Skip navigation

Blog Exercises: What Are Your Reasons For Blogging

Blog Exercises on Lorelle on WordPress.We all have our reasons for blogging. Having our say, sharing our experience, teaching, learning, creative outlet, money, reputation, because they told you to…all of these are good reasons to blog, but to keep blogging you need something more.

In this blog exercise, I want you to consider the more.

It is the answer to the “more” question that truly motivates us. Beyond stats, analytics, readers, comments, social media interaction, community building, income…there is more.

It’s the “bigger picture” reason to blog.

I believe in the saying, give without expectation of return. The moment I start expecting a return from this blogging business, I lose. I lose big. I think we all do.

Blogging is truly an altruistic and generous endeavor as there is absolutely no way that my income will ever match my efforts, so this isn’t the reason why I blog. It’s the bigger picture reason.

My passion for blogging is determined by a combination of my personal need to have my say, and my determination to help others have their say in this world.

I was raised at a time when “children should be seen not heard” was a popular saying. Children were a nuisance to adults. Underfoot, asking too many questions, making too much noise. We were taught to be quiet, still, and not to be annoying.

I was also hit by a truck when I was 6 years old, the consequences of the resulting traumatic brain injury leaving me with a speech impediment that took a time to overcome and other issues I struggle with even today. It takes a great deal of patience to sit through the attempts of a stutterer to hear the end of their sentence, and it takes even more patience and determination to be the stutterer trying to fight the words out of your mouth.

Maybe it was these two things that put me on the path to describe my job and life goal to help people have their say, making this the big picture of why I blog.

Blog Exercise Task from Lorelle on WordPress.What is your big picture reason for blogging? Today’s blog exercise is to dig under the layers or reasons to blog to find your key reason to keep blogging.

You may have to dig deep into your psyche to figure out why you are compelled to blog. You might not, but it is important to find it as it dictates how you blog, what you blog, and what keeps you blogging consciously or unconsciously. Personally, I like being cognitive of why I’m so passionate about something.

Blog about why you blog. Go on, tell the world. I just revealed something very personal and private about myself and my reasons for blogging. It’s your turn. Let the world know why this is important to you and how it makes a difference in your life.

Remember to include a hat tip link back to this post to create a trackback, or leave a properly formed link in the comments so participants can check out your blog exercise task.

You can find more Blog Exercises on . This is a year-long challenge to help you flex your blogging muscles.


Feed on Lorelle on WordPress Subscribe Feedburner iconVia Feedburner Subscribe by Email

Copyright Lorelle VanFossen.

11 Comments

  1. Posted April 23, 2013 at 5:46 am | Permalink

    Very inspiring post. I shall think about my reasons for blogging, or rather, attempt to write them because I do know what they are. I must say, this post brought them to the front of my mind, so thank you very much!

    • Posted April 23, 2013 at 10:44 am | Permalink

      I look forward to hearing about them. Deeper reasons are always more interesting than the surface details. :D And I think it might help in the long run. Thanks for participating and I’m anxious to know about what you learn about yourself. Thanks!

  2. Pat Rose
    Posted April 23, 2013 at 5:55 am | Permalink

    Hello Lorelle,

    Good Morning, I read your blog often you have a lot of insight and you really know how to explain things that makes it easy to understand. I just read this blog and I thought I would Share what I am doing with you. I am just throwing this out there. And maybe you could check out my blog posts you might be interested.
    The truth is I am a disabled mother of 5 and had to find a way through the madness of poverty. Your a smart women and I have no doubt you will do what is best for you but will you at least check it out for me?

    I hope you have a great day and that the sun shines on you every where you go!

    • Posted April 23, 2013 at 10:41 am | Permalink

      Good morning. I do site reviews for a fee, but I do glance at sites participating in these blog exercises to help sincere bloggers really learn their craft. I’m always thrilled to encounter someone honest and sincere in their passion, sharing it openly with their readers to help find common ground and to help each other through tough times. As someone earnestly invested in survival in this tough economy, facing disability, poverty, and managing a family, you would have a large audience to connect with.

      Unfortunately I found a get rich quick scheme spam site. No thank you. I seriously hope you reconsider your involvement with such endeavors as they never work out.

      As stated in this blog exercise, when we align our true passion, the driving force that is deeper than our surface justifications, we find a richer experience, one truly worth sharing with others. I urge you to dig deeper and not be involved in such scams.

  3. christinabarry
    Posted April 23, 2013 at 5:17 pm | Permalink

    Good points about blogging, Lorelle. I blog partly to “pay it forward.” As a beginning teacher, I asked mentors and supervisors for information and help with lesson plans all the time. Some experienced teachers were incredibly helpful and generous with their time. Others would tell me “just Google it,” or “after years of teaching, I just have a lot of ideas that work for me.” Though the experienced teachers in the “other” category didn’t mean any harm, they left me feeling like I was without support. Blogging is a my way of sharing knowledge in hopes that it helps a teacher who, like I once did, feels like he/she needs some information and inspiration.

    • Posted April 23, 2013 at 8:55 pm | Permalink

      That’s lovely! As a fellow teacher, I totally agree. If we aren’t the information provider, how can we trust our students are finding the right information.

      When you write and choose your topics, does this bigger picture sift through your head? Do you stop and ask yourself if what you are about to publish is in line with the idea that you are providing the support others need on this topic?

      Thanks!

  4. Cammy
    Posted April 23, 2013 at 7:55 pm | Permalink

    Thank you for sharing your inspiring story, Lorelle. The blogs I’m most drawn to (present company included) are those in which I feel the blogger has a passion for what s/he is doing. Your light definitely shines through here.

    • Posted April 23, 2013 at 8:58 pm | Permalink

      Thank you, Cammy.

      When I find passion in others, I light up myself. I love it. Unfortunately, too many people blog about things of interest to them without understanding the big picture of why they are really doing this.

      I tell my students this but sometimes I don’t think they get it. I’m training them to go out into the world to design and develop websites for clients and I hope they get the message that will help not just them but their clients as they work with them to see the bigger, deeper, richer picture for them, too. A website is a website but a site filled with passion for the subject matter, a deeper purpose and intention that motivates them to the computer on a regular basis to reach out and share their passion with others day after day, month after month, year after…and so on. That’s the real magic, isn’t it!

      Thanks for being part of my magic!

  5. Aaron
    Posted April 23, 2013 at 9:08 pm | Permalink

    Lorelle,
    I really am touched by the feeling you put into this post. You are truly doing a wonderful service for countless bloggers and writers out there, both for regular readers as well as the countless others that benefit from all your work you do on WordPress in general.
    I have been an avid reader of yours for years now. Reading this about you just raises my admiration for your courage and passion.
    This blog is YOUR platform, and we are all listening with rapt attention.

  6. jenny
    Posted April 25, 2013 at 7:21 am | Permalink

    i don’t have a reason to blog. i just do it.

    • Posted April 25, 2013 at 9:28 am | Permalink

      While I appreciate your sentiment, it’s BS. No one does anything just to do it except breath. There is nothing automatic in the process of imagining content, culling thoughts from your brain to encourage them to flow in some coherent state through your fingers to a keyboard and onto a virtual page. It takes all types of talents and skills at every step in the path. It requires energy, and if there is any truth in the human experience, we don’t do anything that requires energy unless there is motivation and inspiration behind it.

      Your statement tells me that you actually are brilliant. You are just being cute, another sign of brilliance. Snark is truly under-appreciated and a sign of a quick wit and high intelligence. It is also a sign of youth. When you turn 50, you will know all your reasons, and your reasons will know you better than you know yourself. :D

      Thanks.


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. [...] reflexiones muy interesantes acerca del blogging. Precisamente, su entrada más reciente, What Are Your Reasons For Blogging, me ha dado mucho que pensar y me ha llevado a escribir este [...]

  2. […] Blog Exercises: What Are Your Reasons For Blogging […]

Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 20,672 other followers

