Skip navigation

Google Feedfetcher Takes Control. Where is Bloglines?

Well, the developers behind have adjusted things and Google Reader and Google’s Personalized Homepages are now included in the WordPress.com blog feed stats, listed as Google Feedfetcher.

This certainly changes things. A lot.

As I discussed yesterday, feed statistics spiked all over the web as Google changed how their feeds were reported and discovered and Feedburner started reporting Google stats. For the most part, people were thrilled and a little stunned, but everyone realized that things would settle down. It was nothing to get too excited about.

However, as I also mentioned yesterday, ProBlogger’s Darren Rowse noted that Bloglines wasn’t as much a contender in the feed reader wars as was believed, since they have been widely reported as being the favored blog feed reader.

Stand back, folks. Today’s stats on this blog are telling a totally new story.

Google Feedfetcher impacts WordPress.com blog feed reader stats CHARTAccording to this blog’s feed stats, this blog went from an average of 700 feed readers accessing the blog a day to over 1600. Yes, this number might settle down, but it is a huge spike.

Feed stats on WordPress.com blogs are monitored through the built-in feeds that WordPress.com offers.

I’ve also signed up this blog with Feedburner and those stats have nearly doubled in the past couple days. Between these two feed counters, do I have an accurate number on my blog’s feed stastics? Not really, but it’s a good estimate. I’ll have to study and watch these two sets of numbers a little more to determine how to judge them.

As for the most popular feed readers accessing this blog? Bloglines is not in sight anywhere…yet.

The top feed readers for today are:

Feed stats on WordPress.com blogs list Google FeedFetcher but not Bloglines - chart

  1. Google Feedfetcher – 67.7%
  2. Netvibes – 11.4%
  3. Web Browsers (misc) – 10.6%
  4. Other: 7.9%
  5. NetNewsWire – 0.6%

Rounding off the rest of the list of feed readers are BlogBridge, RSSOwl, JetBrains Omea, Lifera, FeedDemon, Apple Syndication, SharpReader, RSSBandit – all feed readers I mostly haven’t heard of.

Where is Bloglines?

I’ll keep monitoring this over the next few weeks to see how things level off and if Bloglines users are still watching my blog through their feed readers.

Are you getting similar statistics on your feed stats? What about those not on WordPress.com? What are you seeing?

This is still early days, folks, but it is definitely fun to watch how the race goes.


Site Search Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Copyright Lorelle VanFossen, member of the 9Rules Network Feed on Lorelle on WordPress Subscribe

Member of the 9Rules Blogging Network

12 Comments

  1. Posted February 19, 2007 at 9:18 pm | Permalink

    Are you getting similar statistics on your feed stats? What about those not on WordPress.com? What are you seeing?

    My blog only has a small amount of subscribers, and the stats :

    Feedfetcher and Bloglines 2%, Google Desktop 9%, Not identified 5%, Other reader 12%, Firefox live bookmarks 66% lol

  2. Posted February 19, 2007 at 9:23 pm | Permalink

    Bloglines still accounts for 25% of my feed subscribers though Google Feed Reader accounts for 29%. Mind you I only have 100 or so subscribers so that really isn’t much to go on in terms of sampling.

  3. Posted February 19, 2007 at 10:42 pm | Permalink

    It does sound like something is up with those feed stats. I know from personal experience that a lot of people have switched to Google Reader from Bloglines over the past six months, but I doubt that figure is 100%! I can just remember a few months back reading blog articles everywhere talking about switching from Bloglines to Reader, and once I tried it, I had the same revelations that most other people had.

  4. Posted February 20, 2007 at 4:07 am | Permalink

    FeedBurner reports that Bloglines makes up 33% of my subscribers, but Google only 25%.

  5. Posted February 20, 2007 at 5:36 am | Permalink

    Bloglines hasn’t grabbed my feed for a while. It’s been almost a week and due to that it’s dropped off my stats. I assume you have a similar situation.

  6. Posted February 20, 2007 at 6:17 am | Permalink

    My gut feeling is Netvibes is overcounted…

  7. Internet Monkey
    Posted February 20, 2007 at 8:12 am | Permalink

    As I’ve started writing about on my blog, I stopped using Google reader and have moved back to bloglines. I think with some effort, they can be number 1 again, but Google Reader is not the be all end all, it’s just Google and in terms of productivity, Bloglines has Greader beat.

  8. Posted February 20, 2007 at 9:47 am | Permalink

    I have more than 350 subscribers to my blog via bloglines (In fact I use bloglines myself), however I see no mention of bloglines in my Feedburner account. This is probably a problem on Bloglines side.

  9. Posted February 20, 2007 at 9:56 am | Permalink

    According to Feedburner, bloglines dropped off my account for awhile yesterday, maybe this is what happened to you. It was strange, I went from 500 to 750 subscribers, then back to 650 as bloglines dropped off, now back to 800 or so. You definitely have at least one reader via bloglines though (I use bloglines to read your blog), so it’s probably just a fluke.

    Anita 🙂

  10. Posted February 21, 2007 at 4:40 am | Permalink

    I read your site via Bloglines, so make that at least 2 readers from Bloglines. 🙂

    I have 1 subscriber to my site, and I am that subscriber, so I can’t help with that part. It does sound like a problem Bloglines, though.

    RagManX

  11. Posted February 21, 2007 at 4:35 pm | Permalink

    Hey Lorelle, how about the Dashboard from a WordPress.org installation? Do those fit in, at all? That’s how I noticed this article, heh.

  12. Posted March 4, 2007 at 5:35 am | Permalink

    Oh yes, I am subscribed to your feed via Bloglines, and yes, it’s picking up your feeds 🙂


4 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] Lorelle comenta que en sus estadísticas BlogLines ha desaparecido de la lista, dejando el control a Google Reader […]

  2. […] Lorelle On WordPress has some interesting information to share about Google Reader and how it is reporting feed […]

  3. […] avance Google Reader Publicado 20/02/07 Uncategorized A lo que comenta ayer Lorelle, ahora en WordPress.com ya toman en cuenta a Google Reader (técnicamente conocido como […]

  4. […] Google Feedfetcher Takes Control. Where is Bloglines? « Lorelle on WordPress WordPress.com found a 228% increase in readers now that Google reports their Reader subscriber numbers. (tags: Google Reader Feedfetcher statistics subscribers) […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*