Skip navigation

Blog Challenge: Top Ten List of Blog Goals

We’re barely a month into what is considered the “New Year” for many countries and cultures around the world, a time for reflection and preparation.

This week’s blogging challenge is not to make a list of things to change or habits to break. I want a list of your blog goals.

Blog a top ten list of goals for your blog this year.

You must have some idea of what you want to do with your blog this year. I’m not asking for 50 or 100 things. Only 10. So what are the ten things you want to accomplish with your blog this year?

There is an optional part to this blogging challenge. If you set some similar goals last year for your blog, report on what they were and how you did? Did you achieve them all? What were your expectations on the results and did you meet them? What would you have done differently. What are you going to do differently as you make your new top 10 list of goals for your blog this year?

As usual, send a trackback (post a link to this article in your post) or leave a comment below to let us know you’ve accepted the challenge. For more blogging challenges, see the Blog Challenge category.


Site Search Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Copyright Lorelle VanFossen, member of the 9Rules Network

Member of the 9Rules Blogging Network

11 Comments

  1. Posted January 23, 2007 at 11:56 am | Permalink

    Hi Lorelle,

    I recently started my blog and even though I have been unable to post frequently due to ill-health and additional work at my workplace, I have set myself a few objective and subjective goals. I also blogged about them recently.

    My goals for 2007 are:

    1. Have about 1,000 pageviews a day.
    2. Have about 250 link referrals. 3. Have about 400 feed subscribers.
    4. Start 4 more blogs. One every quarter.
    5. Move all blogs to hosted space and buy domains. I am currently starting out with wordpress.com.
    6. Start monetising the blogs.
    7. Be invited to guest blog/post on at least two of the top blogs in my niche.

    I know it’s not 10 goals, but these are the goals I have set for myself. Considering that I just recently started blogging, it’s a tall order, but with advice and inspiration from great bloggers like you, I am sure I will do a great job.

    Cheers!

    Siddharth Thakkar

  2. Posted January 23, 2007 at 12:43 pm | Permalink

    Lorelle, I have accepted this challenge:

    http://www.stateofsunshine.com/2007/01/23/blog-challenge-top-10-state-of-sunshine-goals-for-2007/

    It as a good exercise, as it forced me to think a little more long-term about my blog.

  3. Posted January 23, 2007 at 2:16 pm | Permalink

    I wrote a list of “predictions for 2007″ and I started it off with my predictions for what will happen with my blog in 2007.

    http://engtech.wordpress.com/2007/01/04/tech-and-blogging-predictions-for-2007/

  4. Posted January 26, 2007 at 4:52 am | Permalink

    Lorelle – what a great idea. I work with helping my client set blogging goals all day long, yet I haven’t done it for my own site prior to this. Thanks for the kick in the butt. Here’s the details: http://www.theblogstudio.com/index.php/v5/blogComments/10_blogging_goals_for_2007/

  5. Posted January 26, 2007 at 12:35 pm | Permalink

    I left this over at Daily Blog Tips. He is sharing your challenge. These are my goals (not necessarily in order of importance):

    1. Keep posting regularly – at least four times a week.
    2. Write “pillar” articles. One a week if possible.
    3. Improve writing skills.
    4. Build profile through interaction with other bloggers.
    5. Improve website know-how/skills.
    6. Get into double figures in blogtopsites.com/parents. Triple figures at the moment and dropping like a rock!
    7. Get noticed by Google through keywords alone.
    8. Have a steady upward incline in Google stats.
    9. To convincingly NOT be concerned with stats, only checking at the end of each month. No peeking prior to that, to avoid premature depression. Depression at the predetermined times – allowable…momentarily.
    10. Get my James Kim outcry post noticed (I kinda mean it, but I did want to make it up to 10)

    Right, I’ve left them at two places. That should prompt me to pursue them vigorously.

  6. Posted January 28, 2007 at 1:56 pm | Permalink

    Thanks for another great challenge, Lorelle. It’s great to have a reminder of the importance of goal-setting.

    My 10 goals for All Things Bright

    Kx

  7. Raj
    Posted May 26, 2007 at 2:02 pm | Permalink

    There is constructive way to acheive those goals?

    1) Collective Bargining
    2) War
    3) Normalization
    4) Better Definition
    5) Fight Club
    6) Sports
    7) Change of Environment
    8) Other Activities

  8. Posted November 18, 2009 at 3:45 pm | Permalink

    I recently started blogging because I want to make a positive impact in people’s lives any way possible. I chose those topics FAITH, HEALTH, and WEALTH because they are what I value. So I want to be able to inspire readers to stop and do a self-examination on their life, finances, and health, and hopefully it will help them better themselves in one of those areas.

    I want to share what Im learning with anyone that wants to listen.

  9. Alison Moore Smith
    Posted January 9, 2010 at 7:11 pm | Permalink

    So far, the closest I got to writing my blog goals for 2010, was to write a blog about blogging goals! I like to work on planning and such on Sundays, so tomorrow afternoon, I’ll be doing that. I’ll try to check back in when the real list is complete.

    Fun and motivational to read what others are planning.

    What? This post is two years old? Well, still valid. Lorelle, I’d love to see YOUR blogging goals, too.

  10. Lisa Dirker
    Posted July 25, 2010 at 10:38 am | Permalink

    I’m a little new to all of this so I’m not even sure what all my goals should be. So far, I’d like to have my sites noticed by Google (and the other search engines) so that they can be noticed by more of us humans. My other goal is to only blog about and/or sell things that will improve someones’ life in some way.
    That’s only two goals but I think they’re pretty good ones to start with, and there will be more as I continue to grow in my online life.

  11. Posted January 17, 2012 at 1:32 am | Permalink

    This article is particularly heapful for me because we are beginning a brand new blog. I have a lot of goals for the coming year. There is so much work to do to get things set up that its easy to forget the goals you are working towards.


8 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. [...] Top ten list of goals for my blog this year: [...]

  2. [...] Find a tenth significant blogging goal if I want to qualify for Lorelle’s challenge. [...]

  3. [...] Lorelle on WordPress asks “Blog a top ten list of goals for your blog this year”. Blog Challenge: Top Ten List of Blog Goals « Lorelle on WordPress [...]

  4. [...] Blogging Challenge for this week is to list your top 10 blogging goals for this year. How did she know I need to make some order out of the mess that is my online life? Anyway, thanks [...]

  5. [...] response to Lorelle’s Top 10 Blog Goals Blogging [...]

  6. [...] Lorelle’s challenge? Blog a top ten list of goals for your blog this year. Well, okay then. [...]

  7. [...] to Deb’s Diversion! As I was designing this site, I came across Lorelle’s “top ten blogging goals challenge,” and even though it’s a “better late than never response,” I thought it [...]

  8. [...] Blog Challenge: Top Ten List of Blog Goals [...]

Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 20,568 other followers

