Skip navigation

Starting Your Podcast

Anniversary logoBy Daniel Brusilovsky

By popular demand, Lorelle has asked me to write another article on podcasting. For all of you starters, here is the article to read! Everyone has there own preferences, and I accept it. But this article is based on my preferences. I use a FREE service called Mypodcast.com. I will show you how to start podcasting with Mypodcast.com!

The first thing that you need is a topic. Basically your topic is what you talk about on your show. On my show I talk about Apple computers and technology. Once you have a topic, you can start planing your episode. In the episode, I have 4 sections: Opening, Topics, Promos/Music and Closing.

Now here comes the more challenging part, recording! With Mypodcast.com, they have a free recorder on the home page of the member section called “MyPodcast Recorder for Windows XP.” I use a free program called Audacity. It is easy to use, and doesn’t use a lot of space.

After you record comes the editing! For me, I need to add theme music, the promos/music break. This process usually takes me 1 hour to 1.5 hours! This is a lengthly process, but it is well worth it! The most important part of podcasting is the final product! The final product is what the listeners hear, and it should be good! MyPodcast Recorder for Windows XP is very easy to use, and you can upload straight to Mypodcast.com. When uploading, you need a title, description, and an optional image. Because Mypodcast.com is a free service, you need to add advertising.

From there, your episode is online, and on the whole internet! If you have any questions about me or my podcast, please comment here or visit my blog and I will answer all your podcasting questions!


Daniel Brusilovsky blogs and podcasts covering Apple computers and technology. He is a sophomore at Aragon High School in California and co-President of the technology club, Mousesquad.

7 Comments

  1. Posted August 15, 2007 at 8:51 pm | Permalink

    I hope you enjoy this and it helps!!

  2. Posted August 15, 2007 at 10:21 pm | Permalink

    If I upload a podcast to Mypodcast, what happens to it? Is it free for everyone to use? Can it be easily linked to? How do I get the link in my blog? Just like any old link or does it need to be embedded with a special program or Plugin?

    And is it still covered and protected by copyright when uploaded to Mypodcast, or is it GPL and anyone can do whatever they want to it?

  3. Posted August 16, 2007 at 3:21 pm | Permalink

    What happens is it uploaded to your page. It is very easy to link to!

    ~Daniel

  4. Posted August 18, 2007 at 2:21 am | Permalink

    If I’m not mistaken, when you create a MyPodcast account, you will be given a subdirectory, right? Do all my uploaded podcasts appear on that directory? Is there an option to “hide” certain podcasts (does it offer privacy settings)?

    I’m asking because I don’t want to create an account and then realize I don’t like it and stop using it. It would then be a waste of resources and bandwidth and what-not.

  5. Posted September 1, 2008 at 5:32 am | Permalink

    Thanks for the helpful information! I’m thinking about starting a Podcast for videos.

    ~Dan

  6. Ron
    Posted March 13, 2009 at 1:30 pm | Permalink

    The mypodcast server has been down now for several days. Unable to contact them, why, again, the server is down. The email is solely designated through the “down” website. Does anyone know of another way to contact mypodcast? Would simply like to get some idea as if it will be up and running anytime soon. I have a very nice audience base and I feel compelled to let my podcast listeners know when they can resume downloads.

    • Posted March 14, 2009 at 6:09 pm | Permalink

      Please contact the service directly through their WHOIS or whatever contact information you have. Do not go around asking anyone and everyone for help as it is a waste of their time and yours. I do not know anything about that service. Good luck with your search.


4 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. [...] las een bericht over het beginnen van een podcast. In dit bericht schrijft Daniel Brusilovsky dat hij mypodcast.com gebruikt voor het maken van een [...]

  2. […] Starting Your Podcast: Daniel Brusilovsky continues with his series on podcasting with the basics of getting started. […]

  3. […] Starting Your Podcast […]

  4. […] Starting Your Podcast […]

Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 20,971 other followers

