Skip navigation

Weekly Digest: Lorelle at WordCamp Israel – Not Much Else. You?

Shalom from Israel! I’m in Tel Aviv for WordCamp Israel on October 25, 2007, which was a resounding success, and catching up with good friends and good food.

This is the from . To subscribe to the category of , you can subscribe by the RSS - Lorelle on WordPress Weekly Digest Category FeedWeekly Digest feed or by email with the Weekly Digest Email Subscription to stay up to date on what is happening in Lorelle’s world of WordPress and blogging.

The last issue of my weekly digest was Weekly Digest: Lorelle in Israel for WordCamp Israel, Blog Struggles Article Series, Blog Disclaimers, and More.

What’s Happening with Lorelle on WordPress

While I’ve been in meetings and having fun in Israel, my blog has still been working for me:

Lorelle’s News

Lorelle at WordCamp Israel: WordCamp Israel in Tel Aviv (English) was fantastic. More than 200 people showed up, and even though the schedule quickly dropped behind, WordPress fans stayed through the whole day, determined to learn more about how WordPress works and how to make WordPress work for them. I met the most incredible people and will be talking more about this soon. Fan-tas-tic! What incredible energy and determination to get their voices hear on subjects that literally cover the map!

Photos of the event have been uploaded to Flickr if you want a peak at the fun.

Some other coverage of WordCamp Israel and my participation includes:

Lorelle at WordCamp 2007: John Pozadizes, the filmmaker behind the videos taken at WordCamp 2007, says that my program, Kicking Ass Content Connection, has been viewed over 54,000 times so far. WOW! For a conference of about 400 people, that’s an amazing reach. Wow!

Podcast Interview with Kfir Pravda: I did a wonderful podcast interview with Kfir Pravda of Media, Technology, and Rebel Filmmaking which will be out soon. We sat in his studio in Ra’anna, Israel, and had a great time talking about blog conversation, WordPress, tips, techniques, business blogging, and everything. Thanks for a wonderful day, Kfir!

American Business Women’s Association Regional Conference in Seattle SOLD OUT: The regional conference is sold out and features me as keynote speaker in Seattle on November 3, 2007. The response was so great, they are working to add a full workshop in the early Spring next year as a scholarship fundraiser for working women who want to further their education. Exciting stuff.

Blogger and Podcaster Magazine: The current issue of Blogger and Podcaster Magazine features an article I’ve written on the mistakes and overlooked tips that I’ve found some veteran and top notch bloggers overlook, helping you to learn how to do these invaluable things on your blog to help your SEO, accessibility and web standards, and increase your readership and traffic. Next month’s issue is on creating a blogging editorial calendar to help you find, build, and plan your blog’s content, with another one coming in a future issue on blog writing tips and how to improve your blog writing skills.

Blogging Tips: What Bloggers Won’t Tell You About Blogging

Blogging Tips - book cover, copyright Lorelle VanFossenI will be traveling extensively for the next couple months on behalf of my popular book, “Blogging Tips: What Bloggers Won’t Tell You About Blogging”, and the orders are coming in faster than ever. Amazing.

If you will be attending one of the events, workshops, and programs where I’m speaking, you can buy your own copy and save some postage and handling. If you want your own copy now, you can order it still at the introductory price, you can order it from SplashPress or the new Blog Herald Bookstore.

For more information on the book, see the original announcement and a recent update with reviews and other information, as well as the Blogging Tips Book official page.

Most Popular Articles on Lorelle on WordPress

The topic of tags in the new version of WordPress, and the article I wrote on WordPress 2.3 Tag News, and many other articles on tags and categories, are getting a lot of attention lately as people try to figure this tag thing out.

I’m very thrilled that my article series on Blog Struggles: The Blog Focus, just one of the many posts I’ll be writing on Blog Struggles over the next year, is getting a lot of attention as people really are ready to clean up their blog act and get more focused, now that they see the value in having a blog focus and niche.

The most popular posts on Lorelle on WordPress these past few weeks were:

Nice Things Said About Lorelle

I was incredibly humbled by the number of people at WordCamp Israel familiar with my blog. Yes, I was there as the “celebrity blogger” (their words, not mine) but still! When you blog in English and are attending a forum or conference in another language, where many of the attendee are blogging in their language, it’s odd to think your blog is known. I was very humbled and loved talking to everyone about WordPress and blogging. Much thanks to all for letting me part of the program.

The beautiful Blonde 2.0 blogged about my talk at WordCamp Israel and I agree with her points totally.

LingaLinga asks, “Do you know Lorelle?”, saying kind things about the work I’ve done to help bloggers on WordPress.com. Thank you! I do my best.

I’m always so delighted when people get the help they need on my blog here. That’s the whole purpose of it. I don’t need thanks nor recognition, but when it comes from delightful sources such as the article by Reviews And Ramblings Around The Blogsphere! in Creating WordPress Blog-My Experience, written by someone to whom English is not a native language, delights me to no end. Simple thanks, that’s the best kind.

How do you overcome blogger’s block?, by Pelf on Interesting Observations, offers a solution for overcoming blogger’s block, the inability to come up with anything original to blog about: Accept a Blog Challenge from Lorelle. Thanks for the promotion, Pelf, and it’s true. You’ve got to challenge your blogging spirit to stay on top of the game.

Danielle of Modern Musings wrote Transferred Thinkers and Delayed Awards Ceremony, her version of the popular meme and bloggers award to truly honor those bloggers who really think before they blog. I was honored with this last February, and it was delightful to be honored by Danielle as one she considers a thinking blogger. Thanks!

Blasts From the Past

This issue, I thought I’d reach back into the nine months of blogging on the to see what blasts from the past I’ve written there to tickle your fancy:

Blog Herald Columns

Recent articles on the included:

Some recent weekly WordPress Wednesday News reports included:

Lorelle’s Linkworthy Links

As I crawled through the web recently, I ran across some interesting posts and articles you should check out:


This is the of .
RSS - Lorelle on WordPress Weekly Digest Category Feed Subscribe to Lorelle on WordPress Weekly Digest Weekly Digest Email Subscription
Feed on Lorelle on WordPress Subscribe to Lorelle on WordPress Feedburner iconVia Feedburner Email Subscription
Copyright Protected and Reserved – If you are reading this post outside of your feed reader or Lorelle on WordPress, the usage of this content is a violation of copyright and the DMCA. Please report it immediately so action can be taken against them. If you are using this content illegally, and you know who you are, consider this a cease and desist order.
is a member of , , the 9Rules Network, and author of Blogging Tips, What Bloggers Won’t Tell You About Blogging.

2 Comments

  1. Posted October 27, 2007 at 5:40 am | Permalink

    Thanks a lot Lorelle – it was a fun, and funny day 🙂
    Hope to see you soon…

  2. Posted October 29, 2007 at 12:34 pm | Permalink

    I just realized I didn’t say thank you. So Thank You for coming to visit with us. Thank You for sharing your wonderful energy. Thank You for your inspiration and thank you, too, for the mention on your WCIsrael post and the comment on mine. Even after 10 hours, the day was over much too soon. 🙂 Hope to see you again next time.


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] there talked about the event, specifically about her, and surprise – got mentioned in her blog. See here. (go to the news section). I think my favorite, that really gives a good example of the point I […]

  2. […] 27th, 2007 · 2 Comments First of all a big hello to the folks who found their way here from Lorelle’s post on WordCamp Israel! My previous posts on WordCamp Israel are here and […]