Skip navigation

I’ve learned that I wanted to be a campaign blogger

By

My previous guest posts here on Lorelle On WordPress revolved around what I’ve learned since I started blogging:

And today, I’m going to tell you that I’ve learned that I wanted to be a campaign blogger *rolls eyes*

It all started when I blogged about a newborn baby with complex congenital heart disease and a teenager with acute myeloid leukaemia. That particular post did not generate much discussion in terms of comments but the satisfaction I felt was indescribable. I did not know how much my post would influence the baby and the teenager but I knew that I had done whatever I could at that point in time — to raise and spread awareness about them and their diseases.

Then I realized that I enjoyed doing it. I enjoyed spreading awareness on issues that needed the attention, and I enjoyed sharing with my readers the many ways that they could help the needy. And over time, that particular post grew into a category by itself and then a website by its own!

I recently participated in Blogathon 2007 and raised 810 USD for a Malaysian charity, . But that would not be possible without the generous and continuous support given by my local and foreign blogger friends. During the non-stop 24-Blogathon-hours, I introduced the charity I was representing, I shared my personal experiences with people with disabilities and I also interviewed some bloggers with disabilities and highlighted some issues that they face, and what the general public can do to make lives easier for them.

Somebody told me that my Blogathon posts were too “intense” and that people won’t be reading them but I thought I did enough to highlight the charity I was representing, as well as the plight of people with disabilities. I have learned a lot about disabilities during the days I spent researching the issue, and my participation in the Blogathon has also inspired me to do more. It doesn’t matter to me whether people would read those posts now because I know that someday, somebody would be researching about it and would stumble upon those posts.

Come 15 September 2007, I will be launching a month-long blogging campaign on environment-related issues in conjunction with . Like I’ve mentioned, I will NOT be blogging about serious environmental issues every day for a month, but I will be highlighting issues relating to the environment that we are all a part of, and what we can do to reduce the stress we are causing to the earth. I will be blogging a little about global warming, pollution, the excessive use of plastic bags and other issues that I think are important.

While I understand that other bloggers may not share the same sentiments that I have for charity and the environment, I would like to see myself as not just another blogger, but a blogger who is determined to make a difference in the world we live in, not just for you and me, but also for our future generations.

So if you have a campaign you’d like to highlight, please let me know. It wouldn’t hurt to have a campaign blogger blog about it, would it? 🙂


Pelf, the author of , is a grad-student who is trying to save the turtles, the environment and humankind. Charity, conservation and volunteerism are things that are very close to her heart. She would be launching a month-long blogging campaign on environment-related issues in conjunction with Blog Action Day. You may subscribe to The Giving Hands via the RSS Feed.

7 Comments

  1. Posted August 26, 2007 at 1:39 pm | Permalink

    Pelf, this is so exciting. I’m curious where you came up with the term “campaign blogger”, since it is a term I associate with politics, and you are doing more than covering politics. You are changing lives. In more ways than one.

  2. Posted August 26, 2007 at 9:46 pm | Permalink

    That is a great idea. I would love to be involved with this and help in ANY way.

  3. Posted August 26, 2007 at 11:27 pm | Permalink

    Thank you for the term “campaign blogger” since I have discovered much of the same about my blogging activities but lacked the descriptive term.

    It is difficult to express the thrill and satisfaction of campaign blogging. You have done a great job in elucidating the attraction.

    It can become an addiction. I recommend it.

  4. Posted August 27, 2007 at 9:33 am | Permalink

    Congratulations on finding your niche!

  5. Posted August 27, 2007 at 9:47 am | Permalink

    I am a Type 2 diabetic and on Mondays my only post to my blog is about diabetes and my Google Reader shared items is about diabetes. Sure, I don’t get many comments, but it’s out there and if one person reads it one week and learns something to prevent this disease in their life, that’s what is important.

  6. Posted August 27, 2007 at 9:05 pm | Permalink

    Lorelle: I’m not at all surprised that the term “campaign blogger” is more often than not associated with politics, LOL. But I don’t do politics, if you’ve noticed. I don’t do politics on my blog, and I don’t do politics as a part-time reporter in a local English daily as well. But yeah, I love writing about the community, not because it brings me fame, but simply because I can 🙂

    Carl: I’m glad you find this “a great idea”. Perhaps we should talk? 🙂

    Jay: You are so right when you said, “It is difficult to express the thrill and satisfaction of campaign blogging.” It just feel great, knowing that you have done something that could touch at least ONE life. And I just love that feeling..

    J.T.: Thank you very much! It took me a while to realize that I have a “hidden niche” 🙂

    Jo: Yes, Jo, what is important is that the message gets across, and the fact that one day (even a few years down the road), somebody will read what we write and benefit from it 🙂

  7. Posted January 6, 2008 at 6:14 pm | Permalink

    What’s the campaign on the horizon, Pelf?


6 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] Pelf Nyok realized that after blogging for a while, she wanted to change lives with her blog. The reward for her was not in the numbers. It was in the changing of lives. It all […]

  2. […] I’ve Learned That I Wanted to Be a Campaign Blogger: Pelf Nyok did a lot of self-evaluation on her blogging style and goals and discovered along the way that her passion lies down the “changing the world” path with her blogging. […]

  3. […] to get out of the backseat of life and become one of the first in a new trend of bloggers, a campaign blogger, a champion blogger who blogs to help others, tackling personal, medical, and charity issues in her […]

  4. […] I’ve Learned That I Wanted To Be A Campaign Blogger, Pelf Nyok wrote about how, after two years of blogging, she learned what her passion was by […]

  5. […] I’ve Learned That I Wanted to Be a Campaign Blogger […]

  6. […] I’ve Learned That I Wanted to Be a Campaign Blogger […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*