Skip navigation

How to Avoid Mental Gymnastics While Writing Your Blog

By Greg Balanko-Dickson

A reminder to keep it simple.

While awaiting the arrival of Lorelle’s blogging book, I flipped open What No One Ever Tells You About Blogging and Podcasting by Ted Demopoulos. In writing his book, Ted Demopoulos interviewed a bunch of people about blogging. These gems come courtesy Guy Kawasaki:

Evangelizing your blog is tip # 59. I felt this tip was so strong that Lorelle would not mind me sharing it, despite that it comes from a competitive book.

“Think of your blog as a product. It’s tough to market crap.” And Kawasaki suggests that you “market the crap out of it”. What I like about this concept is the simplicity of it. Demopoulos writes “Every time you’re writing a post, think about whether anyone will care. If no one will care, you’ve got a poor product.”

“Think of your blog as a book,” not a diary. Diaries are written with the expectation that no one will ever read them. A blog on the other hand is designed to be read and interacted with by allowing people to leave comments.

Personally, I like to start a blog post by asking myself, “What is it about this (topic, post, idea) that people care about?” It helps me get into the mindset of the reader.

Remember, the reader and your future customer does not care about you!

They care about themselves, their needs and wants. In my experience, taking on the customers mindset while I write keeps it simple and interesting too.


Greg Balanko-Dickson is author of two business books, third generation entrepreneur and The Remote Control CEO.

10 Comments

  1. Posted August 6, 2007 at 8:00 am | Permalink

    I can’t agree more with this. I’ve learned that my readers do not care about me as they do about themselves. They do not care about subjects that are close to my heart unless they’re also close to theirs.

    But if I write about things that benefit them, even in the slightest ways, they leave me comments. They start conversing with me.

    Conclusion? They care about themselves (and I’m OK with it), LOL.

  2. Posted August 6, 2007 at 8:13 am | Permalink

    BTW, I thought I should alert you that there is an error in the URL that points to the “What No One Ever Tells You About Blogging and Podcasting” site..

  3. Posted August 6, 2007 at 9:21 am | Permalink

    Thanks, Pelf. I’ve corrected the link.

  4. Posted August 6, 2007 at 9:25 am | Permalink

    Pelf and Lorelle, not sure what happened there, thanks for making the correction Lorelle and I am really looking forward to reading your book!

  5. Posted August 6, 2007 at 9:59 am | Permalink

    Thanks for the mention Greg. Guy certainly expressed this perfectly!

  6. Posted August 6, 2007 at 10:30 am | Permalink

    I guess that all depends on whether or not you want to attract readers. I won’t blog about something that doesn’t interest me, no matter how many hits it would generate. Nor do I expect the people that do come by to be interested in everything I post. It’s very easy to create a generic post that pushes buttons and causes a flurry of comments, but if I’m not interested, then why should I expect others to be?

    On the other hand, it’s a excellent point that most readers don’t want a diary, but rather episodes in your life that they can relate too.

    I’m enjoying these guest blogger posts for example. :D

  7. Posted August 6, 2007 at 2:30 pm | Permalink

    I am also enjoying the guest blogger articles. Nice change of pace.

    My blog is business related, and with tips for web designers, but I try to interject some personal things from time to time to keep it a bit lighter. I really struggle to keep the blog from being too personal, because there are many things I would like to write about, but I understand that it’s focus needs to stay on geeky web topics.

  8. Posted August 6, 2007 at 3:34 pm | Permalink

    Since I am a gymnast, I don’t get it!

  9. Posted August 10, 2007 at 1:02 pm | Permalink

    Well, a blog is defined as an online diary. That’s what it is. But I guess that doesn’t mean it has to be uninteresting. If what you’re going through mirrors what other people are also going through, you might get readers and befriend fellow bloggers.

    I was going through my recent posts and I have a lot of posts about my life, and only a few of those were generally applicable to others. But I really don’t care. I don’t blog to get readers and comments, though I’m probably odd in this area.

    When you blog, you’re indexed by search engines, so months or years down the road, if you wrote anything interesting at all, your articles will be found. Not that the hypothetical person who found your six-month-old article will be interested in everything on your blog, but others will likely be interested in those other areas, so it’s not totally useless.

  10. Posted September 11, 2007 at 12:44 am | Permalink

    This is amazing, funny, strange, and crazy. I wrote a short post a while ago on exactly the same idea, and guess what? I haven’t even read the book you quoted, nor do I know anything about the author!


3 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. [...] How to Avoid Mental Gymnastics While Writing Your Blog [...]

  2. […] How to Avoid Mental Gymnastics While Writing Your Blog: Writing blog posts can be difficult, so Greg Balanko-Dickson helps you to understand how to make it simple and easy to convey your message on your blog. […]

  3. […] How to Avoid Mental Gymnastics While Writing Your Blog […]

Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 20,278 other followers

