Skip navigation

Blog Exercises: Blog Your Favorite Song

Blog Exercises on Lorelle on WordPress.

It all began the day I found
That from my window I could only see
A piece of sky.

I stepped outside and looked around.
I never dreamed it was so wide
Or even half as high.

The time had come to try my wings
And even though it seemed at any moment I could fall,
I felt the most, amazing things,
The things you can’t imagine if you’ve never flown at all.

…The more I live the more I learn.
The more I learn the more I realize
The less I know.

Each step I take, each page I turn,
Each mile I travel only means
The more I have to go.

What’s wrong with wanting more?
If you can fly – then soar!
With all there is –
Why settle for just a piece of sky?

Lyric excerpt from “A Piece of Sky” by Michel LeGrand, Alan Bergman, and Marilyn Bergman from the movie “Yentl” directed by Barbra Streisand

If I were to choose a single song to be my theme song, this would be it. Since the first time I heard this song, it has defined my life. While the song is powerful, it is the lyrics that influence my lifestyle, my way of thinking, even my decision-making.

Even today, 30 years later, I stand before my students in my college classes and sing it in my head, a song for all students eager to learn. “The more I live the more I learn, the more I learn the more I realize the less I know…”

Blog Exercise Task from Lorelle on WordPress.Your blog exercise today is to blog about your favorite song and its influence upon your life.

Take care not to violate copyright, using proper citation methods. If using the lyrics as I have done, do not quote the entire song, just the sections that help make your point.

Remember to include a hat tip link back to this post to create a trackback, or leave a properly formed link in the comments so participants can check out your blog exercise task.

You can find more Blog Exercises on . This is a year-long challenge to help you flex your blogging muscles.


Feed on Lorelle on WordPress Subscribe Feedburner iconVia Feedburner Subscribe by Email

Copyright Lorelle VanFossen.

7 Comments

  1. Posted September 11, 2013 at 4:15 am | Permalink

    I like it when Lorelle goes a bit sentimental (throwing in a bit more of her tender feminine side) in some exercises.

    I watched Yentl more than twenty years ago, in a small TV and Audio lab at the university, watching the video on a small TV, wearing uncomfortable headphones, reading the subtitles, trying to learn English.

    Thank you for bringing back those memories.

    • Posted September 11, 2013 at 10:21 am | Permalink

      Love the image! Time to watch it in a better environment to really enjoy the full flavor. I watched it recently with my niece, after many years absence, and I was staggered at how caught up I became in the movie, so entranced. Forgot that part of my experience from long ago.

  2. Posted September 11, 2013 at 4:20 am | Permalink

    My favourite song too…
    Now that I’ve just finally bought a turntable, can I figure out to whom I lent my LP?????????????/
    Thanks!
    L

    PS, My Avatar profile is correct… but the WordPress bio is not updating. Will contact tomorrow.
    Night!

    • Posted September 11, 2013 at 10:19 am | Permalink

      LOL! An LP of Yentl. That must be worth something nowadays.

      You will have to be more specific with what you mean by WordPress bio. I mentioned the various places where you can change your bio information on the site. Make sure you clear your browser’s cache to ensure you are seeing the freshest version of the site.

      Thanks!

  3. Posted September 11, 2013 at 10:38 am | Permalink

    Now I remember I wrote this post when I first started blogging, Who are the Butterfly Lovers? A Chinese woman dressed as a man to receive education. The story had a twist in the end.

  4. Posted March 20, 2014 at 9:39 pm | Permalink

    this is what i felt right now, but not like in this music.. everthing what i do is wrong. i don’t know what is wrong with me.. but when i like this part

    “The more I live the more I learn. The more I learn the more I realize, The less I know.”

    thanks you for sharing this song.. i luv it


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] :p) that Lorelle VanFossen has written this year made this post more salient for me, as it was the prompt on September 11, 2013.  The readers may remember another post of mine with a reaction to the song: “The […]

  2. […] Lorelle surprises me with her trivial pursuits as revealed in Mashups, Blog Your Favorite Song, and The Daily Social […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*