Skip navigation

InfoRapid Multiple Files Search and Replace Across Multiple Files

While I was frantically working on importing my huge static HTML website into the WordPress database, I used several tools that made the process easier, and one of those tools was InfoRapid’s Search and Replace Freeware Utility.

While WordPress now has a bunch of wonderfully powerful import scripts that come with WordPress, there is still no simple or easy method to import static HTML files into the WordPress database. The challenge I had to overcome was to strip away all the HTML tags to leave just the core of the post title, content, etc., and then import all the text into a single file similar to the mt-import for importing into WordPress from Movable Type. InfoRapid’s Search and Replace Freeware Utility made the process so much easier.

The program will search through multiple files including text, html, php, WordPerfect, and Word, and search and replace any text element within the files. You can do a global search and replace, or have it pause and ask if this is what you want to replace during the process. It’s simple and easy to use, though I do with they would continue work on it, because it could be a bit easier to use. It was last updated in 2003, but it still works like a charm.

Inforapid multiple file search and replace freeware program

I used the program a lot during the import phase into the WordPress database, but I’ve found some other uses upon occasion that have really helped me.

During the import process, I could search for massive redundant code throughout the entire site, like the HTML tags of DOCTYPE, HTML, BODY, and specific blocks of layout tags. Within a few minutes, over a thousand HTML files had been searched and replaced throughout. Wow.

Before moving my website over to WordPress, I used InfoRapid to do massive search and replaces of code across my website’s HTML pages. That’s how changes got made to web pages in the old days when every page was just a page and not a page generated out of a database. If you wanted to change the CSS ID from “text” to “content”, you had to search and replace through multiple files in order to change every page on your website. Thank goodness for PHP and MySQL! And WordPress. Now, I just have to change one template file, not hundreds or thousands of files.

When we changed our website domain name, after many years of debate, InfoRapid again allowed us to plow through all our web files and change the name and links pain free. The same could apply to authors who write their books by chapter files rather than the whole book in one file. Decide to change the name of a character, you don’t have to open every file and make the change, just use InfoRapid Search and Replace to go through all the files and make the changes.

I’ve also used InfoRapid Search and Replace to find code in my PHP files. Cleaning up my 404 Page Not Found Errors, that come naturally with a major change in domain names as well as switching from static HTML to WordPress, I would find many link errors with text I couldn’t associate with a template file, plugin, or in the database. This happened a lot early on with links to graphics. I’d use Windows File Search to search for the text in the PHP files and come up blank sometimes. With InfoRapid Search and Replace, a file is a file is a file and it just digs in and finds the text for me when Windows couldn’t. Then I could easily fix the errant link and it would be gone from the 404 error list.

I’m sure you can come up with many uses for a search and replace program that searches and replaces across multiple files. I’m having trouble now trying to find any program that will allow search and replacing multiple lines within a single document like WordPerfect does. InfoRapid will, but it feels like overkill to only search through a single file. Any suggestions on a text editor that allows searching and replacing multiple lines of text?


Site Search Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Copyright Lorelle VanFossen

13 Comments

  1. Posted March 10, 2006 at 4:57 pm | Permalink

    hi i was just wondering if you could help me-i need to put one of those shout box’s on my wordpress site but i have no idea how to do it, also how do u get that blue picture at the end of each post? do u put it there as a image every time you post? or is it auto??

  2. Posted March 10, 2006 at 6:23 pm | Permalink

    A “shout box” is not available for inclusion in a WordPress.com blog. If you would like to use one on a full version WordPress blog, there are many helpful resources on the WordPress Codex, the online manual for WordPress users, and search for WordPress Plugins Shout Box for specific help on adding one.

    Also search the WordPress Support Forum as they have helped many people with this.

    I’m unfamiliar with these and have not used one. Sorry.

  3. kalico
    Posted June 20, 2006 at 12:09 am | Permalink

    Thanks for all the great info on importing to WP. I have a similarly huge project I’m working on, and I’ve been doing multiple file find/replace using Notepad++ which I like overall, but it lacks certain things I wanted — like multi-line support. I have always used WordPerfect, and took multi-line find/replace for granted. I had no idea it was so hard to find in a plain text editor. I did find Actual Search and Replace (http://www.divlocsoft.com/index.htm) which is a bit clumsy, but it does search across multiple lines and multiple files. I found it less intuitive than Notepad++, but it helped out a few times. I’m off to read your import instructions in detail now…..have a great day. 🙂

  4. Posted June 20, 2006 at 6:33 am | Permalink

    For single “page” content search and replace, Notepad++ does a great job with the ^P and ^T codes for replacing line breaks and tabs. However, as clumsy as InfoRapid’s Search and Replace Utility is, it is the only one I’ve found that will search and replace across MULTIPLE documents. That is the best part of that program.

  5. Varun
    Posted August 2, 2006 at 8:17 am | Permalink

    hi
    i need some help. i have about 400 MS word documents where i need to change the header and footers.

    Is there a utility that can pick each word file, extract header, replace some text in header with what I expect?

    I would appreciate some help

    thanks
    Varun

  6. Posted August 2, 2006 at 11:37 am | Permalink

    The utility highlighted in this article will do the job. InfoRapid’s Search and Replace Freeware Utility

  7. KOOL
    Posted January 19, 2007 at 4:23 pm | Permalink

    Hi there I want some help
    i want to search a specific word in word document and want replace it with another word using php. Plz help

  8. Posted January 19, 2007 at 4:35 pm | Permalink

    I don’t understand what you are asking for. Do you want to search through a WordPress document or Microsoft Word? See the help files on Word for information, but it’s basically EDIT > REPLACE from the menu bar.

    To search and replace within a WordPress blog, see Search and Replace in WordPress MySQL Database.

    This is a blog about WordPress and blogging. Please keep your comments and questions on topic. Thanks.

  9. Posted September 22, 2007 at 12:55 am | Permalink

    I would also recommend very good free program – Multiple File Search and Replace:
    http://www.multiplesearchreplace.com/

    It’s freeware and very easy to figure out.

  10. James Hill
    Posted August 7, 2008 at 3:38 am | Permalink

    I found this page after a web search for something to search and replace in multiple files for a particular job. However, after installing and running my first search (and being impressed by the program’s ability) I saw a big notice at the top of the results page warning that the program is NOT free for commercial use, but costs 25 Euro. I think you should mention that.

  11. Posted August 7, 2008 at 7:49 am | Permalink

    @ James Hill:

    If you are not using it for commercial use, then it is free. That is what that means. Are you using it to make money directly? No, you are using it for personal use, and it is free. I know it’s confusing. Using it on a business blog is still personal use as you are not using it as part of your consistent business tools that generate income.

    However, if you would like to donate money to cover their costs, I’m sure they would love it as it keeps their project going. It’s a great tool, isn’t it? 😀

  12. Ed
    Posted March 23, 2009 at 4:19 pm | Permalink

    THANK YOU!
    I was just able to make some major changes to my files in seconds! Awesome, awesome, awesome program!


7 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] InfoRapid Multiple Files Search and Replace Across Multiple Files […]

  2. […] Featured Windows Download: Search text across multiple files with Windows Grep – Lifehacker InfoRapid Multiple Files Search and Replace Across Multiple Files « Lorelle on WordPress Web BorG: CSS compatibility IE6, IE7, Firefox and others […]

  3. […] Software I used to depend upon that I haven’t touched in years. I used WordPerfect and InfoRapid freeware to search and replace across multiple text files. After Corel took over WordPerfect, it’s gone downhill for me. The last two upgrades of […]

  4. […] InfoRapid Multiple Files Search and Replace Across Multiple Files […]

  5. […] InfoRapid Multiple Files Search and Replace Across Multiple Files […]

  6. […] InfoRapid Multiple Files Search and Replace Across Multiple Files […]

  7. […] InfoRapid Multiple Files Search and Replace Across Multiple Files […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*