Skip navigation

Weekly Digest: End of Year Rush, Lorraine is Bad, Awards, and Kicking Blogging But – As Usual

I had last week’s Weekly Digest of “Lorelle World” ready to go, but life stepped in with a lot of snow and too many distractions. My apologies. So this week, you get three-for-one. :D

I decided to have a little fun these past few weeks with the types of articles I published here and on the . I hope you all enjoyed the fun. It’s always risky when you take your blog off track, even for a single post. Consider some of the fun a holiday gift for bloggers. Yes, I was a bad girl this year. :D

Don’t forget that I’m still looking for your input on blogging events for next year for the blog conference and event calendar I’m working on. If you are a part of a blogging or WordPress group that meets regularly, let me know!

This is the from . To subscribe to the category of , you can subscribe by the RSS - Lorelle on WordPress Weekly Digest Category FeedWeekly Digest feed or by email with the Weekly Digest Email Subscription to stay up to date on what is happening in Lorelle’s world of WordPress and blogging.

The last issue of my weekly digest was Weekly Digest: Back on the Farm, Improving Your Blog Series, WordPress Podcast Reporter, and More.

What’s Happening with Lorelle on WordPress

Here’s the latest blog posts on .

Lorelle’s News

Peformancing Award Nominations: On the list of things I’m not worthy of are two award nominations from Peformancing: Most Influential Blogger Award and Best Writing and Blogging Award. I’m in the best of company among the nominees. Go vote for them. :D

Lorraine: Okay, my “alter-evil twin” had some fun and gave you all the gift of 10 Really Rad Righteous Blogging Tips for Christmas. I hope you all enjoyed it.

On the Blogroll Honor Drummed Roll: In 2007 Blogroll Awards by Jake’s Life, I was one of many wonderful recipients of his Blogroll Awards, a delightful satirical look at his favorite blogs of the year. Here is what he had to say about my blog. It just bears repeating – putting in cement actually!

WordPress Jedi: Lorelle On WordPress

If you are just starting with WordPress, or you’ve been using it since the beginning, you can learn from Master Lorelle. This blog provides so much information on the WordPress blogging platform it’s sickening. From the small tweaks to fix something only you are bothered by to the good ol’ overhaul you’ve been planning, and everything in between. Bookmark, subscribe, however you do it, but read it. Cheesy as it may sound, the Force is strong in this one, hrmm, yes.

Jake, I’m going to put my award on my About page with a link to the post. It’s an award I will treasure always.

Among the 10 Most Influential Blog Posts: Cape Code SEO published a list of the most influential blog posts for the year and my popular article on the , Blogging Is About Writing, made the list along with some other great company.

On the Top Posts List for Blogging Bytes: Blogging Bytes offered their top list of blog posts about blogging for 2007 and several of my articles were listed including Hundreds of Resources for Finding Content for Your Blog, Selling Your Blog: What Are Blog Buyers Looking For?, and Selling Your Blog: What Goes Into The Selling Price?.

Interviews: I was recently interviewed by the new Blogger Interviews in Interview with Lorelle VanFossen, Lorelle on WordPress. I talk a little about how I started on the Internet in the “early days” and where I see the web going.

WordPress Book Reviews: In WordPress Books (Plus Reviews), WPThemesPlugin did a summary/review of the various books available on WordPress. My book, Blogging Tips, started off the list, which is wonderful, but my book is not about WordPress. It’s about blogging with whatever blogging platform or program you use. Still, thanks, Moses, for the kind words and the endorsement.

Improving Your Blog Tips on the Blog Herald: The series I started this past week on the Blog Herald, Improving Your Blog Tips, is getting a lot of attention and getting people thinking about what they need to do to improve their blogs.

Lorelle on ProBlogger: I recently published Readers Versus Visitors: Whose Needs Are You Meeting, an article that looks at how to not let your interpretation of your blog stats, or assumptions about your blog readers and visitors, get in the way of serving and meeting the needs of your visitors and readers.

Blogger and Podcaster Magazine: It looks like I will be continuing my work with Blogger and Podcaster Magazine into next year. The last three issues included articles on tips you need to know on blogging mistakes, editorial calendars for bloggers, and improving your writing skills. I’m working on a series on turning your blog into a business for the next couple months.

Among the Must-Read Blogs: Damien Riley published a “Must-Read Blogs This Season” which included me, but also a lot of other interesting blogs worth checking into.

Blogging Tips: What Bloggers Won’t Tell You About Blogging

Blogging Tips - book cover, copyright Lorelle VanFossenIt appears my book, “Blogging Tips: What Bloggers Won’t Tell You About Blogging” sold very well before the holidays, so I hope my book is making some new and old bloggers happy to finally get a real bloggy gift.

You can order a copy from SplashPress or the new Blog Herald Bookstore. If you would like to order multiple copies, please email me first as that requires special handling.

For more information on the book, see the original announcement and a recent update with reviews and other information, as well as the Blogging Tips Book official page.

Most Popular Articles on Lorelle on WordPress

The announcement of the delay of WordPress 2.4 brought a lot of eager WordPress fans here to find out what was going on. I predicted this release would be delayed a while ago, and while I’m sad to see it pushed back, I feel much better about the new features they are going to be adding in the new WordPress 2.5 coming in March.

Adding Avatars and Gravatars to Your WordPress and WordPress.com Blog helped many people who love adding their picture to their blogs and incorporating images that represent other bloggers within their blog comments. The issue of avatar image size is a touch one when choosing the right image that can take the shrinkage and still remain visible, so it was interesting to create different images and see how they would handle the size reductions.

I read dozens, sometimes many dozen, of articles about WordPress every week, and it was time for another set of tips for writing WordPress tips. It was also time to encourage people to contribute their tips to the , the online manual for WordPress Users, so they will be there for everyone to use.

The most popular posts on Lorelle on WordPress the past few weeks were:

Blasts From the Past

Here are some blasts from the past I’ve written that still are interesting today:

Blog Herald Columns

Maybe I was tired. Maybe I was just tired of people spending too much time looking at the year in review and plans for next year. Me, I got a little cynical and abrasive during my end-of-the-year posts on the , basically telling bloggers to get their act together and start blogging with their heads and hearts and not their lazy back ends. I hope someone appreciated it. :D

Recent articles on the included:

  • Should Journalists Be Required to Comment? Should Bloggers? is a post I started writing a year ago, but just couldn’t finish. So I decided to open up the question to my readers.
  • Don’t Blog About That Which You Understand Not is a rant to all of the bloggers who blog without the expertise to back up their blog content. Come on, folks, tell us what you know, not ramble about what you don’t know. We’ve had enough of that.
  • Help Translate WordPress For Your Readers and Everyone is an invitation to anyone speaking more than one language plus English fluently to help translate WordPress and how you can translate your WordPress blog for your multilingual readers.
  • Bring Something New to the Blog Table, Please is a request to all bloggers to stop blogging about WordPress, blogging, and SEO subjects. We’ve had enough. Bring something new to your blog table.
  • I Blog shares an odd experience I had while at the dentist office, telling the hygienist that I blogged brought no discussion, but describing my husband’s much more boring work as a aircraft engineer brought an hour’s worth of discussion. Is blogging boring? How do you explain blogging to those who don’t understand, or don’t want to understand?
  • Prolific Versus Long Winded Versus Gregarious Bloggers is one of the shortest blog posts I’ve ever written. It asks you to consider which one you are.
  • Want. Want. Want. Blogging is About Giving. I wanted to really hit the holiday season hard with a reminder that blogging is about giving.
  • The Art of Backlinking looks at how to get links to your blog the right way.
  • Are You Stopping Comments Before They Ever Get Started? I will be talking more this year about the blog conversation and this is just one of the first in the series.
  • What Do You Want Gone From the Web in 2008? I asked this on my blog and on the Blog Herald to get a wide spread answer to what people really hate on the web. I’m getting some interesting answers. Make sure you respond so your hated item on the web will get a voice in my annual report.
  • Blog Writing: Are You Writing With Grit? I’m going to be writing more about the art of blog writing and this was a visual step in that direction asking you if your writing is like a grit of sand that grinds a pattern in to the rocks on the beach, sticking in our heads for long periods of time and making us think.
  • Name Calling Bloggers is a exploration with tips on what to call the characters in your blog story – using acronyms, fake names, or other descriptive methods to name the people you write about while protecting their privacy and helping your readers understand more about who you are writing about.
  • Blogger Sucks. Wanna Move to WordPress? I’ve been reading about many wanting out of Blogger and deciding to move to WordPress. It’s very easy to move and I offer a step-by-step guide to help you manage your move.

Some recent weekly WordPress Wednesday News reports included:

Lorelle’s Linkworthy Links

As I crawled through the web recently, I ran across some interesting posts and articles you should check out:


This is the of .
RSS - Lorelle on WordPress Weekly Digest Category Feed Subscribe to Lorelle on WordPress Weekly Digest Weekly Digest Email Subscription
Feed on Lorelle on WordPress Subscribe to Lorelle on WordPress Feedburner iconVia Feedburner Email Subscription
Copyright Protected and Reserved – If you are reading this post outside of your feed reader or Lorelle on WordPress, the usage of this content is a violation of copyright and the DMCA. Please report it immediately so action can be taken against them. If you are using this content illegally, and you know who you are, consider this a cease and desist order.
is a member of , , the 9Rules Network, and author of Blogging Tips, What Bloggers Won’t Tell You About Blogging.

2 Comments

  1. Posted January 5, 2008 at 11:06 pm | Permalink

    I’m glad you like the award. Your comment was very flattering as well! I know that I don’t keep up on commenting and e-mailing as much as I should throughout the time that I read others’ blogs, so this is my way of making up for it. It’s like a birthday card from the relative you never see!

  2. Posted January 9, 2008 at 1:34 pm | Permalink

    very flattering as well! I know that I don’t keep up on commenting and e-mailing as much as I should throughout the time that I read others’ blogs, so this is my


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. [...] last issue of my weekly digest was End of Year Rush, Lorraine is Bad, Awards, and Kicking Blogging But – As Usual is the last issue of my Weekly [...]

Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 20,676 other followers

