Skip navigation

Blog Exercises: Battling the Blue Funk

Blog Exercises on Lorelle on WordPress.My mother just sent an email saying she was in a funk. Ten minutes later I got a phone call from a friend asking to visit to help her get over the “winter funk – summer blues” – her words. I just got over my blue funk a couple weeks ago.

Funks are mini-depressions, short term experiences of the blues, down-in-the-mouths, sads, sighs, and woes. They can come from seasonal change, life experiences, procrastination, weather, change, or just because. Some sensitive people can watch a sad movie or television show or listen to sad music and find themselves feeling a bit sad over several days or weeks. This is more than dealing with self-doubt issues. It is a psychological state. The triggers are vast. The solution to escape the blue funk can be more challenging.

We all get the blues. Unfortunately, when your blog calls, these can feed the fuel for continued depression or turn you away from your cheery blog content and audience.

My ongoing article series, Blog Struggles, came out of a funk. I figured that if I was feeling blue about blogging, I wasn’t the only one. I wanted to share my thoughts so people would know they weren’t alone, and in turn, it would snap me out of it and get me on the right positive path.

It worked.

I’ve several family and friends suffering from clinical depression, a medical condition that goes beyond simple blue funk. There are times when depression as an illness or symptom of something worse requires medical treatment. I’m not talking about that. I’m talking about the normal highs and lows of a life lived well.

Something triggers these funks. If the something goes ignored, the mood persists.

We all have our ways of handling the blues. For me, a change of diet and exercise is the quickest cure. I learned a long time ago that do rather than wait gets me out of a funk faster than any other method. I change my diet to non-processed foods, sticking strictly to fruits and vegetables, take two short walks a day, and within 24-48 hours I’m mentally back on course. By then I have the energy and clear mind to focus on the things eating away at my spirit and resolve them.

Blog Exercise Task from Lorelle on WordPress.Your blog exercise today is to prepare for the blue funk.

You may be in it right now, it might be around the corner, or it might not happen for a year or two, but it happens.

There are many ways to deal with the blue funk. I can’t help you wish serious medical causes and issues. My job in these blog exercises is to help you deal with the issues in and around your blog, the things that are holding you back, stopping you, making you procrastinate, or making the process of blogging difficult or stressful. Blogging is fun. Let’s keep it that way by dealing with the things we can change.

  • Identify the triggers. Sometimes it is consistent, sometimes it is random. Something triggers these. If you can identify it, you can prepare for it and recognize it when it happens.
  • Make a plan to wallow. I believe that emotions deserve our respect. They also deserve a time limit. Wallow in the woes for a specific time period and set a deadline to deal with it. Check-in to see if you are done, add more time if you need, but set a serious deadline to get over it.
  • Make an escape plan. Look at what has retrieved your spirit from the abyss in the past. Prepare your plan to kick in when you are ready to rescue yourself.
  • Check in with friends. Your support network is critical to your success to shortening the blue funk as well as escaping. Be they online or in person, keep them informed and share your plans with them.
  • Make a plan for your blog. Prevent yourself from publishing if the blues may influence your published work negatively. Use posts from your backup collection to keep the energy going forward until you are ready to return to “normal” on your site.
  • Reward yourself. Breaking through the blue funk is hard work. It takes courage, commitment, and passion. Reward yourself when you succeed to remind yourself that there is good on the other side of the wall.

If you share this with your readers, include a hat tip link back to this post to create a trackback, or leave a properly formed link in the comments so participants can check out your blog exercise task.

Coming Soon! I’m working on a draft of the first six months of these blog exercises to release in July. Stay tuned for news.

You can find more Blog Exercises on . This is a year-long challenge to help you flex your blogging muscles.


Feed on Lorelle on WordPress Subscribe Feedburner iconVia Feedburner Subscribe by Email

Copyright Lorelle VanFossen.

4 Comments

  1. lessonsbyheart
    Posted June 8, 2013 at 7:56 am | Permalink

    Great advice. Thanks for sharing. I’ll be back the next time I’m blue!!!

    o/

    • Posted June 8, 2013 at 2:02 pm | Permalink

      Thanks.

      While it is fun to be clever about depression, it is also something not to mess around with when depression is a serious health issue. It’s important to know the difference and treat serious depression with respect.

      The blues for most are a temporary state, one that we all get and need to prepare for, finding a way to snap out of it faster as life is worth living and living well.

    • Posted June 8, 2013 at 7:34 pm | Permalink

      I could not agree with you more. I’ve been depressed to the point of attempting suicide – not once, but on several occasions. I do not every treat depression with indifference, but usually wade into someone’s mess to assist in whatever way the Lord leads.

      Learning how to get out of depression quickly is a good investment of one’s time. One way that I find highly effective is reaching out to others. It’s hard to become extremely introspective when I keep myself busy pouring into others’ lives (I volunteer time to a recovery program at our local mission). Knowing that I am contributing something of value to someone else keeps me from feeling like a “waste of space.”

      Thank you for adding your comments to what you stated in your post…and thanks for taking the time to reply.

      In Him,
      Tami
      \o/

    • Posted June 10, 2013 at 4:49 pm | Permalink

      Excellent example! Volunteering is a great way to get out and get social. Good for you.

      Thanks!


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] we keep our fears to ourselves, we often think we’re alone. This may lead to self-doubt and depression as we feel like we are alone, the only ones. Opening up your inner most thoughts to your audience […]

  2. […] Blog Exercises: Battling the Blue Funk […]

Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 19,726 other followers

