Skip navigation

When was the last time you read your own blog?

By Greg Balanko-Dickson

Often forgotten when writing for your blog is getting the word out and promoting it. Phil Gerbyshak (via Make It Great!) makes five points and states you should:

  • Post Often.
  • Join a Blog Network.
  • Sign your posts in the blog network
  • Comment on other's blogs using your URL and a valid email.
  • Write from your heart.

Inspiration for his post was via Guy Kawasaki and his Top 10 'How to Evangelize a Blog'. Both got me thinking and I was reminded how easy it is to be lazy (via Am I a Lazy Writer) and after writing forgetting to invest in evangelizing your posts.

Evangelizing Is Equally Important as Writing for Your Blog

When I had a web development business I always told my clients that they should invest an equal amount of money in internet marketing as they did building their website. The same is true with a blog, spend the same amount of time evangelizing your blog as you do writing for it.

If you got something worthwile to say then it is a respectable thing to promote it because then you get to help people and in the process increase your traffic, exposure, and meet new people. Who would've guessed? Hmm…
Now all I have to do is remember to Break My Mental Constipation and overcome complacency. That is the other problem with writing often, you might actually write some good stuff that will remind you what you need to be doing.

When was the last time you read your blog? I mean actually read it and go through the archives?

I know what I am going to be doing once I finish writing and evangelizing, I am going to read my blog. I wonder what I might find in the process?

20 Comments

  1. Posted April 23, 2006 at 11:07 am | Permalink

    This was a wonderful post, though it could take up my entire morning, by reading all the material on the links. I did read some of it–dynamic.

    Thank you.

    Shirley

  2. Posted April 23, 2006 at 10:29 pm | Permalink

    Hi Shirley: It is all about balance and doing a little bit everyday and then the task is not nearly as time consuming when broken down into small bites.

  3. Posted April 25, 2006 at 2:55 pm | Permalink

    I think one of the easiest, yet most effective ways to advertise yourself is to leave legitimate and well thought out comments on other users’ websites. If I don’t have the option of leaving a comment, I’ll make the effort to send that site owner an email. It creates connections that are much stronger than just marketing ties.

  4. Posted May 1, 2006 at 1:23 pm | Permalink

    I have searched far and wide for a good guide to blog promotion, and I am so pleased to have found your post! Here is succinct, quality advice and also links to other informative articles.

    After reading your advice to join a blog network, I set to finding some networks and found this great site which has dozens of links to blog directories and networks:

    lights.com/weblogs/directories.html

    I hope this may be helpful to other bloggers searching for methods of promotion!

  5. Posted May 8, 2006 at 3:58 pm | Permalink

    Thanks for the tips!!

  6. Posted May 13, 2006 at 10:28 pm | Permalink

    I agree with remotecontrol — it’s all about balance.

  7. Posted May 15, 2006 at 10:13 am | Permalink

    hello
    ive done most of it but doesnt wrk with me, ive gt a decent content on ma blog.. what do u suggest?

  8. Posted May 15, 2006 at 11:32 am | Permalink

    Luvarien,

    Not to be mean, but I took a look at your blog and barely understood anything about what you are talking about. Spelling is atrocious and grammar is, well, non-existent. Not to say that every blog should be written perfectly, but a bit of readability is taken for granted.

    I’m not sure what you are asking as I’m not totally understanding your question. Do you want to know why you have not been getting comments and how to rectify that? Or how to improve your content? Or how to promote your blog? Or why your blog promotion efforts are not working?

    My assumption is that you want to promote your blog and attract more comments. Until the readability of the blog is improved, shortcut phrases (like “u” for “you” and “wrk” for “work”) replaced with the full word to help readability and search engines to recognize words (they can’t read minds), and a concentrated effort to improve keyword usage in your writing, your blog will strike out with search engines and potential fans.

    In order to get found by search engines and included successfully in their page rankings, you need to have content and keywords that fit within their system. This means full words, not abbreviations, and proper spelling. In order to get comments, you need to inspire them, not assume people will comment.

    Does this answer your question? If not, please clarify so we can give you a better response.

  9. Posted May 19, 2006 at 2:17 am | Permalink

    Hello Lorelle!
    We must be thankful for people like you who take the time to help make us better!
    I can understand what you mean, and i have learnt something from your advice to Luvarien. To be atrociously honest about my blog, i would say i haven’t advertised it to anyone, except three friends of mine. They like it, but not to the point of commenting. I wonder why?

    I am open to criticism, and if anyone can show me the ‘right’ path to follow, i’m all ears ;)

  10. Posted May 19, 2006 at 7:02 am | Permalink

    In order to help you on the path, we have to know where you want to go. In other words, be more specific with your question, and be more specific with your blog. ;-)

    Greg’s advice is pretty clear. Get known, tell the world, and write from the heart with all the possible skill and grace you possibly can. Learn how search engines work and how to write with them in mind, and learn as much as you can about writing and blogging.

    In order to get comments, you need to inspire them to comment. I took a quick glance at your blog and there is nothing there that motivates me to comment. Nothing that says “What do you think?” or “I’d like your opinion.” In order to get some interaction, you need to interact with your audience.

    I don’t have the numbers, but I’d have to say that while I get more comments on this blog than on my other ones, mostly because I work hard on encouraging comments, the rate-of-return of the audience to comments is way before 3%. I’ll have to do some number crunching to figure out the actual average, and some weeks it is less than 1%, but I know that it is WAY below 1% on my other blogs. So to get an audience that wants to leave a comment, you either have to work the numbers by increasing your traffic, therefore the odds of getting a comment, or write to inspire comments.

    And learn, learn, learn, learn, and write, write, and write your best. Whatever and however it is. Good luck.

  11. Posted May 21, 2006 at 2:15 am | Permalink

    Thank you very much for your feedback lorelle. I will certainly take your advice and make some changes. Good day!

  12. Kristine
    Posted May 26, 2006 at 5:56 am | Permalink

    [Editor's Note: This is a poem similar to Poetic Responses to Blogs I Read", possibly the first draft of the poem.]

    Okeedoughkee!
    be myself
    and learn a little
    during those moments when
    my brain is melting.
    Imagine
    if you will…
    a pine tree, somewhere in…
    ohhh, say…
    Alaska.
    “No…NOOOOOO!”
    Don’t you dare run
    those pipes through my roots!”.
    Somewhere on a mountain
    top a Ranger,
    with binoculars in hand
    calls to his buddy.
    “Hey!…come look
    at that tree over there!
    There’s a bunch of grizzlies
    surrounding it!”
    His buddy, Tom Trelover runs over,
    being Grizzlies are his favorite
    North American animal,
    tripod and camera bag in hand.
    “Amazing, do you think President Bush
    would believe this? Or would he say
    it’s a bunch from Green Peace in costume again?”

    Okeedoughkee.
    I remember the first bear
    I ever sculpted and
    how I smashed it to smithereens.
    Recovery is such a bitch.

    This is so very new,
    and I am sooo illiterate
    that it’s pathetic.
    Read, learn, read, practice,
    learn by my mistakes…
    earn, practice, read,
    do…do…do…do.
    Check my site,
    lend me some pointers,
    I know what I want
    and it’s one big mess,
    little organization…
    thank you.

    kristine1983mcanelly

  13. Posted July 6, 2006 at 10:24 am | Permalink

    As a new user to wordpress, it was helpful to understand how to help drive content. Thanks for the information.

  14. Posted July 20, 2006 at 3:09 pm | Permalink

    Blogging is leaving yourself behind. It is to be discovered, not shared. If you need to be noticed, take out an ad.

  15. bluewren
    Posted October 19, 2006 at 11:28 pm | Permalink

    Lorelle I read a post of yours that made me laugh the one at the hairdressers and the church for modern day revellers ladies ect, or something ; would like to know where your other blog is I’d like to get it right. Just cannot recall how it went exactly but it was clever.
    thanks in anticipation

  16. Posted October 19, 2006 at 11:48 pm | Permalink

    I guess you could say that I do my clever writing on Taking Your Camera on the Road, specifically in the Telling Zone, where I tell stories about our life on the road. I don’t know specifically which ones you are talking about as I haven’t written up my “hair cuts from hell” stories that I’m famous for telling. I’ve had the WORST hair cuts ever. I’m sporting another borderline one right now. ;-) Luckily, the only difference between a bad hair cut and a good hair cut is 6 weeks.

  17. Posted November 16, 2006 at 11:48 pm | Permalink

    What if you allready do all that? And, also, I try to re-read thru every few weeks just to find old recipes for friends who need them. ^^

  18. Posted November 17, 2006 at 12:38 am | Permalink

    Do what? Re-read your blog?

    If you do it regularly, and it isn’t “working” for you, then change your schedule and do it once every six months. Give yourself some perspective through time.

    As for recipes, I’m not understanding that. If they are your own published recipes, then why would you need to review them? Is your blog your cookbook? Then that makes sense.

    Either way, the point is to go back and see how you are really doing, because reality doesn’t always add up with expectations and assumptions.

  19. Posted November 17, 2006 at 1:06 am | Permalink

    Well, more like friends ask me for links to articles I’ve written, refrencing past articles in current articles, and yes, I do keep a lot of recipes of my ‘experiments’ in cooking in my blog. So, as such, I have to re-read a lot. But it’s good, because I get to go back & edit typos and whatnot, so it works out. ^^ I recently switched from Blogger to WordPress, so that hurt my rankings on some sites. Also, I had someone attacking my ranking on aggretion site to lower me from the top 5 down to the low 40′s, so… Still, to be in the top 50 is pretty good.

    Basically, I’m just always pondering how to get more comments. I -KNOW- I have readedrs, the blog & RSS feeds tell me so. It’s just feedback, good or bad, would be nice more often…

  20. Posted February 5, 2007 at 11:16 pm | Permalink

    Inspiring and a good wake up call for bloggers who often writes rubbish in their blogs. Content is power and having good content in your blog is everything. =)


10 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. [...] As you may know I have been guest blogging over at Lorelle on WordPress, yesterday I wrote “When was the last time your read your own blog?” So tonight I took the time to look back, was I surprised. A year ago April 20th was my first official post as a blogger. Where did the time go? [...]

  2. [...] The following comment on this blog inspired me this morning: hello ive done most of it but doesnt wrk with me, ive gt a decent content on ma blog.. what do u suggest? [...]

  3. [...] When was the last time you read your own blog? [...]

  4. [...] When was the last time you read your own blog? [...]

  5. [...] I wouldn’t say I was nervous, but it was risky for me to open my blog up to a guest blogger. Greg Balanko-Dickson was my first guest blogger here. He did an amazing job. He wrote “When was the last time you read your own blog?”, “Prevent Blog Pollution”, “True Confessions of Early Adopter Turned Blogger”, and “Writing a Blog and Engaging Readers”. I’m giving some thought to opening up Lorelle on WordPress to more guest bloggers. What do you think about that? [...]

  6. [...] When was the last time you read your own blog? [...]

  7. [...] When was the last time you read your own blog? [...]

  8. […] When was the last time you read your own blog? […]

  9. […] When was the last time you read your own blog? […]

  10. […] When was the last time you read your own blog? […]

Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 19,715 other followers

