Skip navigation

How Do You Find Relevant Blog Posts To Link Too?

By Dawud Miracle @ dmiracle.com

As I wrote about previously, I tend to link out from my blog a ton.

Yet, just linking isn’t enough – at least for me. I want to link to posts that are highly relevant and complementary to the topic I’m writing about. And specifically, I want the text I’m linking from to be a lead-in to what my readers will find when they click-through. In other words, I want people to clearly know that when I link from the word viral marketing, for instance, they’re going to see content about viral marketing.

Now this isn’t always easy to do. Sometimes it’s hard to find a good post about a topic you’d like to link too. Other times, it’s just hard to find a good, current post. But whether it’s easy or not, linking out from your blog definitely has benefits. As Michael Martine added during my last post, “Linking does two big jobs at once: it certainly does help build relationships, and it helps us to provide the resources our readers seek. That’s a big reason why they find us, why they stay and why they subscribe. Then the conversation really begins!”

So how do I find quality, relevant links that will compliment your post?

Basically, I have two methods for finding links. First, my feed reader. Sometimes I may find a post or two that I want to link to there. But really, what’s in my feed reader is so hit-or-miss that I only use it as a secondary method.

My primary method for finding posts to link to is good, old-fashioned search. I use Google & Google Blog Search regularly. While Google’s search will give you the most popular/relevant links based on your search terms, Google Blog Search will give you the most recent posts, based on your search terms. That’s why I use both.

From time to time I’ll also use Technorati, IceRocket and BlogPulse. The latter I like in general because of its trend search which can help track ‘buzz’ over time for a set of keywords. I use this sometimes to see how hot or cold topics have been.

How I use the search engines is I search for relevant key phrases that relate either specifically to my post topic and/or to the word(s) in my post I want to link from. This can be where the hard part comes in. Sometimes it’s just not all too easy to find really good, relevant posts that will add to my reader’s experience. So what do I do?

Sometimes, I don’t link. Other times, I link to a post that’s close, but not exact to my linked text. But the guideline I keep for myself is that the link has to add value and has to be relevant.

So I’m sure you’re wondering how much time this takes. Well, it took me about 20 minutes to write this post. But it took me 25 minutes or so to add in the 27 links. Is the time worth it? I think so. Could I link less and still get benefit? Absolutely. That’s the trade-off; how much time to spend looking for links versus the benefit to your blog and your blog audience.

Oh yeah, and one more thing…write your posts all the way through and edit them first. Then go looking for links. I’ve tried to link as I’m writing – it takes even longer. So write first, edit, then link.

Linking has been one way the ways I’ve build relationships with other bloggers. And it’s certainly one of the ways that I’ve gained readers. There are other ways to find relevant links, of course. What do you do?


picture of Dawud MiracleHi, I’m Dawud Miracle. Professionally, I’m a blog and marketing consultant, business coach, educator and web developer who helps people use their websites to grow their business. Personally I’m a devoted husband and father to two, soon to be three, children. Please let me know if I can help you in any way.

7 Comments

  1. Posted August 21, 2007 at 11:35 pm | Permalink

    write, edit and then link???
    thanks for that, I have tried several ways of writing and never thought of this way, writing a post now, so I will try it :)

    and btw thanks for the tips elsewhere in the post.

  2. dawud
    Posted August 22, 2007 at 6:14 am | Permalink

    @Jermayn – That’s the only efficient way I’ve found.

  3. Posted August 22, 2007 at 9:00 pm | Permalink

    This is fascinating. A part of me thought that you came up with the links first and then built content around them, but that didn’t make sense. I only do that when I find a specific post I want to reference – one that inspires the story. It makes more sense to write and then find the references.

    Brilliant!

    When I do programs and seminars, I love having people come up and tell me how much it meant to them that I commented on their blog or linked to them from my blog. They couldn’t believe that I’d found their blog in the first place.

    I joke that “I’m everywhere”, but honestly, if someone links to me, I see the trackback and check out what they are saying, and then what they are blogging about. It’s that “linking” that creates the relationship between our blogs, and I do my best to thank them when I can and find out more about who they are in the process.

    It’s opened up a whole new world of “friends”! All because of a link. Wow!

  4. dawud
    Posted August 24, 2007 at 7:13 pm | Permalink

    Thanks Lorelle. I can’t imagine crafting the posts around links. Of course, I sometimes have posts on other blogs inspire me to write, so in that case the link would come first. But never 20 of them.

    I think the relationship potential through social media is incredible. Anyone with anything to share, say or sell should be engaged in social media without a doubt.

  5. Posted September 3, 2010 at 4:27 am | Permalink

    I found a useful little SEO tool called IBP which can provide you with sites that are relevant to your search subject. A lot of these sites are blogs you can post on, it gives a spreadsheet of all potential sites/blogs to contribute too. Pretty useful for SEO too!

  6. Rafay Qureshi
    Posted June 18, 2011 at 3:12 am | Permalink

    what is better between Forum profile backlinks and blog comment backlinks ???

    • Posted June 18, 2011 at 9:21 am | Permalink

      Is there a better? Which are more important to you and to your readers to see?


5 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. [...] How Do You Find Relevant Blog Posts To Link Too? Write your posts all the way through and edit them first. Then go looking for links. I’ve tried to link as I’m writing – it takes even longer. So write first, edit, then link. [...]

  2. [...] could use any number of other tools to help in your search. Even your feed reader is an invaluable resource, with dozens of links to [...]

  3. [...] How Do You Find Relevant Blog Posts to Link To?: Finding links to link to from your blog posts can be easy, but Dawud Miracle introduces us to the art of finding the “right” links. [...]

  4. […] How Do You Find Relevant Blog Posts to Link To? […]

  5. […] How Do You Find Relevant Blog Posts to Link To? […]

Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 20,965 other followers

