Skip navigation

Wanted: WordPress Plugins for Me

WordPress PluginsA lot of people are overwhelmed with the number and variety of WordPress Plugins available. Many admit that they would like to write a WordPress Plugin, but there already is at least two WordPress Plugins to do just about anything you want on your blog.

That’s not true. There are still plenty of needs out there for WordPress Plugins that haven’t been written.

While working on this month long series on WordPress Plugins, I came up with some ideas for WordPress Plugins I want that I didn’t find. And if I want them, the odds are that there are at least two other people out there who would want these, too.

Instant Reply Comment WordPress Plugin: As I have so vocally expressed, I’m terribly unhappy with the way comments are handled in the WordPress Administration Panels. If the WordPress developers won’t fix it, someone has to come up with a WordPress Plugin to make right what should be better. I want a WordPress Plugin that allows me to comment without viewing the post. I want a Plugin that allows responding to blog comments from the Comments Administration Panel. Why should I click on the link to the post, wait for the post page to load, then scroll down past the article to the comment form to leave a comment? And then have to click back through two or three pages to get back to the next comment in the comment queue and repeat the process again? Give me a Plugin that allows commenting right at the point where I manage comments.

Post Preview Button Restored WordPress Plugin: It’s simple but I want the damn Post Preview link back in all WordPress versions. I HATE scrolling down to see the preview of my post after I’ve hit Save and Continue Editing. I have to scroll past the PodPress box and Image management box and the custom fields, excerpts, and, and, and…just get me to the post on time. Many people want the post preview gone as it does make reloading the Write Post panel take longer, uses up bandwidth, and can mix up pageview recordings on ads, but that’s a different issue. Turn that off globally and take the link to the Preview Post away then. For the rest of us and myself, I need to see what the post will look like before I hit Publish. I tend to type fast and make mistakes with codes and tags like links, so I want to make sure the link I just added worked and didn’t turn the entire paragraph into a link. I need to make sure I haven’t bungled a blockquote, picture, or something else. I worked very hard to beg for the Post Preview to be added, then they took away the link that jumps me down to see it. Put it back. Now. Or give me a Plugin that will.

Controlled Post Data Exports WordPress Plugin: I’d like a very controllable and flexible WordPress Plugin to export specific data from my WordPress blog database. For instance, I’d love to be able to export all the post titles from the WordPress Tips section on my WordPress.com blog so I could easily turn that into a list to use in a post or a Site Map. Or filter it down to a list of all post titles (in links) in the WordPress Tips category with the keyword “SEO” in them. That would help me see what I’ve written about SEO so I can use their references in another article I’m writing elsewhere. Or maybe I’d like to convert my database of posts into a book. By giving me the control to export specific categories and posts by date or keyword, I could easily create an export file for importing into a word processing or document management program for editing and sorting.

Search the Post Editor TextArea: Some browsers now incorporate the “find” search through the textarea of a post in the Write Post panel. Some do not. A long time ago, at my begging request, Owen Winkler created a Find Text WordPress Plugin to help us search inside of the post we’re writing in the Write Post Panel. I loved it, but it broke with an upgrade of WordPress. Bring it back. While most people don’t write enough to fill in the post textarea box, some of us write great missives. When they need to be edited for a wrong word or phrase or screwed up tag, we have to scroll through hunting, or copy and paste it into a text editor and search it there. Give us the ability to search our text without leaving the Write Post Panel. Give me a WordPress Plugin that adds a “find” button to my Write Post button bar (in Rich Text Editor mode and NOT) so I can search my post content.

Sort Posts by Title, Author, Category, Comment Count, and Date: Coldforged developed an amazing WordPress Plugin called Enhanced Post View WordPress Plugin. It added more management features to your Manage Posts Panel including sorting the list by date, category, and author. It hasn’t been updated to work with new versions of WordPress and I bemoan the loss daily. I’d love to see the column headers for the Manage posts table changed to sortable links, so I could sort the list of posts by title, author, category, comment count, date, and maybe even more. In fact, that whole panel needs to be changed and updated to make it more streamlined and easier to use, but let’s start simple. Give me a WordPress Plugin with a drop down list to help me sort and manage my posts better. Oh, and give me an option to see more than 20 posts at a time.

Blog Status Announcement or Alert: I would love to see a WordPress Plugin that features a Homeland Security style announcement in the header of a blog (or near it) that announces the status of the blogger’s blogging schedule. For example, I travel a lot and I’d love to have a little announcement appear saying “On the road. Expect a delay in responding to comments for the next 3 days.” or “On vacation for a week – leave your thoughts and I’ll get back to them when my brain has healed.” Or if a blogger realizes that their schedule is just too much for the next few weeks and they can post “Will resume regularly scheduled programming soon” or something that alerts us to the blogger’s awareness that they can’t keep their blogging up at the pace they have been, but letting us know they will be back. Or maybe “It’s a girl!” Or “I got the job!” Things like that. I’ve seen such announcements on various blogs, but I haven’t seen a WordPress Plugin other than Easy Announcement WordPress Plugin, which works but could be easier to work with. It would allow text and maybe a graphic and would not be a Page or a post. Just an easily turned on and off feature controlled through the Administration Panels.

Pre-Publish Reminder List: I write for a variety of blogs, including my own. Each one has its own little idiosyncrasies, things I need to do before I hit the Publish button. For example, here on , I have to remember to add my signature and tag block, as well as graphic icons to articles within a specific category. On the , I have to remember to write the post excerpt and set the “more” tag, include a bio line, and several other tasks. On , I use the Text Control Plugin which requires a Save and Continue Editing pass, then clicking the checkbox on the just saved post, before I can hit Publish. I want a Pre-Publish Reminder Task List WordPress Plugin that appears in the left sidebar or in the space around the Save and Continue and Publish buttons on the Write Post panel to remind me of the things I have to do before I hit Publish. It needs to be customizable so I can write out the tasks in an Admin Panel menu, with an option to colorize a line or two to catch my eye if I start ignoring the list.

Widgets for WordPress and WordPress.com. Why Not Widgets for WordPress Administration Panels? There are a lot of various WordPress Widgets, functions, and options I would love to be able to add to my WordPress and WordPress.com Administration Panels with widgets. I’d love to control what blog statistics I see where. I’d adore a TO DO list or calendar featuring which dates I have posts on on my Write Post panel, making sure I don’t forget something. I’m often in a hurry and forget to add the Tagging Bookmarklet I use for the tags and signature on this blog. So a “things to do” reminder list would be invaluable, as well as the ability to add that feature directly to the Write Post panel with a Widget. The Post Avatar WordPress Plugin features a list of images you use the most or repeatedly on your blog and I’d love to see that as a Widget for WordPress Administration Panels so I wouldn’t have to go hunting every time I want to reuse one of my category icons you see in the top right corner of this post. There are so many features that could be added to customize the backend administration of your WordPress blog, so why can’t WordPress Administration Panels get widgets? Huh?

Comments Waiting Count: I don’t know why WordPress developers can add a count of the Akismet comment spams in the submenu, and Spam Karma can count the new comment spams waiting for me since the last time I viewed the list, and WordPress developers can’t add a comment count for any new comments since last time I viewed the Comments Panel? I want a WordPress Plugin that does no more than adds a count of the comments waiting in the Comments queue on the Comments submenu tab. If I Save or Publish a post, I want the Comments tab menu to read “Comments (4)” so I will know that I need to click it and see who loves me enough to say something! Getting comments is thrilling. It’s the whole reason to blog. So why not give me a reason to jump up and down and shout “I’ve got comments” and rush to the Comments panel. Give me a Comments Waiting Count WordPress Plugin.

There are WordPress Plugins that help you do specialize things, and then there are WordPress Plugins that make WordPress better. I think these are the latter.

If you could have someone build a WordPress Plugin for any need you have on your WordPress blog, what would it be? Do you think that the Instant Reply to Comments WordPress Plugin is a good idea? What about the Comments Waiting Count WordPress Plugin? What feature would you like to see made pluggable for your WordPress blog?


Site Search Tags: , , , , , ,
Copyright Lorelle VanFossen, member of the 9Rules Network Feed on Lorelle on WordPress Subscribe

Member of the 9Rules Blogging Network

69 Comments

  1. Posted March 7, 2007 at 4:24 pm | Permalink

    Lorelle, as usual your this post is informative, insightful, and tends to make me want to quit my day job and become a WordPress plugin developer!

    If I weren’t so addicted to plugins and themes, I’d likely learn how to actually right one, or more and address some of the “missing links” you talk about.

    My concern with this sort of post though is that there really are only a small fraction of your readers that are truly in a position to act upon the creation process. The likes of Alex King or Robert Marsh, two developers that just occur to me are so far ahead of me in plugin development capabilities that I’m unlikely to even go down that pathway.

    Which is probably unfortunate, however my guess is that most people fit into my boat (it’s a very large boat ;) ), and not into the class of Uber Developer.

    And I think we’d both agree that there’s nothing worse than spending the time and effort to evaluate a plugin that is coded poorly, has little in the way of configurable functionality, and worse, might harm your server operations due to poorly designed code.

    So, alas, I’ll continue my addictive plugin evaluating ways, and with my subscription to your feed, hopefully get to check out new plugins that solve some of your desired functionality in the near future as well!

    Go Boldly!

  2. Posted March 7, 2007 at 4:38 pm | Permalink

    When I started this, I “knew” that most WordPress Plugins were written by individuals, not one person who had written 20 Plugins. I found a different story, though. While there are a few wonderfully prolific WordPress Plugin authors, they are actually a very select minority. I found totally unknown and unacclaimed Plugin authors who have written more than a dozen Plugins, and hundreds and hundreds of Plugin authors who have written one Plugin and written it very well.

    There is plenty of room for many WordPress Plugin writers and authors. There is also a LOT of room for improvement in standardization and “control” over how a Plugin is written and interacts with WordPress. But it is honestly an open market. The possibilities for what is out there is amazing.

    Even after trying to come up with just one more Plugin idea for this article and coming up empty, after hitting the Publish button I thought of four more “wanted Plugins” that I would love. But someone else needs to help add to this list, too. ;-)

    I’ve always been a Plugin addict, so it’s great to know I’m not alone. After a month of WordPress Plugins, I’m still addicted. That’s saying something. What – I’ll leave you to fill in those blanks. :D

  3. Posted March 7, 2007 at 6:27 pm | Permalink

    I’m pretty proud of my Technorati Rank plugin. I think it’s probably a very good model for ‘how to’ write a plugin. I started out by simply modifying other peoples’ plugins and learning what was done well and what was done terribly. One of my biggest pet peeves is Plugin developers that make you actually edit their code to get them to work… take the extra hours and build an admin interface!

  4. just me
    Posted March 7, 2007 at 10:09 pm | Permalink

    Lorelle, I had to laugh when I clicked through to this post from my RSS reader. You’re frustration

    “Why should I click on the link to the post, wait for the post page to load, then scroll down past the article to the comment form to leave a comment?”

    is exactly why so many of your wonderful posts go unread in their entirety by me. :) I want to just read blogs in my rss reader, not have to keep opening browser windows. Very frustrating to run into abstracts on otherwise good blogs.

    As a dedicated RSS reader who tinkers with wordpress blogs, I’d like to see a way to syndicate the entire post-comment in one RSS feed so readers could access the entire thing without ever opening a browser.

  5. Posted March 8, 2007 at 3:07 am | Permalink

    I would have to agree with most of your thoughts and rants there and would join in the chorus of new plugins “we want plugins, we want plugins”……

  6. Posted March 8, 2007 at 5:05 am | Permalink

    I’ve been complaining about now being able to reply to comments from the admin panel since I started blogging…even before I moved to WordPress. Please let us know when somebody comes up with that plugin or WordPress adds it to a new release.

  7. Posted March 8, 2007 at 2:04 pm | Permalink

    hmm some interesting challenges here for plugin developers ;)

  8. Posted March 8, 2007 at 2:20 pm | Permalink

    There are footnote plugins but none of them offer the option for a Bibliography. It seems to me that someone might as well be extreme and create a plugin that offers a Bibliography option as well.

    Who knows what scholarly madness would ensue.

  9. Posted March 9, 2007 at 12:49 am | Permalink

    as for me, I would probably want a feature that would make me see my former posts within the write post area so that it would be easier for us to reference an older post.

  10. Posted March 9, 2007 at 7:00 am | Permalink

    YES! I’ve been wanting that for years but it skipped my brain on this post.

    I would love to have a sidebar listing in the write post designed with AJAX so I could search for posts by lists, categories, authors, and dates as well as search words to find the post I want to link to.

    To make this work today, I have two tabs for each blog I have. One is for the Admin Panels and the other is so I can search through the blog to find posts to link to and past information I wrote about.

    THREE CHEERS for this suggestion. Plugin authors!!! Are you listening! WE MUST HAVE THIS! ;-)

    I love highlighting a need that must be met. hee hee

  11. Posted March 9, 2007 at 11:04 am | Permalink

    Lorelle, I released a plugin today that might, at some level, help with your comment issue. It’s called Show Unread Comments, and it keeps track of comments you’ve read so that it can show a read/unread status indicator next to each comment along with the ability to see a list of unread comments.

    The plugin’s homepage is: http://www.ryanjparker.net/wordpress-plugins/show-unread-comments/

  12. Posted March 9, 2007 at 11:48 am | Permalink

    Blog Status Announcement or Alert

    You can do that with a little bit of HTML (and possibly a smidgen of extra CSS) in your theme, placed above the loop in the template file of your choice (most likely index.php or home.php).

  13. Posted March 9, 2007 at 2:12 pm | Permalink

    “Post Preview Button Restored WordPress Plugin:”
    Preview Button but instead of Loading in same page a preview in a POP-up window.

    Best would be like those tools Contribute and such like you can directly edit in realtime the page. For example im on
    /2007/03/07/wanted-wordpress-plugins-for-me/
    But instead of clicking edit-this and be sent to admin panel it would simply add a small floating bar with Options for the page and i edit directly and see how it goes out on my theme and such.

    By the way sorry for my improper english i’m french from quebec.

  14. Posted March 14, 2007 at 5:00 am | Permalink

    Hi Lorelle,

    I hear you!

    I am deadly serious. You will see something that is going to pretty revolutionary in plugin development for Joomla and WordPress. I will talk to the team about what you want to see developed, in the meantime check this out and let us know what you think?

    serge.mankovski.com/wpcandy

    Azzam

  15. Posted March 14, 2007 at 5:24 am | Permalink

    It’s a neat idea and I hope it goes somewhere. It should with all the marketing you all are doing. ;-)

    I can’t use it on WordPress.com as they do not permit use of any Plugins by the bloggers. I don’t have a need for it on any of my other blogs as they are not Widget enabled. Still, someone might. It’s a great idea.

    And thanks for taking my request seriously. I hope WPCandy grows to be embraced as an addition to Widgets. The ease of adding these features to our WordPress Themes is very exciting. I hope with that ease comes improved functions, not just bells and whistles.

    I’m really into getting things to work better not clutter. :D

  16. Posted March 14, 2007 at 6:44 am | Permalink

    Hi Lorelle,

    Thanks for the feedback, it is greatly appreciated.
    So you are saying that wordpress does not allow you to upload plugins? If so what is the workaround to this?

    If we wanted to create one of the requested features, how would you load it up.

    Thanks
    Azzam

  17. Posted March 14, 2007 at 7:12 am | Permalink

    WordPress.com blogs have never permitted WordPress Plugins, javascript, or other “potentially harmful” additions. I can, however, use bookmarklets and Greasemonkey scripts, like the tagging and signature bookmarklet I use at the bottom of every post here, which make the job easier, though I’d love it to be automatic. These just add “content” not a lot of variable functionality. I do, however, use too many WordPress Plugins on my other blogs, and am famous for being the first WordPress Plugin crash-test dummy. ;-)

    Inclusion of a WordPress Plugin for WordPress.com is global. Everyone gets it. With more than 700,000 “everyones” that’s a lot of coverage. So you need to talk to the WordPress.com developers to talk about adding it for everyone. If they see enough value on a global level, and you are determined to make the code as streamlined and security protected as possible, and continue to support it, then they may consider it. But it has to have global appeal – and I mean international and powerful appeal.

    Good luck and let me know what happens.

  18. Posted March 16, 2007 at 7:52 am | Permalink

    OK, I am working on a Reply To in the comments admin panel. I’ll keep you posted. It’s extremely ironic, however, that you won’t be able to use it :-O

  19. Posted March 16, 2007 at 11:21 am | Permalink

    I also have non-WordPress.com blogs, and there are millions of others who would use it. And if it is good enough, WordPress.com might incorporate it. Who knows.

    All I know is that WordPress users are desperate for a more efficient system for replying to blog comments on their blogs. Thanks!

  20. Posted March 16, 2007 at 7:40 pm | Permalink

    I’ve been doing this long enough that eye rolling is a waste of time. ;-)

    The “click on the Title” on this blog is because I offer full post views on the front page and do not use the “more” comment code to feature excerpts. I didn’t want excerpts on my front page. People don’t always understand that they can click the title to get to the full post, so the “continue reading” helps them understand that you aren’t finished here.

    There is a huge list of “excerpt” type Plugins in WordPress Plugins for Blog Layout, Formating, and CSS Designs. The most popular is the_excerpt Reloaded. Give that a try.

    The “#more-456″ in the link is supposed to be there. It takes you to the point where the “more” comment was embedded. Some WordPress Plugins change that so the reader goes to the top of the post and not the spot where the “continue reading” cuts off.

    If you REALLY want to show only excerpts on the front page, see Display Post Excerpts Only in WordPress and read Writing With Post Excerpts and Feed Excerpts in Mind to let you know how to really make your excerpts work for you. There are two types of post excerpts. One cuts off at about 1220 words automatically and the other is an “explicit excerpt” which you type into your optional excerpt form on the Write Post panel below the add image section.

    The Plugin should work, but the articles will take you step-by-step through the fixing of the WordPress Theme.

  21. Posted March 16, 2007 at 5:19 pm | Permalink

    Lorelle,

    you are going to first roll your eyes and then want to kill me but I need your help on what seems to be a basic question, but one that i simply cannot find a definitive answer to. I’ve downloaded a number of different excerpt plugins, and I am either not setting things up properly or I’m an idiot. Maybe I’m both. I hate how I have to cut a post with that darn MORE tag. All i want is to click on the title, as you do with your posts. When clicking on the More button, the post number is put in the slug, which I do not want. Is there a plugin that I can add where I don’t have to adjust code?
    Please help. Dear God, please help.

  22. Posted March 17, 2007 at 5:53 am | Permalink

    Hey Lorelle. I definitely agree on the amount of room available for new plugins. One I’ve been dreaming about since I started using WP (about 4 months ago) is so profile viewing/editing is integrated into the front-end of WP (particularly because most users on my site are computer illiterate. I think it’s akward to be thrust into the backend.)

    Also, for the sake of sharing, here’s a couple other ideas

    an easy plugin to add custom fields to the registration page.

    Google/technorati/youtube/answers/wikipedia, ie. extenral Search integration (where doing a basic search on WP will also return external results from these sites beneath the blog results)

    and a generic (but customizable) user agreement/privacy/terms of use plugin

    Here’s hoping :D

    Thanks for all the comprehensive lists, btw Lorelle.

    John.

  23. Posted March 20, 2007 at 1:32 pm | Permalink

    I have a question about the comment waiting plugin. Are you saying that you want the count to appear on the main Comment byline when you (for example) first enter the dashboard? And then is it acceptable to assume you’ve “seen” (and therefore zero it out) the comments when you actually go to the comments page itself (where the excerpts options for each comment are listed)?

  24. Posted March 20, 2007 at 2:43 pm | Permalink

    Yep. Yeah, Yes, Oakeydokey. You bet your booty. Totally. Awesome. Oh, and of course. ;-)

    Just like Spam Karma does.

    I want the thrill of hitting the Administration Panels and seeing:

    Comments (1)

    So I can scream “someone loves me”.

    I’m sure the comment will only be spam, but the thrill of the moment will make me dance.

    Does that answer your question? :D

  25. Posted March 23, 2007 at 7:49 pm | Permalink

    Try this on Lorelle. I was bored so I whipped it together this evening. See what you think.

    Comments Waiting Count WordPress Plugin is a simple plugin that adds the current number of comments in the moderation queue to the WordPress 2.1 admin menu. It will also display the number comments that have been flagged as spam if your using an anti-spam plugin.

  26. Posted March 23, 2007 at 9:51 pm | Permalink

    I started on the reminder list thing tonight, it should be ready tomorrow afternoon, and I’ll give you a shout, probably with a trackback. I hope its everything you’ll have desired.

    -Nick

  27. Posted March 24, 2007 at 11:31 am | Permalink

    yeah something for me would to be able to reference older posts. Either doing a ‘related’ ajax search if it wasn’t too cpu intensive or have some way or searching older posts….I hate having to go search myself every time just to get good references

  28. Posted March 24, 2007 at 3:32 pm | Permalink

    It is fantastic to hear that these ideas are being implemented. I am not surprised because you have synergy with many other people that use WordPress, and your desires often reflect their’s and vise versa.

    What browser are you using? Regarding “Search the Post Editor TextArea” Firefox 2.0 has this functionality thanks to Peter Kasting. If I recall correctly IE for quite some time.

  29. Posted March 24, 2007 at 4:08 pm | Permalink

    The latest version of Firefox now allows searching in the text area, and I haven’t tried the latest version of IE, but it didn’t for a while, too. There are still people using older versions of these browsers which do not allow searching in the text area of the Write Post panel. I ran across some just before I wrote that post on borrowed computers and it reminded me of how frustrating this was until the browsers improved.

    Owen Winkler’s Find broke under WordPress 1.6.

    For those using newer browsers, this isn’t an issue. For those with the older ones, unable to upgrade for different reasons, this would be of benefit.

  30. Posted March 26, 2007 at 3:02 pm | Permalink

    OK, just keeping you apprised of the progress. I’ve now got a textarea box that’s showing up when clicking on the new Reply To link. I just need to set it up to actually send the submission in to the database, and test everything.

    Just wanted to be sure you knew progress was being made. Was going to work on it over the weekend, but alas other things came up. But I’ve had a spot of time over lunch to work out current kinks.

  31. Posted March 26, 2007 at 6:15 pm | Permalink

    Cindy, my beloved DigitalRamble, you are amazing. This is so exciting! Thanks for keeping informed. And I hope your site is coping with the increase in traffic and attention. :D

  32. Posted March 28, 2007 at 7:30 am | Permalink

    Oh the traffic’s holding up ;-)…thanks.

    OK, two items…first of all I have a rough prototype working. I’d like to find a few hardy souls willing to play with it to see how well it holds up under different themes installations, etc. Since this affects database entries, I want to be sure it’s relatively robust before releasing it into the wild (the first cut only added links and left databases alone, which made it safer ;-) ).

    Second, it occurs to me there’s a number of bells and whistles possible on this. For example, the reply to box could automatically include the message in quotes when it opens up. Or, right now it opens up one reply box with a submit button next to it, maybe a mass mode in which multiple boxes are opened up, scribbled in, then one submit for the lot? I’ve considered whether it’s worth putting in css wrappers and including a css file for this page (but I dunno…hrm…admin file’s pretty basic, but perhaps in terms of playing nice with say the tiger admin plugin) ?

    Anyway, this plugin’s been fun ;-)

  33. Posted April 5, 2007 at 7:48 pm | Permalink

    Knock this one off your list Lorelle, hope it makes life a bit easier at least until this functionality ends up back in the core.

    Preview Post Navigation adds the “preview” and “edit” links back into the 2.1 editor.

    http://www.realitywired.com/2007/04/05/wordpress-plugin-preview-post-navigation/

  34. Posted April 5, 2007 at 8:58 pm | Permalink

    HERO ALERT! HERO ALERT!

    Oh, how I wish I could kiss and hug you, and force you to force WordPress.com to put this back into it’s back end.

    This will be fabulous. Thank you so much!

  35. Posted April 23, 2007 at 12:56 am | Permalink

    I didn’t make this a plugin, as it SHOULD be in the ‘edit-comments.php’ from WP.

    But, here is the file. Download it and place it in your yoursite.com/wp-admin/ directory.

    Cheers

  36. Posted April 25, 2007 at 12:10 am | Permalink

    LaoLao, you have to be more specific. What is it that you have done with that comments file? What does it do? Thanks.

  37. Posted May 18, 2007 at 8:47 pm | Permalink

    Hi
    I am after a plugin that will make the site act as a ecommerce website.

    What I need is that the items (posts) when shown will also show the image with selected details (price, title etc).

    I have looked at your site Lorelle and also the plugin directory of WordPress but could not find anything. Does anyone, Lorelle, have any ideas or plugins for me?

    Thanks :)

  38. Posted May 18, 2007 at 10:30 pm | Permalink

    Thanks for asking but first a little rule to cover:

    NEVER POST YOUR EMAIL IN ANY FORM INSIDE A COMMENT.

    I feel better. How about you? ;-)

    Second issue, I believe I covered a few e-Commerce WordPress Plugins in Monetizing WordPress Plugins, but you can also look in the WordPress Plugins Listing for others like WP e-Commerce orWordPress Cart. The WordPress Plugin Database also lists YAK for WordPress, AfShop :: Affili.net-Shop for WordPress, Spreadshop plugin for WordPress, and WordPress Shop. Use keywords to search like shop, shopping, shopping cart, store, and cart combined with WordPress Plugin and you may find even more.

  39. Posted May 20, 2007 at 6:29 pm | Permalink

    Hi
    Thanks for the links, will be checking them out now.

    To be honest, it did not bother me getting spam as the risk of getting some plugins would be worth it but thanks for looking out and getting rid of it for me :p

  40. Posted June 6, 2007 at 11:49 am | Permalink

    I have been looking for a search function replacement that lets me search through referenced documents on my blog (files I have in my /upload directory) in PDF and Word format.

  41. Posted June 8, 2007 at 7:21 am | Permalink

    Better Comments Manager should be exactly what your looking for for your first plugin suggestion.

  42. Posted June 8, 2007 at 8:29 am | Permalink

    I am looking for Custom Front Page Plugin to Show the Recent 5 or 10 post of each cateogry.

    The plugin should have the option to choose the cateogry and limit the number of Post to show.

    Instead of Blog Post on front Page, the List of Recent Post on Each Category should be shown.

    List should be Like Bulletin Style:

    Category Name:
    Recent Post

    This can be arranged in 2 column of table. Can anyone make a Plugin for this?

    Also another Plugin I want is.

    I want to show the Top Moste Viewed Post of the Blog. There are few plugin alread does, but in deffrent way.

    This plugin should have the option to choose it by view or rate.

    These are the 2 plugin I have been searching in net, not received one so far…

  43. Posted June 15, 2007 at 11:12 am | Permalink

    Speaking of plugins… Do you use a plugin that separates the TB’s and Pings to the bottom? Or is it coded into the comments.php?

    Thanks!

  44. Posted June 15, 2007 at 11:22 am | Permalink

    After posting, I thought of searching your site directly instead of using Google and found the post you did on this very subject! Sometimes I am searching dysfunctional! I do use a customized comments.php, but will try to follow the instructions in your post to integrate the separation. Thanks!

  45. Posted June 15, 2007 at 11:27 am | Permalink

    It is coded into the WordPress Theme, but you can find an answer on Separating Comments and Trackbacks in WordPress – The Answer.

  46. Posted June 15, 2007 at 4:04 pm | Permalink

    I followed your great post on separating trackbacks and comments. I even managed to get my customizations back and working. The one strange thing that happened that I can’t fix is this:

    Before, my comments were numbered. After implementing the separation code, the comments are set off with a bullet, but do not have numbers. I can’t figure out what needs to be changed to get the comment numbering back on.

    Did you run into this?

  47. Posted June 15, 2007 at 5:04 pm | Permalink

    I figured out that the reason my numbers for the comments are gone is that I did not correctly follow your instructions for moving the trackbacks below the comments. I tried again and still got it wrong. I must be dense today. I’ll keep at it and post in the other comment thread if I don’t figure it out.

    Thanks for this site, Lorelle, and also for bearing with pains like me who are not quite as good at the code editing as we should be!

  48. Posted June 15, 2007 at 7:21 pm | Permalink

    I don’t know what all you’ve screwed up now ( :D ) but the numbers and bullets are controlled by CSS, and has nothing to do with anything else, including PHP. If you screw up the list HTML Tags or have not styled them in your stylesheet, they will be whatever they will be.

    Not everything is a code problem. ;-)

  49. Posted June 15, 2007 at 9:57 pm | Permalink

    My brain is about to explode, but I got it all fixed now. Don’t ask me exactly how I fixed it or what I did originally to break it…. But a couple hours and many open editing windows later, it’s the way it should be. Made backups of it all and now I am going to sleep! :)

  50. Posted June 21, 2007 at 8:24 am | Permalink

    Hi, Lorelle

    I just wanted to let you know that I just released a plugin that allows the post writer to select and display a list of previous posts during the edition process of a new post. Just as someone required it in a comment of this post.
    Just have a look at http://didier.lorphelin.free.fr/blog/index.php/wordpress/previous-post-picker/, if you want and tell me what you think about it.
    It’s just a first release and can be enhanced. I hope it can help…
    Best regards,
    Didier

  51. Posted July 4, 2007 at 3:11 am | Permalink

    I’m looking for a plugin which would prevent from registration spam, by adding a simple random anti-spam question on wp-register.php

    I looked for it on WordPress.org forums but with not luck… I’m requesting it here, in case plugin developers might be able to create this plugin.

    I’m really surprised it hasn’t been created yet! Many people get registration spam.

  52. Posted July 4, 2007 at 10:27 am | Permalink

    The following may help:

    Themed Login WordPress Plugin
    WordPress Contact Form with Spam Protection Plugin Project Page
    Hack Blocking Spam Registrations in WordPress 2.1
    WordPress hack: a way to stop the bots from registering
    Ideas: Improve WordPress Registration Anti-Spam

    I’ve done some research on this and found that other than hacks and contact forms (which has nothing to do with registration), there are no WordPress Plugins to prevent registration spam. Good point. Thanks for bringing it up and I’ll keep an eye out for more help in this matter.

  53. Posted August 7, 2007 at 4:49 pm | Permalink

    Maybe this is a plugin you didnt know you needed.

    WP Admin Switcher

    This plugin will help you manage multiple wordpress blogs really quick via a drop down menu displayed on each wp admin page , so you can just select from the list which blog you want to switch to and it will show the exact same page from that blog.

  54. Posted August 7, 2007 at 9:34 pm | Permalink

    I just covered the WP Admin Switcher for the Blog Herald. It looks interesting. I wonder if it works with WordPress.com blogs along with full version blogs?

  55. Posted August 8, 2007 at 12:32 pm | Permalink

    Thank you for covering the plugin.

    As for wordpress.com , well you can do this , you can install the plugin on an external blog you have which runs wordpress 2.1 or above and enter the information of your wordpress.com blog in that wp admin , you should be able to administrator your free wordpress.com blog from that external blog as well.
    Hope this helps.

  56. Posted August 21, 2007 at 9:05 pm | Permalink

    I’d love to see an update to this list – esp. which ones still aren’t written, and if you have new ones you’d like to see…

  57. Posted August 22, 2007 at 11:26 am | Permalink

    Hmm, I’ve been meaning to do that, but few of these have come to fruition, though a lot of work has been done on making comments more user friendly.

    What I haven’t found a Plugin for (but may have overlooked) are:

    Comments Waiting Count
    Widgets for Administration Panels
    Blog Status Announcement or Alert
    Controlled Post Data Exports WordPress Plugin (This is desperately needed for WordPress.com and all blogs to create table of contents and site maps)

    I’ll do an update and a new article on more Plugins I’d love to see soon. Thanks for the reminder!

  58. Posted March 23, 2008 at 12:30 pm | Permalink

    Hi Lorelle,
    For a long time, I’ve wanted a plug-in that would make sure my Blogroll is up to date and that would also allow people who regularly read my blog to indicate that they are part of my community – without having the data reside on a third party’s server.

    I couldn’t find anything that would do this. So, I asked the development team at 76design to work on this – and they came up with FriendsRoll and TopLinks. You can see them installed on my blog ProPR.ca and you can find the downloads at friendsroll.com

    If you have the time to take a look at them, I’d welcome any feedback you’d care to offer.

  59. Posted May 7, 2008 at 7:46 am | Permalink

    I know this is an old thread, but I really hope you’re not still adding your tag block and signature to each post manually, when it could just as easily (actually, about a thousand times MORE easily) be part of your theme, in the loop.

  60. Posted May 7, 2008 at 8:07 am | Permalink

    @ Milorad:

    Ah, attention to details aren’t a strong point for you. :D

    WordPress.com does not allow use of Plugins nor access to the WordPress Themes. There are a lot of things I could do with this, but when faced with such obstacles, my Technorati Tag Bookmarklet for WordPress and WordPress.com Users shows how one person can find creative solutions in the face of such adversity. ;-)

  61. Posted June 2, 2008 at 9:27 am | Permalink

    Hi Lorelle,
    I wanted to let you know that I just released a comment plugin that answers a lot of your thoughts on wordpress comment functionality, and then some :) It’s WP Comment Remix WordPress Plugin. Let me know if I missed anything that you’re looking for!

  62. Posted June 2, 2008 at 10:00 am | Permalink

    @ Jason DeVelvis:

    I noticed the trackback, Jason, and I’m eager to check it out. It’s going to have to go a long way to compete with the brilliance of WordPress Comment Ninja Greasemonkey Script by Engtech of Internet Duct Tape. I love that thing. The greatest part is that it works with WordPress.com (which can’t use Plugins) and full version WordPress blogs. It would be great to get it to work as a full WordPress Plugin.

    I’ll check it out and let you know. Thanks for jumping in on this. We need all the help we can get when it comes to the WordPress Comments Panel that still needs a major overhaul.

  63. Posted August 9, 2008 at 3:00 am | Permalink

    Hi Lorelle,

    brilliant site! Found a load of useful suggestion. Tx! :)

    “Controlled Post Data Exports WordPress Plugin (This is desperately needed for WordPress.com and all blogs to create table of contents and site maps)”

    Indeed: very desperately needed. I cannot understand why there isn’t a plugin or option in WordPress that lets you easily manage your site map. I’m using WordPress as a cooking blog with only recipes. An index of all recipes is much needed.

    I will try the plugin ‘customizable post listing’ now, which seems to be able to do it for me.

    If you have other suggestions, please shout! :)

  64. Posted August 9, 2008 at 2:48 pm | Permalink

    @ desiree:

    I agree. Currently, you export everything at once. I’d love to be able to export only specific categories, though I can grab the category feed XML data and mess with that, it’s just not as simple as it could be.

    If someone could figure that out, think of the possibilities. Not just for site maps, but for generating ebooks, syndication, and such. That would be marvelous!

  65. Posted August 11, 2008 at 1:16 am | Permalink

    Hi, I’ve just published a small WordPress extension (similar to Comments Waiting Count) but that will display the comments count as a Firefox LiveTitle. So you always have the pending/spam comments count in your browser:

    http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/wp-microsummary-comments-track/

  66. Posted April 2, 2010 at 8:19 am | Permalink

    Do you remember any of the songs you used to sing to me? Can you sing them now?

  67. infotechnologist
    Posted January 27, 2011 at 10:52 pm | Permalink

    I want to start writing plugins soon. I might actually take some of these ideas, and try to turn them into real plugins. I was trying to get a few ideas on one to build. I like the last idea you had, so I might just try it out soon and see how it goes.

  68. Posted December 21, 2011 at 12:57 am | Permalink

    Now, in December 2011, I see some of these ideas have been worked upon, such as the “Instant Reply Comment WordPress Plugin” which started off as a plugin and is now a part of the WordPress core. There are so many people out there who have played a part in bringing WordPress to the state that it is in today… and that is the beauty of open-source software!

    • Posted December 28, 2011 at 1:01 pm | Permalink

      I need to write a new one listing all the Plugins I’d love to see developed that haven’t been, or at least they haven’t seen the light of day for the public. I hear from so many WordPress Plugin writers that “everything” has been “done” and re-done and yet we are always coming up with new ways of doing things and making things happen on the web. Thanks for doing your part!


23 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WP Plugin: Genki Announcement

    I had always wanted to try my hands at writing a WordPress plugin but with the vast variety of plugins available, there appears to be little need for yet another plugin developer. Until I saw the list of wanted plugins by Lorelle. I decided to pick o…

  2. [...] Lorelle at WordPress blogged about a plugin (or WordPress feature) she wants: the ability to reply directly to a comment from the Admin comments page. When I spotted that, I thought I’d give it a go, because it seems like a short and sweet plugin to have. My first concept of the design is to add a Reply To link that sends you directly to the proper spot on the post page to put in the reply. This does not resolve the “backing up” problem to return to the original Admin page; I will address that in a second version. For now the problem can be worked around simply by opening the reply to link in a new tab and then closing that tab when returning to the admin page. Since all the major browsers now have tab functionality, this seems reasonable. [...]

  3. [...] Ramble wants to build a better WordPress comments panel based upon a plea/whine/beg I made for WordPress Plugins I believe WordPress needs and I covet desperately. The [...]

  4. [...] if your using an anti-spam plugin. It’s a pretty simple plugin done to fulfill a request by Lorelle for this type of [...]

  5. [...] Wanted Released I was hoping that someone would be listening when I published my request for WordPress Plugins I wanted at the end of my month long series featuring WordPress Plugins. Part of me was sure that some of [...]

  6. [...] reading Lorelle’s plea for specific WordPress functionality yesterday, I decided to go ahead and try my hand at building a WordPress [...]

  7. [...] Plugins I Wanted Done Released: When I published my request for WordPress Plugins I wanted at the end of my month long series featuring WordPress Plugins, I just put my wish list out there, [...]

  8. [...] response from the WordPress community on my request for WordPress Plugins I wanted at the end of my month long series featuring WordPress Plugins has also been amazing. The following [...]

  9. [...] I think I’ve got a cut for the next release of Lorelle’s requested plugin. However, I have not had a chance to test this outside of my own system (where it seems to work [...]

  10. [...] out the rest of her ideas at her blog, Lorelle.WordPress.com and let me know what plugins you think WordPress still needs? This entry was posted on Thursday, [...]

  11. [...] Post Navigation is another simple plugin that was requested by Lorelle for this type of enhancement and one that Matt Cutts also blogged about after his upgrade to 2.1.x. [...]

  12. [...] no idea what plugin to be created?You might want to read some great ideas in Lorrelle blog titled “Wanted: WordPress Plugins for Me”. It contains a list of plugins that Lorelle need, I think the list could give you some idea about [...]

  13. [...] Your WordPress Posts For Inclusion: A while ago, I posted a list of WordPress Plugins that I wanted that hadn’t been developed yet. Some of these requests have now been met, and another one, [...]

  14. [...] thing I’ve most proud of from this series is that on the last day, I wrote an article about the WordPress Plugins that I wanted that hadn’t yet been developed. Many believe that every Plugin idea has been done. Well, they [...]

  15. [...] the administration panel. The Admin Panel Comment Reply Plugin by Cindy Moore was developed after Lorelle published a list of plugins she would like to see realized. Ozh wrote a similar plugin titled Absolute Comments: Comment [...]

  16. [...] to say here, I was reading the archives at Lorelle on WordPress, and came across her post, titled: Wanted: WordPress Plugins For Me – I read through the post, and what she was looking for, and thought “She’s right – [...]

  17. [...] For WordPress Plugin authors, the WordPress Plugin Competition is a chance to generate a lot of enthusiasm and exposure for their WordPress Plugins, and a chance to win great prizes. While there are thousands and thousands of Plugins out there, there are always needs not being met. I’ve still got a few on my own personal Plugins Wanted List. [...]

  18. [...] it was Lorelle, in her blog post here: I came across her post one day and thought “I can make a plugin that takes care of a number [...]

  19. [...] a renowned blogging evangelist and speaker. Lorelle had that exact problem to the point where she called for someone to make a number of WordPress plugins to solve this among other issues. Although [...]

  20. [...] a renowned blogging evangelist and speaker. Lorelle had that exact problem to the point where she called for someone to make a number of WordPress plugins to solve this among other issues. Although [...]

  21. [...] course.Lorelle has a blog at WordPress.com and has posted a list of plugin ideas at “Wanted: WordPress Plugins for Me” way back in [...]

  22. […] Wanted: WordPress Plugins for Me […]

  23. […] that can be developed has been developed. That’s not true. I featured some great ideas in “Wanted: WordPress Plugins for Me” and I know there are still plenty of good ideas out there that would make great […]

Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 21,001 other followers

