Skip navigation

Blog Exercises: Blog Your Mistakes

Blog Exercises on Lorelle on WordPress.Some say that Dr. Brian Goldman helped to change the medical industry with his Ted Talk about how doctors make mistakes, taking a huge risk exposing one of the most known and rarely discussed topics: how doctors make mistakes and kill patients.

When was the last time you heard somebody talk about failure after failure after failure? Oh yeah, you go to a cocktail party and you might hear about some other doctor, but you’re not going to hear somebody talking about their own mistakes…

…On my show, on “White Coat, Black Art,” I made it a habit of saying, “Here’s my worst mistake,” I would say to everybody from paramedics to the chief of cardiac surgery, “Here’s my worst mistake,” blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, “What about yours?” and I would point the microphone towards them. And their pupils would dilate, they would recoil, then they would look down and swallow hard and start to tell me their stories. They want to tell their stories. They want to share their stories. They want to be able to say, “Look, don’t make the same mistake I did.” What they need is an environment to be able to do that. What they need is a redefined medical culture. And it starts with one physician at a time.

The redefined physician is human, knows she’s human, accepts it, isn’t proud of making mistakes, but strives to learn one thing from what happened that she can teach to somebody else. She shares her experience with others. She’s supportive when other people talk about their mistakes. And she points out other people’s mistakes, not in a gotcha way, but in a loving, supportive way so that everybody can benefit. And she works in a culture of medicine that acknowledges that human beings run the system, and when human beings run the system, they will make mistakes from time to time. So the system is evolving to create backups that make it easier to detect those mistakes that humans inevitably make and also fosters in a loving, supportive way places where everybody who is observing in the health care system can actually point out things that could be potential mistakes and is rewarded for doing so, and especially people like me, when we do make mistakes, we’re rewarded for coming clean.

My name is Brian Goldman. I am a redefined physician. I’m human. I make mistakes. I’m sorry about that, but I strive to learn one thing that I can pass on to other people. I still don’t know what you think of me, but I can live with that.

We all make mistakes. The mistakes bloggers make rarely risk lives, but they may impact lives, changing opinions, perspectives, attitudes, and influencing life decisions.

Blog Exercise Task from Lorelle on WordPress.Your blog exercise today is to share a mistake with your readers.

I will use Dr. Goldman’s words to explain this exercise better.

If I can’t come clean and talk about my mistakes, if I can’t find the still-small voice that tells me what really happened, how can I share it with my colleagues? How can I teach them about what I did so that they don’t do the same thing?

Your blog exercise today is to share a mistake with your readers with the intent of helping them not make the same mistake.

Be clear and specific, no excuses.

This is a chance to connect with your readers in a fresh way, with honesty.

After Dr. Goldman’s Ted Talk, one that he presented with a great deal of anxiety and fear, he was overwhelmed by the positive response. People came out publicly with their mistakes, sharing how they were now opening up and sharing their own mistakes, helping others learn from them.

This is your chance to do the same.

Remember to include a hat tip link back to this post to create a trackback, or leave a properly formed link in the comments so participants can check out your blog exercise task.

You can find more Blog Exercises on . This is a year-long challenge to help you flex your blogging muscles.


Feed on Lorelle on WordPress Subscribe Feedburner iconVia Feedburner Subscribe by Email

Copyright Lorelle VanFossen.

7 Comments

  1. Posted July 15, 2013 at 9:52 am | Permalink

    I’d agree this is a great exercise. It’s the essence of my blog… to reveal and analyze my failings so I can better strive to achieve my goals. And I always invite others who visit me to do the same. I sometimes find it scary as all heck to hit the ‘post’ button, but usually feel better for “letting it go”–like burning it in a fire or sending it off in a bottle on the sea. I look forward to the chance that someone might connect to the message and at least consider something similar within themselves so they too might let it go. Takes strength to reveal we are weak.

  2. vizzi
    Posted July 15, 2013 at 10:20 am | Permalink

    The first step towards fixing mistakes is to acknowledge them! Love these exercises Lorelle!

    • Posted July 15, 2013 at 3:23 pm | Permalink

      Agreed. Publicly admitting it to the world is risky. Audiences appreciate it.

    • vizzi
      Posted July 15, 2013 at 8:25 pm | Permalink

      It seems the Internet has made us very skeptical. We know when someone or something is not what it seems and we appreciate the ones who remain genuine.

  3. Posted July 15, 2013 at 7:20 pm | Permalink

    I think readers appreciate a person talking about his/her mistakes because it is truth. When you tell them about a mistake, they are more likely to believe you when you tell them other things. It’s a bonding moment, if you will.

  4. jmb hodarace
    Posted July 17, 2013 at 7:42 am | Permalink

    I believe that admitting to mistakes is a very humbling experience and being able to write/talk about those mistakes shows that we are all human. Reaching out to others this way definitely adds a personal touch, in fact this has inspired an idea for me on my own blog. Thanks so much for sharing this!


6 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] Lorelle on WordPress:  Some say that Dr. Brian Goldman helped to change the medical industry with his Ted Talk about how doctors make mistakes, taking […]

  2. […] Lorelle’s blog exercise, Blog your mistakes, I’ve thought of a few famous mistakes and how these mistakes may have shaped our […]

  3. […] post: http://lorelle.wordpress.com/2013/07/15/blog-exercises-blog-your-mistakes is about blogging your mistakes and why you might want […]

  4. […] Blog Exercises: Blog Your Mistakes […]

  5. […] July you were to blog your mistakes, sharing the personal side of loss and how you’ve stumbled in your life as a way to humanize […]

  6. […] blogged about mistakes we’ve made and what we learned from those mistakes. This is […]

Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 20,963 other followers

