Skip navigation

Blog Exercises: Schedule Blogging Time

Blog Exercises on Lorelle on WordPress.When do you blog best? I do my best blogging between 8AM and 1PM, then in the evening between 8PM and 11:30PM. When is your best time for creative thought, writing, and blogging?

I blog professionally in addition to teaching, training, and public speaking on blogging, WordPress, and social media, so blogging is my life. Most of us work for a living, so our best time for blogging might not find us available to blog, so we have to train ourselves to blog at a time that works in our schedule.

John Grisham wrote his first books on the commuter train to and from home and work. That was the time he had free to develop his fiction writing craft.

Irving Wallace wrote the book The Sunday Gentleman showcasing his early short stories and articles from his early writing years. The book title was based on the old English Debtor’s Prison tradition of allowing men, typically arrested in public for debts, to walk around free in public on Sunday, free from imprisonment. Considering his real job as a form of incarceration, Wallace saved every Sunday to work on what he wanted to work on, his dream of selling his fiction. Just like Grisham, eventually his dream came true and he published best-selling novels.

When I first started writing and photographing, my “hobbies” were relegated to evenings and weekends, snatched moments when I could be free to develop my craft. Today, even though blogging and training are full-time jobs, I still schedule time to work on specific projects outside the scope of blogging about blogging and WordPress. For me, writing is my life and passion, but it is also my work. So I have work hours and play hours, writing all the time.

Blog Exercise Task from Lorelle on WordPress.This blog exercise is about scheduling blogging time for yourself, carving out those moments on a regular basis when you can prepare content for your site.

In addition to the work you are doing developing your editorial calendar, start adding time to develop story ideas, to research, read your feeds, and scan the world for story ideas. Add writing time to the schedule, too, not just research time.

Some time may be easily scheduled, like Grisham and Wallace did, assigning time you can count on for concentrated creativity.

Also look for time in between things. My phone and tablet are often with me so I can do a little research and prep work while waiting for things to happen like doctors, dentists, trains, buses, traffic, whatever stalls my life and tests my patience. Sometimes these can be scheduled, other times you leap when the opportunity appears.

What time works best for you? Do you need time when your muse guides you, or do you take it when you can get it?

If you blog about this, remember to include a hat tip link back to this post to create a trackback, or leave a properly formed link in the comments so participants can check out your blog exercise task.

You can find more Blog Exercises on . This is a year-long challenge to help you flex your blogging muscles.


Feed on Lorelle on WordPress Subscribe Feedburner iconVia Feedburner Subscribe by Email

Copyright Lorelle VanFossen.

2 Comments

  1. Cammy
    Posted February 27, 2013 at 4:49 pm | Permalink

    I feel most productive in the morning and evening hours as well, and I’m coming into a time when I can adjust my schedule around that. Within that time, though, I need to learn to be more structured in my approach. At present, I’m kind of like a toddler chasing a butterfly around the garden. Oh look, here’s an interesting link! Oh here’s another one. :)

    • Posted February 28, 2013 at 10:57 am | Permalink

      LOL! Welcome to my day – unless I really buckle down and focus. That’s part of the process of keeping an appointment with yourself. It’s a commitment and sometimes we tend to treat those with more respect – at least in theory. :D


8 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. [...] Blog Exercises: Schedule Blogging Time « Lorelle on WordPress Blog Exercises on Lorelle on WordPress. When do you blog best? I do my best blogging between 8AM and 1PM, then in the evening between 8PM and … lorelle.wordpress.com/…/blog-exercises-schedule-blogging-ti… [...]

  2. [...] Blog Exercises: Schedule Blogging Time [...]

  3. [...] Blog Exercises: Schedule Blogging Time [...]

  4. […] Blog Exercises: Schedule Blogging Time […]

  5. […] Blog Exercises: Schedule Blogging Time […]

  6. […] also talked about working with an editorial calendar and scheduling blogging time to keep you on track, making appointments with yourself to fit content creation into your date […]

  7. […] Blog Exercises: Schedule Blogging Time […]

  8. […] highlights using an editorial calendar to keep you on track, making appointments with yourself and self-assignments to keep the flow flowing, and fine-tuning your blogging work flow to keep on […]

Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 19,726 other followers

