Skip navigation

Lessons from a Bookstore on Blog Writing

Some Writing Tips that I learned at the Book Store Tonight from A Day in the Life of a Systems Buster is a wonderful look at how to learn how to write.

1. Don’t bother practice writing in an isolated journal if I plan on publishing my work. Journals are great for self-reflection and personal growth work. However, if I am writing to publish, I might as well practice writing in public…
2. I am only fooling myself by trying to write my novel at Starbucks. Robert was saying that often, writers will only distract themselves by attempting to write their creative pieces to the rhythm of cappuccino machines and gossip…
3. I do not have to capture some grand, philosophical idea in order for readers to resonate with my writing…Robert was saying that the best place to look for universal resonance among readers is within my own self…
7. I must stay in integrity with the promises and agreements that I make…

While the lessons come from learning how to write a book, they can also apply to learning how to write a blog. I like the idea of practice writing in public, not private, as a way to really work on improving your writing skills.

Sounds like a good reason to blog, doesn’t it?

Related Articles

Member of the 9Rules Blogging Network


Site Search Tags: , , , , , ,
Feed on Lorelle on WordPress Subscribe Feedburner iconVia Feedburner Subscribe by Email

Copyright Lorelle VanFossen, member of the 9Rules Network, and author of Blogging Tips, What Bloggers Won't Tell You About Blogging.

7 Comments

  1. Posted July 25, 2007 at 4:50 am | Permalink

    Good points. For me, writing my novel came from my blogging. Learning to write posts and more importantly, learning how to write comments created the outlet I needed to write my book.

  2. Posted July 25, 2007 at 11:02 am | Permalink

    I’ve tried writing in public places several times, both in libraries and coffee shop-type places. I’ve tried getting used to it, just to see if I can improve my writing that way.

    The problem is, my productivity level actual plummets. I get jumpy and stressed whenever I try to write and there are other people around; it’s terribly distracting.

  3. Posted July 25, 2007 at 1:20 pm | Permalink

    I think that beginning bloggers should exercise the same caution as people who are learning to drive in public–there is a similar potential for public harm.

  4. Posted July 25, 2007 at 7:14 pm | Permalink

    Well, I’m not writing a novel, but if I have some time to relax, I like to write in coffee shops. When I need to concentrate, I need complete silence in my home office.

  5. Posted July 26, 2007 at 6:18 am | Permalink

    I think the point that journals have a specific, limited purpose is quite important. Some of us make a blog our journal. Only we don’t capture enough to build a structure for introspection, and we aren’t focused enough for growth work.

    And writing for public distribution should have neither goal.

    I will have to think about that one.

  6. Posted August 10, 2007 at 8:51 pm | Permalink

    Hi Lorelle,
    Just started up a Word Press blog last month..it’s been a blast. Now to tackle that novel. It’s a quarter done back has been on the back burner for a bit. Was planning on reviving it this week. I could never work in a public place. My imaginary world needs all of my concentration. The sound of coffee grinds slamming into a knock-box would tears holes in that world.

  7. D.L. Brantley
    Posted August 18, 2007 at 11:08 pm | Permalink

    I can write if distracted. It’s not always easy but I can do it. I think I would like to start going to a local coffee shop. Sometimes my mind won’t
    talk to me at home. It’s hard to get ideas at home sometimes. I think being around people in a relaxing atmosphere would do my imagination some good.


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] Lessons from a Bookstore on Blog Writing […]

  2. […] Lessons from a Bookstore on Blog Writing: I explore some lessons learned by myself and others on the mythology of writing, especially writing a book or a blog. […]

Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 21,259 other followers

