Skip navigation

WordPress: It Takes a Village

WordPress News
Ozh of Planet Ozh has created the WordPress Bug Fixers Heat Map, a tag cloud of the volunteers and staff of Automattic who dedicate so much of their time and energy to making WordPress work and evolve.

I looked at this list and my throat started to close up. Tears welled. I wanted to reach through the screen to each name on this list, no matter how big or small, and hug them.

These are the people who make WordPress go. These are the people who give of their time, energy, money, and life to make WordPress the powerful tool it is.

Only a few names on this list are paid staff, and of those, they are employees only recently, haven proven their skills and work ethic as a volunteer, in some cases, for years.

The majority of these are volunteers. People who give of their creativity and coding skill to improve WordPress. Without compensation – okay, WordPress is improved which makes their blogging life easier as well as ours. In a way, that’s compensation enough for most of these people.

Ozh, thank you for creating this incredible list and for showing us the folks behind the curtain that give us the tools to keep sharing our words and thoughts with the world.

And thank you to everyone on the list. You are my stars. You are my heroes and heroines.

Without you, my daily struggle to share the little nothings that beg to be written down for the world to see would be a battle. You make my life easier. You make it fuller by helping me meet and greet folks from all over the world with my blog. You make it easier for me to stop trolls, bullies, spammers, and evil doers, making my online playground a safe place to play. You help me fix the dumb things I do when I write a post. You listen when I and others bitch and whine about this and that not working and you work to make it work and make it work better. You make it easier for me to help readers read my blog and find the information they need to help them blog, write, work, and live better.

We owe our blogging life to your hard work.

Thank you.

Member of the 9Rules Blogging Network


Site Search Tags:
Feed on Lorelle on WordPress Subscribe Feedburner iconVia Feedburner Subscribe by Email

Copyright Lorelle VanFossen, member of the 9Rules Network, and author of Blogging Tips, What Bloggers Won't Tell You About Blogging.

13 Comments

  1. Posted September 12, 2007 at 6:58 pm | Permalink

    Actually, as a humble blogger myself, thanks should be given to them and to you for notifying us of these saints who do such good work that improves every single WP site out there!

  2. Posted September 12, 2007 at 8:20 pm | Permalink

    Ditto from me on the above comment. I have learned so much through trial and error… but none of this would not have been possible without those who make WP tick. I say Thank You as well.

  3. Posted September 12, 2007 at 8:22 pm | Permalink

    Thanks Lorelle. WordPress wouldn’t anywhere near as awesome as it is today without any or all of them.

  4. Posted September 12, 2007 at 10:34 pm | Permalink

    Nice post Lorelle, it really does take a village – I think nowadays in this fast paced society people expect results quickly and tend to overlook the work that goes into a product like this. Here’s to WordPress developers.

  5. Posted September 12, 2007 at 11:03 pm | Permalink

    WordPress wouldn’t be the great product that it is now without the collective efforts of everyone that has contributed to it from the very start, in one way or another.

    Lorelle, thanks for featuring them here. =)

  6. James
    Posted September 13, 2007 at 4:06 am | Permalink

    Hear hear!

  7. Vince
    Posted September 13, 2007 at 4:08 am | Permalink

    Yeah, seems more people from different walks of life are joining WP as their blogging platform. :) I’ve tried other platforms but Im already satisfied with this for it is giving me all my needs in sharing my thoughts and ideas on the web. It’s a community! :D

  8. Posted September 13, 2007 at 9:20 am | Permalink

    Good thoughts in your post… regarding your title, however, one must never forget that although it may “take a village” every village has an idiot. You’ve got to watch out for them.

    No, I’m not implying that you are (or any of your readers), just that the village mentality can’t be trusted blindly, observation and critical thinking are still required… or else the idiot may destroy everything you’ve worked for.

    – Just another aimless rant from http://www.JoeLevi.com

  9. Posted September 13, 2007 at 10:14 am | Permalink

    I would think that the village idiot would go without saying. Every village has one, or two, okay, maybe three, and you learn to live with them because you can’t have a village without a village idiot. Wouldn’t be right.

    If you plan on there being a village idiot, you plan for them and don’t let them do harm. You expect them to do harm, so you anticipate it and just let it slide by. They aren’t worth it. Trust is earned. Idiocy is from birth. ;-)

  10. Posted September 13, 2007 at 12:55 pm | Permalink

    <3 WordPress.

  11. Posted September 13, 2007 at 8:16 pm | Permalink

    I agree – thank you all and thank you Lorelle for writing that. It makes life more fun and for a lot of people that read what I write. Unfortunately I have been threatened and my blogged has been attacked here in Thailand, why I need to password protect it for a while until things calm down – BUT even that could be handled through WP and volunteer work. I am forever grateful.

  12. Posted September 14, 2007 at 11:19 am | Permalink

    im sure it must be quite humbling to see the number of people using wordpress and know that one has contributed to it. WordPress is by far the most popular blogging format out there. I use it for my Africa Safari blog and when i start a new blog i will definitely use it.

  13. Posted September 15, 2007 at 11:21 am | Permalink

    Hip hip hooray! Lets hear it for all the bug hunters and numerous other volunteers!


5 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. [...] tip: Lorelle and Matt. This entry was written by Jeremy and posted on September 13, 2007 at 10:48 pm and filed [...]

  2. [...] WordPress: It Takes a Village [image] Ozh of Planet Ozh has created the WordPress Bug Fixers Heat Map, a tag cloud of the volunteers and staff of […] [...]

  3. […] there are faceless heroes of WordPress, the ones rarely celebrated or honored who work hard to make WordPress better, uncovering and […]

  4. […] WordPress: It Takes a Village: While not a tip, this is a tip to the WordPress Community to remind them that it takes a village to support WordPress and we need to give all of the volunteers and staff a hat tip of thanks for making our blogging so easy and powerful. […]

  5. […] WordPress: It Takes a Village thanks Ozh of Planet Ozh for the WordPress Bug Fixers Heat Map, a tag cloud of the volunteers and staff of Automattic who dedicate so much of their time and energy to making WordPress work and evolve. […]

Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 20,964 other followers

