Skip navigation

If I was to start writing & blogging today I would…

By Greg Balanko-Dickson

I have been writing online daily since 1998 and only converted to blogging in 2005. In the last two years things have changed considerably and I would do things differently. This all started with reading a post courtesy Steve @ Micro Persuasion:

…the world now tuns faster. The blogosphere has transformed from the NFL to a quicker style of play that more closely resembles Arena League Football. Thanks to micro-blogging and social networks Web 2.0 is now more about rapid exchanges and it’s very mobile too. I am not the only one who notices how the sphere is changing. Jeremiah says MicroMedia is taking hold. This is all transforming how I express myself online. I learn new things faster and easier than I did before through real-time microblogged conversations. Today on Twitter, for example, we discovered that Google is indexing some Twitter streams and blogs in under 30 minutes. Via Micro Persuasion

Scanning a couple hundred feeds daily, coaching clients, working on a new business web application, and writing my next book The Remote Control CEO keeps me busy to say the least.

Blog Long, Twitter Short

If you asked me for a blog and business development strategy, I would say follow Steve’s example and use Twitter or Pownce to build relationships and your social network – then use your blog for longer posts.

I have always been a longer post guy, articles really. I can see how Twitter would help me to be more succinct. Now just have to make some room in my day to make Twitter a habit.


Greg Balanko-Dickson is author of two business books, third generation entrepreneur and The Remote Control CEO.

5 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] post coming up, you really need to read this post from Tom … Lorelle on WordPress: Lorelle reminisces about what she’d do differently … Practical Blogging: Robyn asks if Vista’s ready […]

  2. […] If I was to start writing & blogging today I would… […]

  3. […] If I was to start writing & blogging today I would…: Greg Balanko-Dickson asks himself the question of “what if” and how things would be different if we only knew then what we know today about blogging. […]

  4. […] If I was to start writing & blogging today I would… […]

  5. […] If I was to start writing & blogging today I would… […]

Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 21,259 other followers

