Skip navigation

5 Tips about Surviving on the Road with Lorelle

Hi!
It’s Liz Strauss. I’m hijacking Lorelle’s blog while she’s off in Pasadena being brilliant again. Lorelle and I were together at WordCamp Dallas. While we were there, I learned and confirmed a few things that I’d like to share.

I got home from WordCamp Dallas 2008 on Tuesday afternoon, and I’m still recovering. The event was fabulous! Charles Stricklin, the founder of WordCamp Dallas, and John Pozadzides pulled the event off with finesse and a true sense of style. Frisco, Texas will never be the same.

The content was rich. The speakers were well chosen, well prepared, and well versed in their subjects. The participation from the community was vibrant and energetic. Every minute was packed with value, making folks comment on how glad they were that they came. You’ll find great recaps and photos at Technosailor, NotaNiche.com, Williamedia, and paper graffiti to name a few.

But that’s not what tired me out.

It’s because I was on the road with THE Lorelle.

5 Tips about Surviving on the Road with Lorelle

Being on the road with Lorelle takes a life to a new level. I know. She and I did SOBCon07 together. Now we just did WordCamp Dallas 2008. It took this second event for me to confirm what I learned at the first. So I’m ready to share.

BTW, this will post long before Lorelle ever has a chance to read it. I thought you might enjoy getting to know her in a new way, from a new angle — as a travel companion and speaker-friend. Here are 5 things you should know to survive being on the road with Lorelle.

  1. Lorelle loves everyone — not just me, not just you — everyone. I’m sorry, but it’s so. It’s a little hard to get used to at first, but once you accept it, there’s abundance enough for the universe. Could be abundance enough for a universe or two. My tip is to take it all in and smile with the joy of it.
  2. Lorelle was made to have a microphone in her hand. She’s a natural teacher. It’s hard to find a topic Lorelle doesn’t have a story about. A life-long traveler, Lorelle is a rich store of information about the world and the people who live in it. Some of her escapades are unusual, and almost all of them are fun, especially the way she tells them. She’s great presenting information about business, coding, photography, education, or silly stories. My tip is to listen as much as you can.
  3. Lorelle makes the Internet look slow and lazy in comparison. From the minute she rises until she shuts down, this lady is going, doing, and making things happen. I’m surprised that sleep ever finds her. My tip is to move at your own pace beside her. Keeping up is out of the question. Don’t try to be Lorelle. She’s the only one.
  4. Lorelle loves the code, loves the language, loves the people, but can’t stand words that are misspelled. Makes her crazy, just a little bit. My tip is, if you have a spelling error in your past, to realize that you’re already busted.
  5. Lorelle wears clothes the same color as her blog. (Bet when she saw the title of this post, she was waiting for me to say that.) She didn’t realize at SOBCon last year that she had dressed in the same shades as Lorelle on WordPress. But at WordCamp, she made it a point to bring something of the same color. I think it makes a fabulous trademark for her. She looks great in that teal shade. My tip is to let her know how nice she really does look in that color.

Lorelle is a brilliant package of brains, heart, and gratitude all rolled up in a unique, larger than life person, who once you get to meet her, you’ll never forget. You might never get a chance to be on the road with her, but know this, the universe is better because there’s a Lorelle in it.

I’m proud to have her as a friend.

Next month we’ll be doing SOBCon08. I’ll let you know if I learn more tips while we’re there.

What tips do you have about surviving on the Internet with Lorelle?

— Liz Strauss
Founder of SOBCon and author of Successful-Blog.

25 Comments

  1. Posted April 3, 2008 at 9:13 pm | Permalink

    Lorelle’s presentation was amazing and I hope she comes back next year. I’m gonna need her to tell us the same stuff again next year so I can soak up more of the presentation and leech off more of her great energy. I am already improving my speed at blogging thanks to her tips and always keeping your recommendations at hand when making sure I welcome people to my humble corner of the internet and all the good conversation that goes along with those introductions and new friendships. All the presenters made a great impact on all of us, thanks.

  2. Posted April 4, 2008 at 12:10 am | Permalink

    very much true, there is a lot to learn from her, especially for us, young bloggers.

  3. Posted April 4, 2008 at 12:25 am | Permalink

    Anyone would kill to have such good friends. Congratulations Liz for being such a friend. Lorelle is lucky. Thank you, Liz, for sharing your experience with us!

  4. Posted April 4, 2008 at 3:21 am | Permalink

    Thank you Liz. You confirm what I suspected. I’ve just received my copy of “Blogging Tips”, autographed, mailed and delivered just weeks after I ordered it. I’m currently in the Land of Aaargh! (also known as Argentina)where that sort of thing never happens. This site is the most useful of all, specially for a nitwit net newt like me, and yes, it does have a great colour scheme. I look forward to hearing more about WorPress 2.5: I’m not updating my old blog until she starts posting on that but I did start a new experimental one under 2.5 ans so far, it is living up to the hoopla (I look forward to some guidance on upgrading). And to SOBCon08 of course.

  5. Posted April 4, 2008 at 5:49 am | Permalink

    Hi William!
    I think it’s a good bet that you’ll be seeing more of Lorelle. WordCamp was a pleasure to be part of and your write up delivered the spirit fully to those who didn’t have a chance to be there!

    Thanks for your kind words. 🙂

  6. Posted April 4, 2008 at 5:51 am | Permalink

    Hi theWizard!
    Lorelle and I both have a special place for new bloggers with heart! We want you to have all that you need. You make the blogosphere better. Keep blogging your passion. Keep learning. Keep you in your blog. 🙂

  7. Posted April 4, 2008 at 5:52 am | Permalink

    Hey Alex!
    Thank you for the encouragement. I can’t wait to see what Lorelle has to say about this. 🙂

  8. Posted April 4, 2008 at 5:54 am | Permalink

    Hi Peter!
    You’ve chosen a great plan. Lorelle will keep an eye out for possible pitfalls and great features to take advantage of. She’s so good at talking about both. Thanks for taking the time to leave such a fun comment filled with useful thoughts.

  9. Posted April 4, 2008 at 7:20 am | Permalink

    Lorelle’s energy levels are AMAZING. I wish I could bottle some of it for the days that I have trouble waking up in the morning.

    I could really tell from her presentation that she really loves what she’s doing. The same goes for you, Liz–you guys are an inspiration to me when I sit down at the keyboard. You both made me remember why I blog…because I love writing! No matter how much my professional life (also writing) drags me down, I won’t let myself forget that again.

    I’m color-coordinated to my blog today, too! I guess I’m going to have to buy more bright pink if I am to follow in Lorelle’s footsteps. 😉

  10. Posted April 4, 2008 at 7:20 am | Permalink

    If I may inject two more into the equation:

    1) Lorelle is opinionated and not ashamed of it. She will express her opinion whenever and wherever to whoever. She is scared of no one or no thing when she has something on her mind.
    2) Thirty seconds in her presence will have roughly the same effect on your body as a triple shot of espresso. Get ready for a Lorelle high!

    Just my two to the list. I loved every minute I spent with her but I don’t think anyone is truly prepared for the “Lorelle Experience”.

    Liz & Lorelle, thank you both so much for helping make my first conference so much fun!

  11. Posted April 4, 2008 at 7:46 am | Permalink

    Thank you so much Liz, for writing this post. It’s good in a way to learn about Lorelle from an other’s point of view. Instead of just reading her words all the time.
    I’ve been reading this blog on a more or less “daily basis” for more than half a year now. But actually this is the first time I dare to comment… Anyway, thanks to the both of you for all the help you give to us new-comers of the blogging world.

  12. Posted April 4, 2008 at 9:56 am | Permalink

    Liz,

    Thank you for posting this today. It really made Lorelle more real to me. I am new to this blog and have only done minimal blogging over the last few years. That is about to change though. When I found Lorelle’s blog and found instant inspiration. Your insights today have magnified that. Thank you so much for sharing.
    🙂

  13. Posted April 4, 2008 at 10:28 am | Permalink

    Liz,

    I’ve learned a lot of WP tips here in Lorelle’s blog. I’m just 2 cities away from Pasadena which is Monterey Park (best known for Asian food). I don’t know Lorelle’ll be staying in Pasadena and if she’s a flower lover, but there is a Wistaria festival going on at Sierra Madre which is pretty close by. Info at http://www.sierramadrenews.net/wistaria.htm. They’re century old Wistarias that are in spectacular bloom right now.

    I should check anyone who’s wearing the blog’s theme color.

  14. Posted April 4, 2008 at 12:55 pm | Permalink

    Jessica!
    Thank you! Lorelle and I both love your blog. Knowing that what we do has an effect makes it worth all of the work, but you know that already.

    Yeah, if you’re dressing like your blog, you’re on your way to Lorelle stardom, I think. 🙂

  15. Posted April 4, 2008 at 12:57 pm | Permalink

    Hi Jonathan!
    Good on you for adding two more! I very much agree with those you chose to add.

    I enjoyed having you there to help “balance” the Lorelle effect. She leaves a wake of energy wherever she goes. A calm presence like yours is a nice shelter. 🙂

    I’m so smiling while I write this thinking about both of you.

  16. Posted April 4, 2008 at 12:59 pm | Permalink

    Hi Feanare!
    What a wonderful thought that you would write your first comment on this post. How cool is that?!!

    I’m delighted that a glimpse into my friend made things a little friendlier in that way for you.

    She’s wonderful and will be delighted to see that you’ve left word that you’re here. We both love new bloggers so.

  17. Posted April 4, 2008 at 1:02 pm | Permalink

    Hi Rachel,
    I can see why you find Lorelle inspiring. Hope you see that you are as well.

    It’s always inspiring to hear about someone who’s decide to start back blogging again no stops. It makes me want to write another blog post. Thank you for saying so.

  18. Posted April 4, 2008 at 1:04 pm | Permalink

    George,
    I have no idea where Lorelle is staying. I just know that she’s at the other end of my phone. Probably just as well, because she doesn’t stay in one play very long.

    Looking out for that blog-shaded outfit is good idea. Listening for an authoritative voice filled with joy is another.

  19. Posted April 4, 2008 at 1:26 pm | Permalink

    I’ve only met Lorelle once, at last year’s SOBCon. But I could instantly tell that here was a fireball of energy. It’s no accident that Lorelle continually posts circles around the rest of us.

    Thanks for hijacking this space, Liz!

  20. Posted April 4, 2008 at 2:34 pm | Permalink

    I was at WordCamp Dallas. Lorelle was a joy. She was everywhere a microphone needed to be. Her knowledge has helped me improve my blog. I enjoyed your presentation, Liz. Charles and John did an excellent job.

    My mind almost exploded with all of the knowledge. I had never been to anything like this and had no idea what to expect but it was all positive. Woopra is awesome!

  21. Posted April 4, 2008 at 4:27 pm | Permalink

    George,
    I have no idea where Lorelle is staying. I just know that she’s at the other end of my phone. Probably just as well, because she doesn’t stay in one play very long.

    Looking out for that blog-shaded outfit is good idea. Listening for an authoritative voice filled with joy is another.

  22. Posted April 5, 2008 at 7:12 am | Permalink

    Hi Easton!
    Yeah, it was fun to see you and Lorelle together at SOBCon. I swear, if we weren’t both sitting down, her energy could have knocked us both over!

  23. Posted April 5, 2008 at 7:13 am | Permalink

    Hi Rick!
    She is everywhere and could cover the world with a microphone! WordCamp was a great experience for all of us. You helped make it that way as much as anyone!

  24. Posted April 5, 2008 at 4:03 pm | Permalink

    Wow! I’m out of commission (and Internet access) for a couple days and some raging lunatic takes over my blog and has the guts to say only nice things about me! Sheesh. Here, Liz had a chance to tell you all the bad things about me. Trust her never to take advantage of a good opportunity. 😀

    I’m overwhelmed and humbled. As usual. Thanks, Liz, for keeping my blog alive as I floundered through meetings and airports without free WIFI. And for the incredibly kind things you said.

    And everyone! Wow! I really appreciate it. It’s been a very long month as I’ve gone from conference and meeting to conference and meeting. I loved meeting everyone at WordCamp Dallas and in Pasadena at the ADEC conference, and everywhere I go. But I have to admit, WordPressers are the best!

    Thanks. I’m just going to soak all of this wonderfulness in. I love having bloggy friends. They are the BEST!

  25. Posted April 5, 2008 at 8:44 pm | Permalink

    Oh Lorelle,
    You’re so silly. 🙂


6 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] the conference, the first person we happened on was Lorelle VanFossen. She’s zany, brilliant, but down to earth and that introduction set the tone for what would be a valuable learning experience. You can watch […]

  2. […] you hijack my blog? Maybe you could write five things people don’t know about me, like I wrote 5 Tips about Surviving on the Road with Lorelle that one […]

  3. […] the conference, the first person we happened on was Lorelle VanFossen. She’s zany, brilliant, but down to earth and that introduction set the tone for what would be a valuable learning experience. You can watch […]

  4. […] 5 Tips about Surviving on the Road with Lorelle […]

  5. […] 5 Tips about Surviving on the Road with Lorelle […]

  6. […] 5 Tips about Surviving on the Road with Lorelle […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*