Skip navigation

Blog Exersices: I Can Wish It Away But…

Blog Exercises on Lorelle on WordPress.“I can wish it away but I can’t change it.”

Those words jumped out of the radio. This was a politician talking about international trade regulations and laws in my state. It’s true that any governing body is ruled by other governing bodies in this bureaucratic world. It got me thinking about what I could wish away in my industry that I cannot change.

My industry is web publishing and the social web. It is education, WordPress, blogging, and social media. When I stop and consider the things I want to wish away, the list is actually short, until I really give it some thought and then the list gets longer and longer.

Cat lying on roof of vehicle - I can wish it away but why bother - photography by Brent VanFossen.I wish WordPress would get rid of the underline option on the content toolbar. There is never a reason to underline anything on the web unless it is a link. International laws are now in place that prohibit underlining text, leaving underlines solely for links. It’s frustrating to see text underlined, click it, and nothing happens. I wish underline would go the way of many other HTML tags.

I wish WordPress would check trackbacks for duplication. I’m really tired of getting four, five, even eight year old trackbacks two or three times over the years as people move their sites around or update their databases, releasing another surge of trackbacks on linked content.

I wish trolls, comment spammers, and evil doers on the web would get a life, a real life, finding joy in being helpful and fruitful in their endeavors rather than persist in wasting everyone’s time.

I wish everyone would get Web 101, Blogging 101, Comments 101, and Social Media 101 before they are allowed to sign up for an email address or use a web browser. The rules for etiquette and behavior on the web are fairly simple, but some people never learn.

These are things I want to wish away, but there is little I can do to change things.

I’ve talked to WordPress developers who shake their heads with there-goes-Lorelle-again looks. The underline still holds a cherished place in the tradition of print, so it stays on the web. Duplicate and redundant trackbacks are only annoying to those with incoming links to their content. Consider yourself blessed to have this kind of trouble.

Trolls, spammers, evil doers, time wasters – human beings have had more than their fair representation of these classes of people with or without computers and the Internet. Why bother.

Schools are going bankrupt daily, so adding Internet and Web classes, in spite of the fact that every day of each child’s life for the next eighty years or more is going to deal with the Internet and Web, is too much of a burden for some schools. “We’re doing the best we can with what we’ve got.” Leave it up to peers, parents, and Google to teach them about how to balance their checkbooks, get a loan, buy a home, and behave on the web (or college instructors like me :D ).

I keep pushing, and sometimes the door opens a crack, but wishes are pushes. Someone on the other side of the wish needs to pull.

Blog Exercise Task from Lorelle on WordPress.Your blog exercise today is in the form of a prompt.

Blog the wish you wish you could wish away, but can do little or nothing about.

Every industry has things people want to wish away, to change, yet they are stymied by the powers that be above and below them.

This is your chance to be heard, to push that door open a crack and see if anyone joins you on the push or the pull to make changes.

By confiding your wishes, sometimes they do come true. At least you find out that you may not be alone.

If you blog this, include a hat tip link back to this post to create a trackback, or leave a properly formed link in the comments so participants can check out your blog exercise task.

You can find more Blog Exercises on . This is a year-long challenge to help you flex your blogging muscles.


Feed on Lorelle on WordPress Subscribe Feedburner iconVia Feedburner Subscribe by Email

Copyright Lorelle VanFossen.

Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 19,726 other followers

