Skip navigation

New Book Released: Social Media for Crafters

Social Media for Crafters: Covering the Basics of the Social Web ebook by Lorelle VanFossenThe news is finally out. Yes, I just released a new ebook, Social Media for Crafters: Covering the Basics of the Social Web. It’s for sale in the WordCast Store right now and sells for USD $14.95 but you, too, can get this fantastic pdf ebook for the AMAZING low price of 99 cents during this special promotion! </end announcer voice>

Writing this book has truly been a labor of love. The book includes the basics of social media designed specifically with the crafting enthusiast in mind, from knitting to scrapbooking, from beading to woodwork. It explores what social media tools are and explains various social networks, mailing lists, forums, discussion groups, and other online social groups, how they work, and how to find the right one for your crafty needs.

Of course, it covers basics of blogging, Facebook, Twitter, BurdaStyle, and Ravelry, some WordPress, and offers extensive lists of crafting communities by speciality, such as knitting, crochet, scrapbooking, beading, jewelry making, quilting, woodworking, embroidery, crazy quilting, sewing, and many more. I’ve also put together an extensive list of crafting podcasts, many of which are featured in Craft Month: Podcasts for the Knitter, Crocheter, Quilter, Woodworker, Beader, Jeweler… as part of the ongoing WordCast Craft Month.

The Story Behind “Social Media for Crafters”

Most of you know my story about how I made my way to what is now known as blogging, coming out of the highly interactive CompuServe Forums to the brand new web with one of the first websites in the world, journaling the stories of our life on the road in , teaching workshops and training programs on online journaling and community building for groups and businesses, stumbling upon and falling in love, then suddenly become an expert on all of this.

This led to helping found Successful Online Business Conference (SOBCon) and writing one of the first how-to books on blogging, Blogging Tips: What Bloggers Won’t Tell You About Blogging (which is now back on sale through the WordCast Store).

What you don’t know is how I got involved with crafting, and how I survive living in a high tech world because I make time every day to be truly, hands-on creative, not lost in the digital constantly.

Family home by Lorelle, newspaper article 1969 featuring moon on front doorMy grandmother and mother were always crafty, finding creative ways to do artistic things. In this 1969 article about our home in Lake Stevens, Washington, other than my old dog sleeping on the front porch, it’s hard to see the moon on the front door. It was the beginning era of travel to the moon. The world was fascinated with all things science – real and fiction. My mother pounded the life out of a garbage can lid, covered it with putty and paint, and turned it into the textured surface of the moon. I loved seeing that every time I entered the house. It felt like I was passing through a Stargate – which I recreated the past two years on the entry of my own house for the holidays.

While I learned to paint, potter, make paper, including marbled paper, do woodworking and building things (and taking them apart) as a child, it wasn’t until I met my future in-laws that my road to a craft-filled life began.

Tatting Shuttle and Thread on Doily made by Lorelle VanFossenI wanted to get to know them through their passions. One grandmother had once tatted, a 17th century lace making technique. After tearing up Tulsa’s craft stores to find some plastic tatting shuttles and thread, I sat in her apartment and watched, enthralled, as she complained, “I’m just not as fast as I used to be.” I couldn’t see what she was doing, her fingers were flying the shuttle in and out of the thread so fast. It took a while, but a few weeks later I had it down and became a crazy tatter.

I soon ran out of things to put the lace on and discovered quilts could be adored with tatting. So I learned how to make quilts. Then dolls, hats, clothing, knitting…finally making things without tatted lace. As we traveled with our work full-time around the world, my tatting shuttle went with me wherever I went. Only once after 9/11 did a flight crew take away my tatting as a security risk. It’s something I can do while doing other things, including traveling and waiting for files to download or upload.

If you’ve met up with me at one of the many WordPress events, WordCamps, and conferences around the world, you’ve spotted me knitting or tatting busily away when I’m not live blogging the sessions.

Knitted scarf by Lorelle VanFossen and mother's cat, Brother, takes it over.Once I was back in the United States from all my traveling, I made a special effort to get to the Sew Expo in Puyallup, Washington, a long time favorite event. It was so exciting to see it alive and thriving after my 15 year absence! Last year’s event featured some sold out classes on social media for crafters. Enthralled with the idea of mixing my expertise with crafting, I met with the teacher and managed to get into one of the classes. There was clearly a demand for this, and who better to present such information that an expert on the subject.

A year later, and a ton of research, interviews, and discussions with crafters, my dream became reality as I gathered all that I learned into Social Media for Crafters: Covering the Basics of the Social Web. I’m thrilled that Dave Moyer and Kym Huynh agreed to publish it through the WordCast Store. Without them and my husband, I could not have done this. I’m so lucky to be surrounded by the most amazing and loving men.

Israel Storm at Sea Wall Quilt by Lorelle VanFossenI share the expertise of so many crafters enjoying the magic of the social web in my book. I also dig in deep with expert lessons I learned the hard way, as well as from expert bloggers, online community builders, and social web experts from around the world.

Blogging Tips Book
After a long hunt for a new publisher, has taken me on and Blogging Tips: What Bloggers Won’t Tell You About Blogging is now available for sale again in the WordCast Store.

If you ordered a book through the Blog Herald, you will need to contact them directly if you have any questions or issues.

To give back to the many people who influenced my life as a blogger and crafter, we’re offering my new pdf ebook for 99 cents only for a limited time. It’s just our way of thanking the many creative spirits out there giving so much of themselves and their craft.


Feed on Lorelle on WordPress Subscribe Feedburner iconVia Feedburner Subscribe by Email

Copyright Lorelle VanFossen.

24 Comments

  1. Posted March 3, 2011 at 7:47 pm | Permalink

    Hi Lorelle – the Paypal button seems to be adding shipping expenses…

  2. Posted March 3, 2011 at 7:50 pm | Permalink

    So excited for you, Lorelle! The moon your mom made for the front door is really cool – would be awesome to see a better pic of it. If you really made that blanket on the cover of your book – I think it would be the. most. awesome. blanket EVAH.

  3. Nouveau Stitch
    Posted March 3, 2011 at 8:00 pm | Permalink

    Congrats on your achievement! This sounds like a great read and I plan to mention it on my sewing blog.

    Ellen

  4. Posted March 3, 2011 at 8:25 pm | Permalink

    You rock, woman!

  5. Posted March 4, 2011 at 1:08 am | Permalink

    This sounds like my kind of book! Congrats and great work! :)

  6. Posted March 4, 2011 at 8:51 pm | Permalink

    Loved your first book, and am looking forward to seeing this new one! I’ll try to purchase again later, I’m getting an “error establishing a database connection” message :(

    • Posted March 5, 2011 at 11:12 am | Permalink

      We had a run of visitors which took us down for a short bit. Thanks for letting us know. All is up and working now.

  7. Rhonda
    Posted March 5, 2011 at 11:35 am | Permalink

    Downloading now! Wordcast was up and running when I checked this morning.

  8. Posted March 6, 2011 at 9:33 am | Permalink

    Loved your first book, and am looking forward to seeing this new one! Thank’s for the post.
    Look like a Diary. ;-)

  9. ricki
    Posted March 6, 2011 at 3:57 pm | Permalink

    Just ordered the book and am excited to read it. I’ll be back to let you know what I think.

  10. Robert Nellis
    Posted March 7, 2011 at 11:40 am | Permalink

    Very cute take on Social Media.

    • Posted March 7, 2011 at 7:45 pm | Permalink

      Actually, social media for crafters is very specialized. Crafters are a very social group, though not all are Internet savvy. They tend to “get” social faster than most people, it’s just that they need some guidance in the various tools. Initial previews of the book by crafters found them quickly overcoming their fears and embracing the social web with a veracity that is truly impressive. Some of my business clients should be so easy!

  11. Posted March 9, 2011 at 7:28 pm | Permalink

    Yes Lorelle, so I also purchased this book… ^_^

    • Posted March 9, 2011 at 8:58 pm | Permalink

      Excellent! I’m so thrilled. The numbers have been amazing! Thanks for being one and letting me know. I love it. Thanks.

  12. Jean
    Posted March 13, 2011 at 8:55 am | Permalink

    Can’t figure out how to download on my iPad. Any ideas

    • Posted March 14, 2011 at 3:20 pm | Permalink

      Does your iPad support straight PDF files with an app? Then it would be readable on that.

  13. Posted March 21, 2011 at 12:00 am | Permalink

    Great books. thanks for sharing.

  14. Tarragona
    Posted March 25, 2011 at 8:57 am | Permalink

    Congratulations on your publication. I will read it and try to get in the promotion.I do not know if I’m on time.

  15. Dana Haenner
    Posted April 1, 2011 at 4:42 pm | Permalink

    Lorelle,

    that is fantastic!! my mother runs a viking sewing center, and using social media in these niches is incredibly powerful. I’ve never seen a better crowd of “raving fans” as the ladies who buy sewing machines there, we’ve done a little social media promotion and they work great. We even did a you tube video promoting her store and it’s had over 300 view in less than a year, that’s a lot for her tight ‘niche’ …. i’ll point her this way.

    • Posted April 1, 2011 at 5:32 pm | Permalink

      Awesome. There are some incredibly creative folks out there, many I highlight in the book. I’m so excited about how so many people are really using the social web to tell their story.

  16. Posted April 10, 2011 at 12:44 pm | Permalink

    Ordered the book. Thank you fpor this super price. Tweeted it. How long until I get the link?

    • Posted April 11, 2011 at 10:37 am | Permalink

      If the price is still active, you should have gotten it immediately upon confirmation of your payment. Check your email spam to ensure it didn’t get picked up.

  17. Posted May 1, 2011 at 6:45 am | Permalink

    I have tried for several days to get your Blogging Tips and Social Media books, but I can’t get any link to work, nor does typing in the address work. Help! Thanks.

    • Posted May 3, 2011 at 10:11 am | Permalink

      They are for sale in the WordCast Store though I won’t be able to ship one out for a week as I’m heading to Canada for a conference. Thanks!


3 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. [...] the entire article at: http://lorelle.wordpress.com/2011/03/03/new-book-released-social-media-for-crafters/ This entry was posted in social media. Bookmark the permalink. ← SEO Interview with [...]

  2. [...] To read more about what Lorelle has to say about the book and why she wrote it, see her blog post here: http://lorelle.wordpress.com/2011/03/03/new-book-released-social-media-for-crafters [...]

  3. [...] told the whole story behind my new book in the original announcement for Social Media for Crafters if you would like to know more about [...]

Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 20,109 other followers

