Skip navigation

How Do You Access Lorelle on WordPress?

Information on feedsThe traffic statistics say one thing here on WordPress.com. Sitemeter says another. My Feedburner stats say something else.

I want to know how you access and visit Lorelle on WordPress. Do you read this blog through the built-in RSS feed provided by WordPress? Or through Feedburner?

Do you actually visit the site? Through the front page, keeping up with the most recent posts?

Or do you track a specific category of posts with your feed reader?

Have you availed yourself of the new email subscriptions I offer? I have one which emails you the Weekly Digest summary of all the events in “Lorelle World” on Fridays and another which sends daily updates on new activity here on Lorelle on WordPress.

There are so many ways to read a blog today, I want to know how you are reading and keeping track of Lorelle on WordPress.

Once you tell me how you access this blog, give a thought to how your readers really read your blog and keep up with your news. Do you know how? Are you sure?

For more information on the various feeds available with a WordPress blog, see Understanding, Using, and Customizing WordPress Blog Feeds.

Member of the 9Rules Blogging Network


Site Search Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Copyright Lorelle VanFossen, member of the 9Rules Network
Feed on Lorelle on WordPress Subscribe Feedburner iconVia Feedburner Subscribe by Email

55 Comments

  1. Posted May 23, 2007 at 7:02 am | Permalink

    I subscribe through IE7 and read the feed. I only come to the blog if I want to make a comment or read other comments on a post.

  2. Posted May 23, 2007 at 7:16 am | Permalink

    I come here through the Recent Entries on 9rules.

  3. Posted May 23, 2007 at 7:18 am | Permalink

    I read your blog through Google reader, I’m subscribed in feedburner :)

  4. Posted May 23, 2007 at 7:24 am | Permalink

    Lorelle, I read your feedburner feed through my feedreader

  5. Posted May 23, 2007 at 7:35 am | Permalink

    My Bloglines picks your Feedburner feed, and I read ALL your posts. If time permits and the topic is right (they’re almost always “right”), I’ll click through and leave a comment :)

  6. Posted May 23, 2007 at 7:51 am | Permalink

    I subscribe to your main feed and then come here should I feel the need to comment. Like this post.

  7. Posted May 23, 2007 at 8:20 am | Permalink

    Google Reader picks up the WordPress feed… I rarely actually visit the site itself.

  8. Posted May 23, 2007 at 8:22 am | Permalink

    I get the feed through wordpress’ RSS. If I’m going to read the whole post I go to the page. I’m not getting e-mails (I never do that).

  9. Posted May 23, 2007 at 8:23 am | Permalink

    I use the RSS feed and visit articles that I think will be interesting based on the title. Which usually ends up being all of them.

  10. Posted May 23, 2007 at 8:41 am | Permalink

    I use Google Reader which is setup to use http://lorelle.wordpress.com/feed/


    Kevin

    http://technogeek.org/

  11. Pradeep
    Posted May 23, 2007 at 9:03 am | Permalink

    Subscribed via Google Reader.

  12. Posted May 23, 2007 at 9:10 am | Permalink

    I used to visit the site but now pick up the feed (http://lorelle.wordpress.com/feed/) through Google Reader. Keep up the great work, Lorelle!

  13. Posted May 23, 2007 at 9:10 am | Permalink

    I’ve been using the default WordPress feed. Feeddemon auto discovered it and so I never changed.

  14. Collin
    Posted May 23, 2007 at 9:19 am | Permalink

    I use the built in WordPress feed through Thunderbird.

    I was considering turning off the feed on my (non wp.com) blog a while ago and asked if anyone read using it. I got a few yes replies so left it in place. I don’t bother with Feedburner or the like, I can’t see the point.

  15. Posted May 23, 2007 at 9:33 am | Permalink

    I read your site through Google’s feedreader…I only recently started using it though and before I did, I visited your site from the homepage whenever I was doing my daily ’rounds’. :)

  16. Posted May 23, 2007 at 9:39 am | Permalink

    I read the WordPress feed in my rss-reader, Vienna. Only come to the web site to comment.

  17. Posted May 23, 2007 at 9:52 am | Permalink

    I read your excellent blog via the WordPress feed through Google Reader.

  18. Posted May 23, 2007 at 9:59 am | Permalink

    Feedburner and Google Reader.
    I only visit when i want to post a comment or link to your blog (to choose something as a quote and because it does feel nicer to read things here…)

  19. Posted May 23, 2007 at 10:25 am | Permalink

    I subscribe to your site-wide RSS feed using FireFox’s live bookmarks which only shows me the entry’s title. If I see a new entry I’ve not read, I’ll click it and come through to the post’s page.

    I never visit your homepage. I’ve often thought a ‘next post’ and ‘previous post’ link would be helpful, but I’ve just spotted them – they’re a bit small!

  20. Posted May 23, 2007 at 10:25 am | Permalink

    I use google reader and this feed

    http://lorelle.wordpress.com/feed/

    But when I find a post interesting I visit the site.

  21. Posted May 23, 2007 at 10:31 am | Permalink

    I use Bloglines to aggregate feeds. If I didn’t, there’s no way in Hades that I’d be able to keep up on all the sites I read.

    FYI, I haven’t seen your site popping up in the WordPress feed on the admin panel since I upgraded to 2.1 a month ago.

  22. Posted May 23, 2007 at 11:11 am | Permalink

    Bloglines, then visit your site if I want to read the full article, comments, etc.

  23. Posted May 23, 2007 at 11:45 am | Permalink

    Your site-wide feed with RssReader that pops up new post titles. Clicking on it gives either the excerpt or the full site page. When looking for a specific post I visit your site directly in IE7.

  24. Posted May 23, 2007 at 11:57 am | Permalink

    I browse the articles using Feedburner subscription and then link back to the main site when I’m interested in an article.
    :)
    C
    Firefox

  25. Posted May 23, 2007 at 12:03 pm | Permalink

    On my personal desktop computer: from the rss feed (with snarfer on XP or akregator on Kubuntu, depending)
    On my personal laptop: from bloglines.
    From my office: I type lorelle.wordpress.com in the navigation bar.
    From any other computer: I click my blogroll
    Apparently I like to diversify.

  26. Posted May 23, 2007 at 12:23 pm | Permalink

    I use your wordpress feed in thunderbird

  27. Posted May 23, 2007 at 12:46 pm | Permalink

    I read all the posts within Netvibes which uses http://lorelle.wordpress.com/feed/ (which then gets “translated” to the Feedburner address)
    I use the website view in Netvibes which shows the posts exactly as they look like on your blog instead of a text only feed view.

    To comment I go “outside” of Netvibes to your blog because I use coComments to keep track of my comments and it doesn’t work within Netvibes.

  28. Posted May 23, 2007 at 2:23 pm | Permalink

    This is great. I’m keeping score!

    Jesse: When I was added to the Planet WordPress list, some people complained that it would be non-stop Lorelle, so I figured they removed me from the list when I saw my own posts drop off. Instead they changed it to only posts in the WordPress News category, since people were complaining that they hated non-WordPress topics in their feed. I need to talk to them about changing that. Thanks for reminding me.

  29. Posted May 23, 2007 at 2:48 pm | Permalink

    I use the standard feed (WordPress RSS) with Firefox Live Bookmarks, or if I’m on my Macbook it’s generally just by popping to the homepage.

  30. Posted May 23, 2007 at 2:56 pm | Permalink

    Feedreader via Google Reader/Firefox. Unless I want to post a comment, like this, in which case I actually visit the site directly.

  31. Posted May 23, 2007 at 3:33 pm | Permalink

    I just subscribed to the feed today (via Bloglines) and will scan feed there and click to blog when I want to read more of it or the comments.

  32. Posted May 23, 2007 at 3:41 pm | Permalink

    I subscribe through Google Reader, but I also visit the site to read the comments or when I need to search for something.

  33. Posted May 23, 2007 at 7:02 pm | Permalink

    I’m subscribed to your wordpress RSS feed, through bloglines and netvibes (I’m deciding between the two at the moment). I prefer WordPress feeds to feedburner feeds… don’t know why!

  34. Posted May 23, 2007 at 7:44 pm | Permalink

    I’m subscribed to the WordPress feed and read it via NetNewsWire or Google Reader.

  35. Posted May 23, 2007 at 8:38 pm | Permalink

    Hi Lorelle,

    First I’d like to say I appreciate all the time and effort you put into quality content on your blog. I’m just learning blogging and your WP blog has been a tremendous help to me.

    I access your feed through the WP feed. On most all of the blogs I subscribe to, I use the standard orange icon that shows up in my IE7 toolbar. Realizing now it would be smarter on my part to use a reader such as Google’s so I can access my subscriptions when I’m away from my own laptop and desktop.

  36. Jim
    Posted May 23, 2007 at 9:14 pm | Permalink

    I subscribe us the RSS feed using FireFox’s live bookmarks. If I see a post of interest, I click go to the post’s page.

    I feel like a dinosaur after reading the rest. Perhaps I should try the Google reader.

  37. Posted May 23, 2007 at 9:42 pm | Permalink

    Through your WP.com feed. (NetNewsWire)

  38. johno692001
    Posted May 23, 2007 at 11:08 pm | Permalink

    Google reader, though I don’t actually read the feed in the reader – the reader alerts me, then I visit the post on the site – I prefer to see the post in some kind of ‘context’.

  39. Posted May 24, 2007 at 1:38 am | Permalink

    I read the WordPress feed via Google Reader. I click through quite often to read comments, or as maique said, because it’s nicer to read longer posts on your site.

    (I’ve really enjoyed reading Lorelle on WordPress, by the way – thanks for all your hard work!)

  40. Coops
    Posted May 24, 2007 at 1:47 am | Permalink

    I use Google Reader which is setup to use http://lorelle.wordpress.com/feed/

    The funny thing is on my personal blog the hits outweigh the feed subscribers, and on my other blog the feed is 3 times the hits! Could you explain that?

  41. Posted May 24, 2007 at 2:08 am | Permalink

    I use Google Homepage – sorry, iGoogle – for the feed, then come to the site to read the articles.

  42. Posted May 24, 2007 at 4:27 am | Permalink

    I use the site, haven’t organized a feed reader to consolidate the blogs I visit yet.

  43. Posted May 24, 2007 at 4:42 am | Permalink

    I use Google Reader which is setup to use: http://lorelle.wordpress.com/feed/

    I have it set up to show me the topic — and then I click through when it’s something that is of interest — which — I must say — is better then 90% of the time.

    Thanks for your great posts.

  44. Posted May 24, 2007 at 5:51 am | Permalink

    I’m suscribed to your feed directly (lorelle.w.com/feed/) via Google Reader.

    I do find myself coming frequently to the website though.

  45. Ree
    Posted May 24, 2007 at 2:03 pm | Permalink

    I subscribe to the default WordPress feed in Bloglines. Sometimes I click through to the site and sometimes I just read in Bloglines. I tried subscribing to the Feedburner feed weeks ago, but Bloglines kept marking old entries as new. I think that may have had to do with adding or removing FeedFlares, though I’m uncertain.

  46. palurie
    Posted May 24, 2007 at 3:19 pm | Permalink

    Lorelle!
    I enjoy your Feeds thru Google Reader, but often(usually) click to the site for the formatting and other links.
    Thanks for a great site
    Peter

  47. Posted May 24, 2007 at 3:36 pm | Permalink

    Hi Lorelle!

    I find it very efficient to use the Sage feed reader plugin for Firefox. It’s open in the sidebar at leas half of the time. Whenever I have an urge see what happened at the sites I subscribe to, I just click a feed, and I get a fast presentation directly in the ‘fox of the latest posts.

    So I’m happy to use your WordPress feed. When I see something, I want to give a little more attention, I just click on the post heading, and get it with your nice formatting and commenting fascilities.

  48. robcomm
    Posted May 24, 2007 at 10:37 pm | Permalink

    Using bloglines here. I also click through on articles when I have time/interest to comment. I also come back to search for articles that have resources I need at the time.

  49. Posted May 25, 2007 at 7:09 am | Permalink

    Call me old fashioned, but I visit the front page to see the new entries a couple of times a month. However, most of the time I see the Planet WordPress News on my own blog.

  50. Posted May 25, 2007 at 12:25 pm | Permalink

    I’m coming a little late. But I usually view your site first in my reader – usually for headlines. But I’ll read your posts on site. Same with BlogHerald.

  51. Posted May 25, 2007 at 2:44 pm | Permalink

    I use the WP feed, I think, for the blog and for the comments as a whole. I’ve subscribed for awhile. I then come to the site if I want to comment or read more detail or to bookmark a post for the edublogs.org at del.icio.us/edublogs The comments feed is great in GreatNews because I can rapidly skip all the pseudo comments (how ever do you delete the false negatives?) and to see if I should read the post again and its comments.

    Over at //engtech I pointed out–

    “I can only afford the free stuff.

    Great News– so I can skim headlines, label stuff to save, have it mark what I’m particularly watching for, quickly search for items I’ve seen, email the url of the entry to others, notify me of new posts on sites I’m supporting, provide an archive of my blogs, monitor the feed status of my blogs, plays well with others (still has multi-task problems with Eudora+FireFox+dial-up but best tool I’ve found), easy to add new feeds, easy to find feed properties

    SharpReader — I use only as an alternative archive of my own blogs, then use the mini-pictures etc from one blog (e.g., Flickr) into another posting. Easier to find and back-up the feed content on my local machine than Great News.

    I use the browser for other things than reading headlines or tracking the world.”

    http://internetducttape.com/2007/03/15/request-for-comments-which-rss-reader-and-why/

  52. Posted May 25, 2007 at 7:01 pm | Permalink

    I read your blogs directly through lorelle.wordpress.com almost everyday. I think this gives me more choices : read past articles, read others related posts, read other links…etc. I do have a email subscription but I still prefer to read it here. I came across your blog in April via account registration with WordPress.com. It is only 2 months old. Your blog really give me a lot of useful resources. Whenever I face the blogging issues I will definitely think of this site and the WP forum.

  53. Gloin
    Posted May 26, 2007 at 11:17 pm | Permalink

    About once a week, I check the headlines in NetNewsWire Lite. Then, if it’s interesting I may read a post. Only if I want to comment do I visit the site. If there’s only an abstract I’m about 99.99999% sure to not read it.

  54. Posted May 28, 2007 at 8:21 am | Permalink

    I have been subscribed to your feed for about half a year now and am using Feedreader (www.feedreader.com). Why? Because it’s excellent programm and is made in Estonia where also Skype was born.

  55. Posted June 16, 2007 at 9:56 pm | Permalink

    I usually come across your blog when I’m looking for wordpress-related answers via Google…and then end up staying for a while.


3 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] How Do You Access Lorelle on WordPress? […]

  2. […] How Do You Access Lorelle on WordPress? […]

  3. […] How Do You Access Lorelle on WordPress? […]

Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 21,259 other followers

