in the database). Here is an example of the error :

    WordPress database error: [Lost connection to MySQL server during query]
    select tag from wp4_tags where tag = ‘radio.blog’

    Warning: Cannot modify header information – headers already sent by (output started at /xxx/www/wp-includes/wp-db.php:102) in /xxx/www/wp-admin/post.php on line 128

    Thanks if you have an idea!

  9. Posted June 6, 2006 at 11:59 am | Permalink

    The textarea, yeah thats it lol. GUess, I’ve been lucky, I post everynight and have never seen it before last week, and it totally sucks. I just know the one time I don’t “touch” the area, the data will be gone lol.
    Funny thing is, it doesn’t happen in any other forms for me… just my luck I guess. What is IE?

  10. Posted June 6, 2006 at 2:28 pm | Permalink

    Henri: I recommend you check out the Ultimate Tag Warrior Support Forum to get an answer on that.

    BillG: IE is Internet Explorer. And luck follows all of us, good and bad. 😉


6 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] Found via Lorelle’s blog Technorati Tags: 2.0.3, blog, blogging, blogs, internet, php, plugin, plugins, software, upgrade, wordpressShare and Enjoy:These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages. […]

  2. […] Source: Lorelle [via JohnTP] […]

  3. […] 2 – Lorelle on WordPress » WordPress Upgrade Bug: Are You Sure? (tags: wordpress) […]

  4. […] 2 – Lorelle on WordPress » WordPress Upgrade Bug: Are You Sure? (tags: wordpress) […]

  5. […] Lorelle (a brilliant woman who provides spectacular WordPress advice) shared her thought process in deciding when to install a WordPress upgrade She writes: The first thing I always ask myself when considering an upgrade on anything, not just WordPress, is “Are you sure?” I think about the changes, improvements, and new features, and consider if it is worth it. I always upgrade in the end, but I give myself time to debate about it. […]

  6. […] NOTE: DO NOT DOWNLOAD THE NEW WORDPRESS 2.0.3 UPGRADE! A number of annoying bugs has been found and announced and the decision at this time is to leave the buggy version on the download site and provide fixes to clean up the bugs. This is not a good idea, but we’re stuck with it right now. A fixed upgrade will hopefully be released soon. You have been warned. […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*