Skip navigation

Blog Exercises: Battling Self-Doubt

Blog Exercises on Lorelle on WordPress.Self-doubt happens to everyone, even bloggers. You are blogging away, full of inspiration, motivation, and energy, then wham! Something happens in your personal or professional life or you get hit upside the head by some bloggy or social media incident and your confidence is sucked away. Self-doubt moves in, and it doesn’t move in pretty.

We set great goals for ourselves, commitments like this Blog Exercises series – honestly, what was I thinking? Five days a week for a year? Tips to help you blog better! Really?

Yes. I used to publish 6 or more articles a day, so five a week is nothing. A slow down. Then why the sudden burst of self-doubt that anyone cares what I have to say about blogging or WordPress any more. Hasn’t it all been said? Who should care about my little site any more? Really, I’m not good enough.

Welcome to a peek inside of my brain. This doesn’t happen once in a while. Sometimes it happens multiple times in a single day. We all face our demons in different ways and on different schedules, but we all have them.

What do you do when your bloggy self faces self-doubt?

For me, prevention is the best protection.

Here are my tips.

  • Friends: Surround yourself with energetic and passionate folks. There is no better recipe for a positive attitude.
  • Get out and about: Socialize outside of your blogging world. Get your mind stimulated by things and people away from the web.
  • Feeds: I love my feed reader and sometimes it can be a great source for inspiration and motivation, keeping me busy and not thinking negative thoughts. Feeds, however, can also overwhelm, so use them judiciously if you tend to get whelmed easily.
  • Stay away from stats and analytics: Seriously. While you may think your blogging life depends upon the numbers, scorecards can be depressing. Traffic takes time and organic traffic, traffic led there by your dynamic energy and blog topics, can do more to generate traffic and community than number watching.
  • Focus on the goals not the feedback (comments): If I blogged for comments, I’d starve. It is critical to focus on the goals of your site and your purpose for blogging, not the comments and feedback. You may get a ton of comments, you might get two. Be careful becoming dependent upon the comments as not all posts require nor need comments. Think bigger picture.
  • Don’t listen to the naysayers: The world is filled with naysayers and pushers of negativity. Trust yourself to know what is right and stay away from the negative energy generators.
  • Exercise your body and your mind: Exercise stimulates the creativity and positive thinking juices that flow through your body. Step out of your chair and move around. Make exercise a regular part of your life and you will find your mood and energy lifting.
  • Resort to affirmations: When all else fails, I’m a fan of turning to affirmations, those quotes and sayings that motivate and inspire. Lately, I’ve been turning to Zen, Taoism, and even Confucius for those concise words that push me back on the right track. Everyone has their own sources of affirmations. Find yours and tap into it to straighten your own path.
  • Focus on the long term not short term: The narrower our perspective and vision, the less light that comes into our hearts and minds. Open your mind up to the big picture, the long term view of your site and its goals to stay on track.
  • Get a Physical: Negativism, lack of energy, depression, frustration – these are all part and parcel of blogging as well as work in general. These are also symptoms of a body out of balance or a medical condition. Get a physical annually, a check-up to make sure all the organs are in the right place, doing their job, and that all the natural chemicals are flowing as they should throughout your system. I’ve known people who blamed blogging for their mood when it turned out they had bigger physical problems. Get a check-up. Be sure you are blaming the right thing.

Blog Exercise Task from Lorelle on WordPress.Your blog exercise today is to set up a prevention plan for when the self-doubts hit you.

You may blog about it or just make a list and hang it somewhere prominent to remind you to stay on track when you slip and slide.

We all do it. Let’s help each other out within the blogging community to make this industry a happy workplace.

Remember to include a hat tip link back to this post to create a trackback, or leave a properly formed link in the comments so participants can check out your blog exercise task.

You can find more Blog Exercises on . This is a year-long challenge to help you flex your blogging muscles.


Feed on Lorelle on WordPress Subscribe Feedburner iconVia Feedburner Subscribe by Email

Copyright Lorelle VanFossen.

13 Comments

  1. Posted April 24, 2013 at 8:06 am | Permalink

    A helpful post, Lorelle. Timely for me. :)

  2. Posted April 24, 2013 at 8:18 am | Permalink

    I eagerly await your posts, Lorelle. I am a new blogger of only three months and I am starved for information about what I can do better, or different. You may have been blogging for years, but there are always newbies like me who come along and discover you and soak up every piece of advice you offer. I appreciate your hard work and dedication.

    • Posted April 24, 2013 at 10:27 am | Permalink

      Welcome and thank you.

      Three months. Wow. I can’t even remember back three months let alone my state of mind at three months into blogging. I feel like I’ve been doing this my whole life. LOL!

      Yet, I know how hard it is to start. Lucky you, there are tons of fellow bloggers offering tips and techniques to make this process easier. We beginners at the birth of online journaling truly trod where few had ever gone – at least virtually. For us, our mentors then were writers and publishers from hundreds and thousands of years ago who helped us find our way into this new publishing medium. Don’t forget them, the writers, diarists, journal writers, the people who risked their lives at times to record our history, the way we lived, the way we thought, the way we made our decisions, and lived with the decisions of others around us. Storytelling has been around as long as the voice, maybe even before, and this medium is no different.

      Find your story and share it with others, no campfire necessary.

      Welcome to the club of storytellers. We’re a proud bunch!

  3. Posted April 24, 2013 at 12:05 pm | Permalink

    Thank-you Lorelle. Thank-you so much. I read tons of your information and find it so helpful. This one today was perfect for me! I love my blog and love blogging and after 15 months of blogging, I have been feeling overwhelmed. These are all fabulous tips. It is people like you that help me understand the whole process much better. Thanks again.
    Have a fabulous day.
    Renee~

    • Posted April 24, 2013 at 1:45 pm | Permalink

      Always glad to help.

      Hey, what is making you feel overwhelmed specifically? I’m still collecting suggestions for these Blog Exercises, so let me know and we’ll tackle it together!

      Thanks!

    • Posted April 24, 2013 at 2:04 pm | Permalink

      Hi Lorelle, I still consider myself a ‘newbie’ and there is so much to learn. I have made errors a long the way and trying to go through my blog and correct what needs to be changed. One of the big ones for me is “Awards”. Please don’t get me wrong as I totally appreciate receiving awards, so much ‘homework’ that goes with them as I call it. I find I get an abundance of awards and am not able to keep up with doing up a post for them all. Any thoughts or opinions? I would love to hear what you have to say.
      I suppose I could just do like I have seen some bloggers do and put on my blog that I do not accept awards. Is there a right or wrong way to do this? Sorry, I am going on and on here.
      I find trying to put an Award Post together, it holds me back from being more creative on my blog.
      Thanks so much and hoping I made sense. Have a good afternoon.
      Renee.

    • Posted April 25, 2013 at 9:44 am | Permalink

      Awards are tough for me. Excellent point. I’ll add it to the Blog Exercises! Thanks!

    • Posted April 26, 2013 at 12:46 pm | Permalink

      Thank-you Lorelle. I look forward to reading your thoughts on Awards. Happy Friday. Renee :)

  4. Posted April 24, 2013 at 3:18 pm | Permalink

    Bravo!
    I adore this post, Lorelle. It’s full of insight, wisdom and actionable steps for us to take to prevent self doubt and the paralysis it can lead to.
    Thank you.

    • Posted April 25, 2013 at 9:38 am | Permalink

      Thank you, my friend. I know you have struggled with your own demons as I have, wondering why we put fingers to keyboard for the good of others we will never meet. Yet we keep going. We understand the bigger picture of live and respect the true definition of altruism and self-sacrifice. Thank you for all you do to battle back the self-doubt and keep plowing forward! You are one of the bright lights in my world for inspiration. Thank you!

  5. Posted April 25, 2013 at 3:52 am | Permalink

    A lot of this applies to many things in life — not just blogging. Thanks for the reminders!

    • Posted April 25, 2013 at 9:30 am | Permalink

      Indeed.

      Were your ears ringing last night? I was bragging on you to my students again in one of my college classes on WordPress. Another college course gets a dose of Renaissance Maria next week. :D Thank you for letting me spread your courage and faith to so many, my friend.

  6. Posted June 24, 2013 at 10:51 am | Permalink

    I’m curious about your affirmation with the help of oriental philosophy. Do you not find them easily in the western philosophy? It’s very interesting that some so called Confucius quotes in English are often alien to me, as I used to learn them directly in Chinese. Perhaps it’s ‘lost in translation’, or that translators translated what they thought Confucius might have said. Or that, people simply put words into Confucius’ mouth!

    I find engaging with ‘energetic and passionate folks’ tip very helpful. I felt sad as some friends thought I was wasting my time blogging — ‘Don’t you need to look after your family?” It’s not easy to get an understanding from all my friends, but when friends are encouraging and positive, the flow of energy will really transfer – here we’re talking about ‘energy’, the Chinese ‘qi’ 气!


7 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. [...] Blog Exercises: Battling Self-Doubt [...]

  2. […] to sad music and find themselves feeling a bit sad over several days or weeks. This is more than dealing with self-doubt issues. It is a psychological state. The triggers are vast. The solution to escape the blue funk can be […]

  3. […] we keep our fears to ourselves, we often think we’re alone. This may lead to self-doubt and depression as we feel like we are alone, the only ones. Opening up your inner most thoughts to […]

  4. […] Blog Exercises: Battling Self-Doubt […]

  5. […] positive reviews. When all your energy goes into one naysayer, you lose focus and courage, letting self-doubt become a distraction. Don’t forget that we also talked about what your blog would be like if […]

  6. […] Blog Exercises: Battling Self-Doubt […]

  7. […] Blog Exercises: Battling Self-Doubt […]

Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 19,729 other followers

