Skip navigation

Blog Challenge: Whatcha Reading?

I recently finished rereading all the books, one after another, by two of my favorite authors, and Terry Pratchett. I read the whole Discworld series in order, then the Humanx Commonwealth by Foster in “chronological” order. It was wonderful to submerse myself in other worlds for extended periods of time, putting off returning to reality as long as possible.

I love books. By the time was graduated from high school, I had already developed the habit of finding a good author and then reading everything I could by them, one after another. I loved it. Then college, university, work, life, travel, and more life got in the way and I just read anything decent I could get my hands on.

A few years ago, when life got too stressful, I looked back at what joy I found in reading. It wasn’t just finding a specific novel or non-fiction book, it was reading the body of work created by a single author. I felt a strong connection with their writing style, studying it as I read. I felt like I was spending time with an old friend, revisiting them across many different worlds, countries, and times, being introduced to their new acquaintances, but always at the side of the author as they took me along for the ride.

So I headed back to a few of my favorites and reread everything they’ve published. Our old friendships were soon renewed as we traveled together. On my next adventure, I’m going to spend time traveling with my old friend, Isaac Asimov, through the Foundation series.

What about you? What are you reading?

This week’s blog challenge is:

Blog about what you are reading, what you like to read, and why.

Reading is critical to opening our mind, and giving our mind a rest. It’s also important as it provides you an opportunity to study various writing forms and styles.

So share with us via your blog what you are reading. You can share your favorite authors or books, or stories about what you’ve read and why.

These are published weekly and are an attempt to kick your blogging ass. They serve to challenge your thinking and efforts in blogging and blog writing. To participate, start challenging yourself now. Today. Go for it.

Past Blog Challenges


Site Search Tags: , , , , , , ,

Feed on Lorelle on WordPress Subscribe Feedburner iconVia Feedburner Subscribe by Email
Copyright Lorelle VanFossen, the author of Blogging Tips, What Bloggers Won't Tell You About Blogging.

12 Comments

  1. Posted February 6, 2008 at 12:01 pm | Permalink

    Cool. Thanks for the inspiration. Posted my answer to http://bpende.livejournal.com

  2. Posted February 6, 2008 at 1:29 pm | Permalink

    this is some interesting challenge. But What should we done after we have written the our post for the challenge? Should we post links to theme here? Wat is next? Do you write about the winner? Sorry but i can’t finde information about this.

  3. Posted February 6, 2008 at 3:09 pm | Permalink

    @ shuron:

    This is not a contest. It is a challenge. The reward is in the doing.

    To link back here, if you want, put a link to this post in your post. The blogging software should take care of the rest. If it doesn’t, then you can talk about your post and leave a link in the comments.

  4. thejchutchins
    Posted February 8, 2008 at 11:24 am | Permalink

    Thanks for the inspiration, Lorelle!

    http://tinyurl.com/3ay64j

    –J.C.

  5. Posted February 8, 2008 at 9:09 pm | Permalink

    Thanks for a challenge I could really sink my teeth into, Lorelle. Actually, now that I think of it, it really wasn’t all that challenging to write about what I’m reading; I should probably have picked a challenge that’s not so much in line with what I normally write about on my blog.

    Whatever you’ve got for us next, I’m in, even (or especially) if it’s out of my normal comfort zone. Bring it on!

  6. Posted February 9, 2008 at 4:20 am | Permalink

    Ok, I think i get it. Thank you for answering.

  7. Posted February 13, 2008 at 7:49 am | Permalink

    I started reading Terry Pratchett about a year ago because of a hardback copy of “Thud” I picked up off of the bargain table. Great entertainment – I’ve gone through about half of them since then.

  8. Posted February 14, 2008 at 4:21 pm | Permalink

    What I am currently reading:

    Ajax Security
    Atlas Shrugged
    Five Families

    I wrote about the books I had read in a blog post from last month as well here:

    A Day in the Life of a Paranoid Website Administrator

  9. Posted April 8, 2008 at 9:20 am | Permalink

    Well I am sooooo tardy, but I do want to play! I have posted my current reads today on Loosely Speaking.

    I am perplexed at the relatively short comment list. Can one infer that bloggers don’t read books (I am guessing that’s Lorelle on WordPress’s largest audience)??

  10. Posted April 8, 2008 at 10:06 am | Permalink

    @ Katie Baird:

    My blog challenges aren’t meant to encourage comments. They are meant to encourage content – on your blog not mine. 😀 Which it looks like you’ve done a great job with!

  11. Posted April 25, 2008 at 6:31 pm | Permalink

    It’s always the journey that counts…not the destination.

  12. Posted September 16, 2011 at 5:24 am | Permalink

    Hey,

    This is the first time I have read a Blog Challenge. Quite interesting. I want to reread Summer’s End by Danielle Steel. I will read it now and post about it:)

    Thanks


7 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] Lorelle van Fossen issued another of her blog challenges earlier this week: Blog about what you are reading, what you like to read, and why. I hesitated to […]

  2. […] Lorelle’s post (well known by the blogcom for her tips about blogging) I take the challenge, and this the book […]

  3. […] post is a response to Lorelle’s latest Blog Challenge: Whatcha Reading? Blog about what you are reading, what you like to read, and why. Blogging friends, I challenge you […]

  4. […] has posted a blog challenge to write about what we are reading right now. Lorelle’s post was actually posted early, a week or so back, due to a glitch, but I have […]

  5. […] So what am I reading now? […]

  6. […] inquiry was originally posed by Lorelle on WordPress almost two months ago, but I just found it there today and, as a tip of the hat to Lorelle, would […]

  7. […] post is a response to Lorelle’s latest Blog Challenge: Whatcha Reading? Blog about what you are reading, what you like to read, and why. Blogging friends, I challenge you […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*