Skip navigation

Lorelle’s Family History Blog Featured in the Everett Herald Newspaper

Article in Everett Herald on Family History blog by Lorelle VanFossenI was recently honored with an article about my Family History Blog in the Everett Herald newspaper serving Everett, Snohomish County, Washington. The article, “Blogger digs into her roots: Snohomish County native works to uncover her family’s history,” quickly describes some of my family’s history related to the Snohomish County area on the Knapp and West sides.

It was fascinating to get a call to work on the article for a traditional newspaper with the popular columnist, Kristi O’Harran, and be back in “print.”

I describe a little of the story behind the family history details in the article on my family history blog in West and Knapp Families Featured in the Everett Herald, Snohomish County, Washington.

I’m honored to be featured in the Everett Herald, a newspaper that ruled my news life from childhood until adulthood, the number one source of information and news, national and local, beyond radio and television. Yet, it is also fascinating.

The columnist was cruising the web looking for historical information and genealogy from around Snohomish County and stumbled upon my family history blog and the stories from family members important to the building of Everett, Snohomish, Monroe, and the county. We exchanged a few emails talking about how to cover the story, and ended up with a mix of introduction to my family’s history in Snohomish County and the struggles of family history blogging. The print version had some minor mistakes which were corrected in the web version. It reminded me of the finality of print and the ease of updating of blogs and web content, something to which I’ve become very accustomed.

UPDATE: O’Harran just sent me an email with several names and contact information for people who recognized some of the people in the photographs from the article or know my family or has information to help me with my family history research. I’ll be calling them in the next day or so. I can’t wait. What a gift!!


I’ve written a lot on genealogy and family history, and will be doing more on how to create, develop, and sustain a family history blog. I’ve got a new series on What to Publish on Your Family History Blog and did a series here on how to create and develop a genealogy blog:

I’m working on a series of articles featuring family history and genealogy bloggers and I’m looking for people to interview and possibly guest blog on the subject. If you host a family history or genealogy blog, I’d love to talk to you about your experiences and lessons learned.


Feed on Lorelle on WordPress Subscribe Feedburner iconVia Feedburner Subscribe by Email

Copyright Lorelle VanFossen.

7 Comments

  1. Posted June 27, 2011 at 10:29 pm | Permalink

    Congratulations Lorelle! What a cool article :)
    ~Erika

  2. Posted June 28, 2011 at 11:56 am | Permalink

    Hi, I heard this on the recent WordCast podcast. Then today I was searching for ways to insert older HTML content straight into the wp_posts table and found an interesting article on insert vs. load-data-in-file (it was an oldie – WP version 1.5) at – cameraontheroad.com .

    I wondered if the author was the same Lorelle I listen to each week – hah!
    Small world.

    Keep up the good work,
    Cheers
    Lee Shelton

    • Posted June 28, 2011 at 4:44 pm | Permalink

      LOL! It is! So the key for importing static HTML content is to put it into the MT-import format, which is converted at length on cameraontheroad.com as well as somewhere in the archives here. I’ll see if I can find the posts about that. Once it is in that format, and it isn’t as easy as just importing it into wp_posts – that leaves out a ton of information and doesn’t take into consideration all the changes in WordPress since 2004 when I did that import…honestly, for less than 100-200 articles, copy and paste is your friend. It’s a ton of work and took me three months to do over 2,000 articles. MySQL and servers still have limitations on the size of files it can manage with importing…it’s crazy. I did it, but walked away scared.

      And yes, thanks. It was me. I’m everywhere. :D

  3. Tom Masterson
    Posted November 22, 2011 at 2:40 pm | Permalink

    Lorelle – your blog is teaching me so much. I started our wordpress blog just a few weeks ago. We are just in our beginning stages, but blogs like yours really help!

    • Posted November 22, 2011 at 2:55 pm | Permalink

      Glad that it is helping, but remember that I keep a very close eye on spammers and clean them out and off in a hurry, as should you. It’s nice to play in a clean sandbox. :D

    • Tom Masterson
      Posted November 22, 2011 at 3:08 pm | Permalink

      yes, we haven’t been hit yet, but as PR grows so will spam and scam

    • Posted November 23, 2011 at 12:52 am | Permalink

      And I know you know there is no PageRank any more. Google did away with that. Spam comes from incoming links, not PageRank, anyway. It takes one incoming link to send a flood of spam your way through the spam bots.


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. [...] THIS was Lorelle’s blog entry today. As if she couldn’t get any more perfect-er than being a [...]

  2. [...]     via lorelle.wordpress.com [...]

Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 20,973 other followers

