Skip navigation

Liz Strauss Guides Lorelle on a Quest To Find Her Passion

When called me to warn me she was going to make me the “star” of a story as part of Joanna’s Thematic Links Post Writing Challenge, using the post titles of all the bloggers who participated in a story, I was a little nervous.

The result is delightful and fun: Liz’s Thematic Links Story: Lorelle’s Blogging Birthday Quest.

Once upon a time, a sweet young lady called Lorelle set out to celebrate her blog’s birthday. She went on a quest to find her passion. Seeking knowledge, success, and wisdom, Lorelle went to to the lighthouse at SuccessCREEations. There she saw Chris, the wizard, she had met at SOBCon07. Lorelle was sure that he could help.

In her swirling teal green dress that matched the logo on her blog, Lorelle timidly knocked on the lighthouse door. A very tall, but kindly, Chris pulled back the huge and creaky door. He held a Klondike bar as he looked down, down, down to see the young lady in the swirling teal green dress that matched the swirling logo on her blog. She was looking up, up, up at him.

She noticed that her neck was getting a little crick and stepped back a step.

“I’ve decided to take on more — show people real Blog writing with a purpose,” Lorelle said.

What an honor to be included in this fascinating project!

Liz Strauss and Lorelle’s Birthday Quest Post

Behind the Scenes of the Story

What is most fun about this writing project is that Liz knows most of the bloggers, thus incorporates their personalities and characteristics into many of the references. It’s hard enough to incorporate the blog post titles, but adding the personal touch is part of Liz’s powerful blogging style that makes her so loved.

The “swirling teal green dress”, a running joke in the story, is based upon fact. The first day of the Successful and Outstanding Bloggers Conference, Liz noticed immediately that I was wearing the teal-green colors of my blog. I just wear that color a lot, so it didn’t even occur me that they matched. Since I wore that color through the weekend, she kept introducing me as “Lorelle, wearing the colors of her blog.” It was very funny.

Blue Swirl part of Lorelle on WordPress logoThe “twirl” and “swirl” is a great poke at my blog’s logo, which is the WordPress “W” logo that has been twirled into a hurricane, representative of WordPress.com, Lorelle on “WordPress”, and Hurricane Katrina, which happened at the same time as the birth of this blog, which disrupted my blogging life for the next year.

The black patent leather shoes are an even more private joke. I hate shoes. Until a few years ago when I broke my foot in several places, it was rare to find me even wearing shoes unless I had to. Traveling , unless I’m hiking, climbing mountains, or shoveling out the barn, I wear sandals. I hate closed shoes as they make my feet too hot.

In honor of the “professionalism” of the conference, I bought my first pair of closed shoes in over 15 years, and was foot-miserable through the whole conference. I’ve not worn them since, yet I drag them around with me in my suitcase to all of the conferences, workshops, and meetings. Just in case. I’m still tied to the ridiculous notion that I’m judged by what I wear on my feet.

Thank you, Liz, for including me in your story, and for being such a wonderful and supportive friend. And to all the contributors to this thematic linking project. This is an excellent example of the power of bloggers to work together to create original and unique content, brimming with creativity.

Member of the 9Rules Blogging Network


Site Search Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
Feed on Lorelle on WordPress Subscribe Feedburner iconVia Feedburner Subscribe by Email

Copyright Lorelle VanFossen, member of the 9Rules Network, and author of Blogging Tips, What Bloggers Won't Tell You About Blogging.

4 Comments

  1. Posted August 30, 2007 at 10:30 am | Permalink

    I love the idea of basing your blog theme on what you wear. :)

  2. Posted August 30, 2007 at 11:02 am | Permalink

    Actually, it “was” one of the colors WordPress used to use in its logo. I think it’s freudian that I wear it so much. :D

  3. Posted August 30, 2007 at 12:51 pm | Permalink

    Lorelle, I remember trying to explain to Gorgeous why we were all laughing about the color of your outfit that night in Chicago.

    “She looks nice. What’s the problem?” was her take. She didn’t know it just happened to be the same color as your blog!

    Now where did I put that hat?…

  4. Posted August 30, 2007 at 2:03 pm | Permalink

    lorelle,
    It was an honor to participate in your blog’s birthday in this fashion. I sure wanted it to be special. It’s a delight that you so liked it. :)
    Liz


5 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. [...] who dress for success for the public and work in our underwear. Choose something in between that represents you and your blog while dressing for warm temperatures and hotel air conditioning. Chicago is warm in May. Informal, [...]

  2. [...] Liz Strauss Guides Lorelle on a Quest To Find Her Passion [...]

  3. [...] Liz Strauss Guides Lorelle on a Quest To Find Her Passion [...]

  4. […] Liz Strauss Guides Lorelle on a Quest To Find Her Passion: Liz Strauss awards participants in a link theming contest with a story using the post titles of all the entrants – an adventure where Lorelle goes searching for her blogging passion. […]

  5. […] Liz Strauss Guides Lorelle on a Quest To Find Her Passion […]

Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 19,717 other followers

