Skip navigation

What Have You Done Lately? Much?

In recently honoring 100,000 Edublogs, I took a new look at what James Farmer has done with .

His educational free blog services now host more than 100,000 bloggers, educators and students. James started with and in two years, has expanded it to include learnerblogs for school students, uniblogs.org for university and college students, and eslblogs for those involved in teaching English as a second language and English as a foreign language.

This got me thinking. What have I done lately? He’s started four free blog networks and communities, blogging communities that will benefit as well as change the world, bringing teachers, educators, and learning professionals together from around the globe.

Let’s see, I’ve written thousands of blog posts. I’ve traveled all over and met a lot of people. I’ve told a few of their stories. I’ve thousands of readers daily on my different blogs. I’ve written a book with more on the way. Um, ah, I’ve maybe helped a few people run their WordPress blog a little better. Hmm, I’ve, well, I gave, no, so, well, hmmm.

What Have You Done Lately With Your Blog?

As bloggers, we have the power to convey messages. To publicize our thoughts, opinions, and perspectives on many different subjects. But what have we one recently to change or improve the world?

Maybe our published words might change an opinion, here and there.

Maybe you published the code for hacking the security constraints on Sony DVDs recently, helping to bring lawsuits against Google and almost destroyed some of the freedoms we so relish in on the web, without understanding the responsibilities that come with such freedoms.

Maybe you helped spread the videos, podcast recordings, and word about the protests in Burma lately, letting the world know about the fight for freedom from within that closed and locked down community.

Or blogged about the tyranny and violence so many live with every day as their governments will not tolerate opinions and believe the best way to control their society is to beat them into submission.

Or maybe not.

Our words matter. They do impact people and change lives, but when I look at what others have done, I wonder about how little I do.

Blog Action Day

is October 15. Similar to the April 30, Day of Silence, when many bloggers around the world didn’t publish anything but a sign honoring the day of silence in protest of personal violence, Blog Action Day asks you to turn your blog into action by blogging about the environment on that day. You can choose any topic, as long as it has to do with environmental issues.

The idea behind Blog Action Day is to use the power of united voices to call attention to an issue. This year, Blog Action Day is dedicated to the environment. Next year, they may have a different subject.

With millions of bloggers writing about the environment, readers can’t help but be exposed to the news and information just from the numbers. This type of unified action often speaks louder than the small chorus.

As you consider whether or not you will participate in the October 15 Blog Action Day efforts, I want you to think about what you’ve done lately to change the world with your blog. If I think I haven’t done much, and I consider how to do more, maybe you should, too.

Member of the 9Rules Blogging Network


Site Search Tags: , , , , , , , ,
Feed on Lorelle on WordPress Subscribe Feedburner iconVia Feedburner Subscribe by Email

Copyright Lorelle VanFossen, member of the 9Rules Network, and author of Blogging Tips, What Bloggers Won't Tell You About Blogging.

4 Comments

  1. Posted October 5, 2007 at 1:50 pm | Permalink

    Inspiring post Lorelle. Thank you! And thank you for all the educational posts you share here. I’m learning a great deal from reading here for the last 6 months. Blessings!

    Greenwoman

  2. Posted October 6, 2007 at 12:52 pm | Permalink

    Awesome. I already have a wonderful post idea for Blog Action Day!! It’s formulating in my head as I type.

  3. Posted October 6, 2007 at 1:31 pm | Permalink

    Hi Lorelle,

    I think it’s worth mentioning Pink for October here too . . . blogs going pink throughout the month or displaying a graphic in support and to honor breast cancer survivors. I won’t presume and post a link here without your permission, but there is info on my blog.

    Terry

  4. Posted October 7, 2007 at 12:21 pm | Permalink

    Pink for October? Is that for breast cancer month? Link to what? Information on the Pink for October Awareness event? Link away. It’s a great cause.


3 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. [...] Lorelle VanFossen points out in her post What Have You Done Lately? Much?: As bloggers, we have the power to convey messages. To publicize our thoughts, opinions, and [...]

  2. [...] the topic but after writing a first draft down on October 5, 2007, I happened upon a post called What Have You Done Lately? by Lorelle on WordPress the very next day!  Her post led me to Blog Action Day, and I though [...]

  3. […] What Have You Done Lately? Much?: James Farmer’s recent announcement of 100,000 Edublogs got me thinking about how little I’ve done to change the world with my blogging efforts. So I ask you, what have you done lately to change the world. […]

Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 20,965 other followers

