Skip navigation

Speed Blogging: What is Getting In Your Blog’s Way

Blog Chalk Talk offers “Daily Blogging Tip: Practice Blogging Quickly”, an interesting challenge to see what is getting in the way of your blogging efforts.

Start a timer. Give yourself, say, 10 minutes. Go! See how much you can write, how fast you can edit, how quickly you can find and insert a relevant photo, and how nimbly you can link to any related resources. Then hit publish. This isn’t something you should do all the time – but it can be a valuable learning experience.

Go on, give the challenge a try and let them (and me) know the answers to the challenge. Then come back here and read on.

What is Getting in The Way of Your Blogging

The challenge really tests your blogging abilities and strengths, but the real test is to discover what is getting in the way of your blog writing.

We all have moments when we are brilliant with our blogging, the words flow out painlessly and we can blog out a story in seconds. Other times we struggle and bash our heads against our keyboards, hoping the mishmash of resulting keystrokes spells out something better than what is coming out of our brains.

In “Too Soon Old, Too Late Smart” by Dr. Gordon Livingston, he explains that the “most secure prisons are those we construct for ourselves.”

When we think about loss of freedom, we seldom focus on the ways in which we voluntarily impose constraints upon our lives. Everything we are afraid to try, all our unfulfilled dreams, constitute a limitation on what we are and could become. Usually it is fear and its close cousin, anxiety, that keep us from doing those things that would make us happy. So much of our lives consists of broken promises to ourselves. The things we long to do – educate ourselves, become successful in our work, fall in love – are goals shared by all. Nor are the means to achieve these things obscure. And yet we often do not do what is necessary to become the people we want to be.

So, we want to know what is really holding you back and getting in the way of your blog writing. What is stopping you from building the blog you really want?

And if you are looking for more ways to challenge yourself, check out my blogging challenges, my way of kicking your blogging ass.

Related Articles


Site Search Tags: , , , , , , ,
Copyright Lorelle VanFossen, member of the 9Rules Network

Member of the 9Rules Blogging Network

3 Comments

  1. Posted January 20, 2007 at 2:04 pm | Permalink

    Hi Lorelle,

    I just started theme-based blogging on WordPress.com this month. I recently sold my notebook and do all my blogging from my BlackBerry. It takes me about thrice the time to get my work done. Obviously, I am saving to buy a Mac.

    I wrote a post today and it took me about 3 hours! I don’t know how far I’ll be able to go in 10 minutes. My typing speeds are above average (55 wpm on my BlackBerry; 70+ wpm on a regular keyboard). But after all there’s only so much I could do from my BlackBerry’s native browser.

    Coming to the spirit of your post, I find that I get distracted/discouraged very easily when I am thinking about creating content or when I am actually preparing a rough draft. I’ve found that by isolating myself with my phone in a room keeps me away from all possible distractions.

    Now you’ve encouraged me to stretch the limitations and do more with my blog and my BlackBerry.

    Thanks!

  2. Posted January 20, 2007 at 6:59 pm | Permalink

    My RSS feeds get in the way of my blogging. I know the culprit.

    That’s why I’ve been turning my feeds into content with del.icio.us bookmarking and asides. If I’m going to be doing all this reading and keeping my pulse on the web… I might as well share the links. :)

  3. Posted January 23, 2007 at 4:46 am | Permalink

    Thanks for the link, Lorelle. engtech, I’m also too much of a reader and not enough of a writer. That’s the real trick, I think – writing as you read, or at least insisting on writing even when you’re not necessarily feeling like it.


3 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. [...] My biggest issue is taking too long to write a post about something important. By the time my post is ready, the story will have circled the blogosphere 50 times and be old news. At which point, I typically decide that there’s no point to posting at all. It’s something I’ve got to get over and one way I’ve found (and will start using soon) is the ten-minute post. [...]

  2. [...] I was blog surfing on the weekend and I came across the term ’speed blogging.’ I found Lorelle’s WordPress blog post on the topic, and it made a lot of sense to [...]

  3. [...] Speed Blogging: What is Getting In Your Blog’s Way [...]

Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 20,964 other followers

