Skip navigation

Blogging Challenge: Favorite or Worst Writing Boo Boos

I have a horrible habit. It’s not really a habit as much as a constant boo boo. I type exceptionally fast and frequently hit the space bar before the letters slip off my fingers, creating memorable combinations of letters to spell “the” like hte, t he, theo, and eth? I’m also quite renown for quiet and have a form for from once in a while.

This week’s is:

Blog your favorite or worst writing boo boo.

We’ve all done it, so it’s time to get your flaws out of the closet and come clean. I know that you’ve published a fantastic blog post, only to look at it a few days later to find that you misspelled a critical word that changed the entire meaning of the sentence, and possibly the point you wanted to make. Of course, I’ve never done this. 😀

As usual, blog about it on your blog with a trackback here, or if you don’t have a blog or it’s inappropriate on your blog, you can share your writing snafu here.

This is one of many I offer weekly to help kick your blogging ass. For more challenges, see the category.

Member of the 9Rules Blogging Network


Site Search Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Feed on Lorelle on WordPress Subscribe Feedburner iconVia Feedburner Subscribe by Email

Copyright Lorelle VanFossen, member of the 9Rules Network, and author of Blogging Tips, What Bloggers Won't Tell You About Blogging.

7 Comments

  1. Posted August 14, 2007 at 6:43 am | Permalink

    no full stops, people need to take a deep breath before read my posts 🙂

  2. Posted August 14, 2007 at 7:21 am | Permalink

    I’ll have to look through my site. I’m sure there are a few gaffes. The one that sticks out in my mind was “dicumentary” for “documentary,” which I didn’t notice for a full day and a half.

  3. Posted August 14, 2007 at 8:16 am | Permalink

    While not blog related, this is writing related. This reminds me of when Boeing released a memo to all employees that the proper name for the spot where the pilots sit when flying the plane would now officially be known as the “flight deck” rather than the politically incorrect “cockpit”. A Japanese customer group toured the plant and were very impressed with all the new advanced technology in the airplane navigation systems. They wrote a letter of thank you that described their pleasure in seeing the “flight dick”.

    AH – OOOO – GROAN. But that is the kind of thing that pops up in our writing – rarely intentional.

  4. Posted August 14, 2007 at 8:53 am | Permalink

    As I write about writing posting a big boo-boo is one of my greatest fears!

    My most likely slip up is with homonyms (words that sound the same) because they don’t get picked up in a spell-checker. Most recent ones have been “seemier” for “seamier” and the classic “you’re” for “your”.

    This was a good prompt to look back through previous posts though – and to follow my own advice and save, print and edit before posting.

    Thanks for the reminder, challenge and kick to the blogging ass!

    Joanna

  5. Posted August 14, 2007 at 1:01 pm | Permalink

    I’ve often found myself omitting the n’t off words like hasn’t, couldn’t, etc. or just writing “could” instead of “could not”. Talk about changing the meaning 🙂 Luckily, I have made that mistake in a while…

  6. Posted August 14, 2007 at 2:43 pm | Permalink

    ‘Voluptous’. There. I’m not even sure I’ve spelt it right. I almost always get it wrong, then have to spell-check it. It’s a shame really ‘cos I love the word! Damn.

  7. Posted August 15, 2007 at 5:12 pm | Permalink

    I’m from Newfoundland, Canada. People from my province refer to themselves, and are referred to by others, as “Newfies”. Some people consider it a derogatory term as it is often used in jokes similar to blond jokes. “Newfies” are seen by some others as uneducated, uncultured. I wrote a post indicating that I had developed a newly charged intolerance for the term, which of course sparked a debate surrounding its use.

    One comment arguing that it was ok to use the term, indicated that the term was “irreverent” when he meant to type “irrelevant”. His argument confused me until he corrected himself.

    Footnote: Gosh, it’s hard to type a response to this post… being so careful not to do a Freudian typo!


5 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A feast of learning

    Phew! There’s so much to learn out there! Here’s some great stuff for you to get your writing teeth into: 1. What we can learn from group writing projects Robert Hruzek (Middle Zone Musings) has just published the contributions to

  2. […] favorite WordPress blogger Lorelle wants to know about my favorite or worst blogging blunder in this week’s blogging challenge. At the moment, that would be some disparaging words levied against a character played by a […]

  3. […] favorite WordPress blogger Lorelle wants to know about my favorite or worst blogging blunder in this week’s blogging challenge. At the moment, that would be some disparaging words levied against a character played by a […]

  4. […] Favourite or worst writing boo boos […]

  5. […] Blogging Challenge: Favorite or Worst Writing Boo Boos […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*