Skip navigation

Blog Design: The Nature of Fonts

While content sells your blog to its audience, the readability isn’t just based on the words, it’s also based upon the letters. The fonts you choose to design your website or blog can make or break your audience’s ability to read the words.

I’ll be talking a lot more about what fonts work best with blogs and why, but I thought I’d give you a taste of fonts on the web by learning a little more about fonts. Typography and the User Interface by Daniel Kuo is a great introduction to typography and fonts.

Enjoy!


Site Search Tags: , , , , , ,
Copyright Lorelle VanFossen

2 Comments

  1. Posted October 1, 2013 at 2:56 pm | Permalink

    Hi Lorelle!

    Your blog has been a major resource for me while starting my two blogs. I have a question about fonts. What size font and what font name do you think are great for blogs?

    Thank you,
    Mademoiselle

    • Posted October 2, 2013 at 11:23 am | Permalink

      Thank you.

      I typically start at 1em as the basefont size and go up and down from there using percentages not pixels to keep the font compliant with web standards for accessibility. As for font type, I always choose the most readable and the most common. I want my content readable no matter where or what it is being read on, so I go for the most common fonts. Readability will always win over funky and fun text.

      Thanks!


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] Blog Design: The Nature of Fonts […]

  2. […] Blog Design: The Nature of Fonts […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*